Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2004
A Fish and Game worker is doing a survey of beavers in a placid lake with the local sherrif when he suddenly becomes half the man he was and dies. Local law enforcement, Fish and Game, and a New York museum worker set out to discover what happened. They are soon joined by an eccentric millionaire who loves crocodiles.
Is there a crocodile in the lake? At first few believe that such a thing could be until hard evidence shows up. The Crocodile is not an ordinary one, it is thirty feet in length. The camp is quickly split between those who want to kill it and those who want to save it. To learn it's fate you will have to watch the film.
This is a very well-done piece of work. The characters are interesting and there is just enough sarcastic humor to really lighten the mood. Betty White plays a foul-mouthed local resident and her delivery of her "I'm rooting for the crocodile" line is an instant classic. This is a fun film and far from typical. It is not just a giant-lizard-eating-people film. Check it out.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 17, 2000
Written by David E. Kelley, the mastermind behind television's Ally McBeal and The Practice (both of which won Emmys in the "best of" categories last year), _Lake Placid_ is a comic horror film about the search for a giant crocodile, inexplicably living in a landlocked lake in upstate New York.
When a diver is eaten alive in the opening moments, by some unknown creature, the local game warden (Pullman) teams up with a paleontologist (Fonda) from New York to find the beast. Add to this mix an eccentric millionaire philanthropist with a penchant for swimming with "crocs" (Platt), and the local sheriff (Brendan Gleeson), who thinks the man is nuts, and you've got the recipe for one of the more underrated of last summer's films.
This is a horror film and it can, at times, get quite messy (see the opening attack sequence, for example). The special effects work is about what you'd expect in such a film, although with the advent of computer graphics, it's a lot easier to bring a realistic giant crocodile to life. Surprisingly, though, there are few deaths in the film.
The emphasis is more on suspenseful moments of the Jaws variety, in which we wonder whether unlucky swimmers are about to become lunch. And, there are even a couple of gross, but funny moments in the film, as when an eccentric old lady (played by Betty White) offers random farm animals as sacrifices to the croc.
But the real emphasis in the film is on the humor and there are some great conversations and arguments among the film's characters, particularly Platt's whacko croc-swimmer and Brendan Gleeson's sheriff (in one of the more unusual bits of casting, as the Irish Gleeson is forced to adopt an American accent, which tends to slip in some of the more heated moments). And White's character is also played for laughs (you'll be surprised at some of the inventive curses she comes up with).
The film wasn't particularly well-received when first released last summer, but luckily, with its release on video, this can be remedied. This is not a film for everyone's tastes, but if, like me, you occasionally hunger for a "giant-animal-runs-amuck" film, _Lake Placid_ more than fills the bill.
22 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
WE LOVE THIS MOVEING AND ALL GET MOVES OUT ON WEEKENDS AND WACH THE MOVES WE HAVE ALL OF THAN
44 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 13, 2005
I hated this movie when I first saw it. I always felt that it tried too hard to be funny. However, it's been a few years since I've seen it, and I was bored one night so I gave it another chance. I'm glad I did. While it isn't as good as "Anaconda," it does have some good qualities about it. The cast does very well with the campy dialogue they are given. The interactions between Oliver Platt and Brendan Gleeson are downright funny, and their relationship really steals the show. Everyone talks about Betty White's character in this flick, and it is pretty funny to watch her spew out curse word after curse word, but my favorite line of hers is how she delivers the word "Sherlock!" to Gleeson's character.

The crocodile looks pretty good. In a couple of scenes it is obvious that he's an animatronic croc, but thank heavens that the entire thing isn't CG-created. It's nice to see that puppeteers can still find work in Hollywood. Though the puppets are great, the CGI isn't too shabby either. The croc really is impressive to see on the screen. He's definitely done on a higher level than the aforementioned "Anaconda."

I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys giant creature features with a hefty dose of macabre humor. Though it may be subpar when compared to other films of the genre, it is definitely better than the SciFi channel offerings such as "Dinocroc" and "Frankenfish." SciFi channel seems to be the last domain for larger-than-life creature flicks. Though I commend them for attempting to keep the genre above water, I wish that more camp-fests like "Lake Placid" could find their way to the big-screen.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
I love this movie, with it's off-beat humor and excellent special effects. This DVD version, however, is not the best. I had orignally gotten a copy using cereal box tops, but the picture was not enhanced for big screen TVs, and appeared as a small picture with black bands around all sides. I could zoom in to get it to fill most of the screen, but that reduced the resolution. Worse, however, was the sound. The background music and the special effects noises were extremely loud, while the witty dialogue was almost inaudible. Because the copy I had was obviously an old and inexpensive version, I bought a new copy, hoping it would be better, but no such luck. The new copy has the same problems as the old. I'm hoping that a blu-ray digitally enhanced version will be released that presents the movie the way it was in the theatres.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
So there's something weird going on in Black Lake... something seems to be eating people. Sounds like your typical plot outline for a horror movie with zombies or werewolves but this sassy dark comedy is not about the living dead or people who go a little furry when the moon is full.
It's about a crocodile.
A really big crocodile.
In addition to a really big reptile, "Lake Placid" has some really big acting talent to go along with a wry script and some smooth direction: Brendan Gleason, Oliver Platt, Bill Pullman, Bridget Fonda and the incomparable Betty White help to make it a really fine flick for a Saturday night on the couch with a big bowl of popcorn. The plot isn't as deep as the lake but it's enough to hold the movie together and the fact that the story takes place in Maine gives it just the right amount of offbeat charm. The ending is clever and contains a nice surprise twist that makes the movie all the more satisfying.
As an added bonus: Look for some nice cameos by Mariska Hargitay (before she became a household name on "Law & Order: SVU) and Adam Arkin while you're watching the really nice movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2015
Lake Placid is a 1999 American monster horror comedy film. The film was written by David E. Kelley and directed by Steve Miner, starring Bill Pullman, Bridget Fonda, Oliver Platt, Brendan Gleeson, Betty White, Meredith Salenger and Mariska Hargitay. The plot revolves around a giant, 30-foot-long man-eating crocodile which terrorizes the fictional location of Black Lake, Maine, United States, and also follows the dysfunctional group who attempt to capture or destroy the creature.

Released within the same time frame of that other big monster movie Anaconda, Lake Placid emerged as a refreshing, humorous, large-budgeted experiment done right. Yes, there have been films about alligators and crocodiles before - but there's a good reason. These reptiles are creepy as hell! Here, as usual, the powers that be go way overboard, creating a monstrosity of a creature. In this case the crocodile is made to be huge, based on the myth of a giant breed that has supposedly been wiped out, similar to the Mastodon Peter Benchley used for Jaws. These overgrown lizards are pure CGI and at certain moments it's overly obvious but for the most part it works quite well.

The main focus here isn't the ravenous predators, however, but the characters. You have the typical sheriff whose IQ is considered equivalent to a steak. We have a snobby up tight New York female , as well as an eccentric researcher Hector Cyr . The game warden has everything - intelligence, sarcasm, and a certain sex appeal. Dialogue is humorous, character interaction interesting, and everyone's sketched out well. Bridget Fonda, Bill Pullman, Oliver Platt, and Brendan Gleeson as the main characters act convincingly. Betty White is hysterical as the quirky, indignant lady who swears not like one but several sailors

There weren't many thrills but there was great tension at a few key parts. Suspense did exist in certain underwater scenarios. Jump scare tactics were used, particularly regarding Fonda and flying heads. Humor lightens the tone when bizarre events occur, but cuts in at the right time and doesn't spoil things.

In the end it's cheesy, sure. The special effects may be slightly inconsistent. But I loved every minute of it. Besides giggling at a few scenes I just had fun. It was enjoyable to sit back, turn my mind off, and watch the group (slightly akin to what the four stooges would be like) go at it in conquering this giant beast.

One thing I love about this movie is that it doesn't take itself seriously. I enjoyed the dry humor mixed in with the chills This is a great modern classic monster movie. Right up there with Jaws and the Beast, Anyway, Lake Placid has a great cast and is a good story, not just a formulaic monster movie. If I had to pick one movie that I believe jettisoned the current craze for schlocky creature features it is this movie. It paved the way for today’s fun B-movies in the vein of “Sharknado” and pretty much any film in the Asylum catalog.

Clocking in at an hour and twenty-two minutes, “Lake Placid” is a great example of the term “less is more.” It doesn’t overstay its welcome and accomplishes what it wants to within its run time. I think its legacy of made-for-TV sequels speaks for its appeal to monster movie enthusiasts who enjoy a little humor and cheese with their severed limbs and decapitated heads.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2000
Take away the beginning and end credits and what you are left with is a 75-minute long movie that you'll never watch more than once if you buy the DVD (like me) but will still have a fun time watching. Steve Miner returns to the tranquil lakeside settings he captured so well in the Friday the 13th movies and gives us more horror hokum.

What I liked about Lake Placid is that it is kind of light-hearted and doesn't try and make itself a full-blown horror by showing us guts and entrails. The movie is NOT serious and has many suspenseful scenes packed into it's VERY brief running time. The cast are delightful and the big nasty croc is actually quite sympathetic at the end. Buy this DVD and enjoy for what it is...a light, breezy comedy-thriller that nails the bullseye instead of aiming for higher (and ultimately lesser) results.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
One of my favorite horror movies. I enjoy a variety of horror movies but I love those with a comedic spin on them. What makes this an exceptional movie is not only a good storyline, but an amazing cast. These are the people you find in great movies, not your typical B movie casting. Bill Pullman, Bridget Fonda, Oliver Platt, Brendan Gleeson, and Betty White are great in this movie. I love how the horror jumps out at you at unexpected moments. The comedy is blended in very well and doesn't make it like a comedy, but lightens the movies horror theme. Betty White is especially funny in her role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Definitely a great suspense movie that also has a fun feeling of adventure to it.
Being in the middle of nowhere trying to find an enormous crocodile is exciting no matter how you slice it.
The cast did a great job with the movie and it was well done. It has humor, suspense, and excitement. It makes you jump in all of the right places and is really worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.