Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most fun of the shape sorters.
Don't adhere too closely to the age guide on this one. A younger toddler can begin a process of discovery by simply trying to place the shapes on the pegs. (Most of the shapes will fit only on the correct pegs) With a little parental guidance toddlers can see and feel that the two holes fit on the two pegs. Once they grasp that concept they really can take off. Even...
Published on February 27, 2000

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, non-toxic product - not made in China - but with a loose peg
Two stars were deducted because one of the pegs fell out which required a re-gluing. Otherwise, this product, like all other Plan Toys' products, uses replenishable rubber tree wood and vegetable dyes for coloring, and is smooth and well-machined -- good for the little one who sticks everything in her mouth. On the same token, the loose peg was small enough to pose a...
Published on June 19, 2008 by Robert Petkus


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most fun of the shape sorters., February 27, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
Don't adhere too closely to the age guide on this one. A younger toddler can begin a process of discovery by simply trying to place the shapes on the pegs. (Most of the shapes will fit only on the correct pegs) With a little parental guidance toddlers can see and feel that the two holes fit on the two pegs. Once they grasp that concept they really can take off. Even if everything isn't quite "right" by adult standards, it is still fun and if put away for a week or so, skills will invariably improve with each additional play session. The skills learned on this game seem to transfer remarkably well to other activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted learning toy, October 10, 2002
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
Great for sorting, development of small motor skills, and shape and color recognition. This is a wonderful, open-ended toy. Beautifully made and sturdy. Ours has been with us through three kids and 6 years and still looks as good as ever. I wish more companies put as much thought into their toys. Plan Toys makes some of the best toys you can buy and they are reasonably priced if you consider how long they'll last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, non-toxic product - not made in China - but with a loose peg, June 19, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
Two stars were deducted because one of the pegs fell out which required a re-gluing. Otherwise, this product, like all other Plan Toys' products, uses replenishable rubber tree wood and vegetable dyes for coloring, and is smooth and well-machined -- good for the little one who sticks everything in her mouth. On the same token, the loose peg was small enough to pose a serious choking hazard and I always make a habit of regularly inspecting this toy -- something I should do with all toys anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utilitarian, But Hugely Versatile, January 23, 2010
By 
goonius (a room in a house on a street in a city just like any other.) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
I'll confess, I was fairly undecided on whether this toy would be any actual fun. But since my two year old is really into shapes, colors, and simple numbers and I've just confiscated all the scary Melissa & Doug (see:toxic) puzzles in their collection, I thought this might stand as a fair replacement.

The kids, 23 months & 4 years, both immediately loved it; ie. The youngest immediately took control of the toy whilst being loudly scolded by the bossy 4-year old on how she wasn't assembling it correctly(!!!!), which quickly spun out of control, and ended up in a draw with both of them letting out an ear-splitting screech. In toddler/preschooler world, I suppose this is a "two-thumbs up."

After the dust settled, I took a look-see at this new toy, and received a few reprimands from the 4-year old on my unorthodox experiments with it. Namely the totally cool discovery that this toy not only teaches about colors, shapes numbers, with a little dexterity thrown in, but it also fits the bolts and nails that come with the Green Toys Tool Set they own, and that it also makes a whole new 'wardrobe' for their Turnello the Mouse toy that they received for Christmas. My youngest, had she not been in such a tizzy at this point might have approved, but my four-year old insisted this kind of out-of-the-box thinking was a highly unacceptable use of a toy with only one stated purpose.

Against her explicit warning, and under her disapproving eye, I continued to compose a little car - that would even roll for a time - though the nuts inevitably fell off, and thus the 'wheels' detached.

My four year old, witnessing my experiments, eventually conceded there might be other cool things you could do with these pieces, and built a little neighborhood, with houses made from the 3-peg triangles and 4-peg rectangles, and over-sized people made from 2-peg rectangles topped with a circle. She flipped the board over to use as a mini-table for this project. Then she sat on the board, and we all held our breath thinking one of the pegs might pop off, but it withstood her 30-odd pounds of weight, so that speaks well of the integrity of the workmanship.

I bet there are even more uses for these little flat pieces we haven't yet imagined. But I'm so crazy-bored I may just discover them over the course of a few days!

In any case, chances are you can find a plethora of ways to use this toy - if the kids will allow it. Our toy seems pretty well-constructed, and it's attractive enough - though more utilitarian in appearance than most of the Plan Toys we own. And actually it's not a bad little teaching tool to have around, even if you do only use it for the stated purpose.

And, unlike Melissa & Doug, Plan Toys line of products has been tested extensively - via XRF - by the Ecology Center, with one of the best safety records of any toy on the market. So I feel pretty good about my children playing with this toy, or using the pieces as throwing stars in their endless competition of sibling rivalry. Whatever. They might lose an eye, but at least I won't have to worry about lead and cadmium, so that's something.

Bottom line: This is a great toy. Open ended. Educational. Safe. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great shape/color/number/sorter puzzle for your child!, October 9, 2002
By 
M. P. (Honolulu, HI USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
I purchased this for my son (who was 18m at the time) thinking that it would be a good first introduction to shapes and colors. It really was! He took to it right away and (for all you tired mothers and fathers out there) he stuck with it for a good half hour! It has pegs for each of the shapes and at first, he was having a little difficulty putting the appropriate shape on the right group of pegs, but he soon figured it out. The holes in the shapes are large enough so it is not difficult at all to put the shapes on the pegs - sometimes the problem with traditional puzzles. It is durable - made of really nice wood - made to last! I love wooden toys - just for the sake of durability and longevity - and this one is really worth it because you really get your money's worth. Just be careful - as with all puzzle pieces...they are easy to lose around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best toys we've purchased., August 18, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
We bought this toy for our 1-year old son at Christmas last year (2009). He's now 22 months. This toy has offered fun and learning for different stages throughout the last year. And it's one of those toys my son keeps going back to over and over. When he first started playing with it, the challenge was simply for him to get the shapes on the pegs. Then he began learning the name of the shapes, then he was counting the number of holes in the shapes and now it's the colors of the shapes. Great investment! Lots of time spent playing w/ this simple (and simply wonderful) toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, December 16, 2009
By 
Motea (Northern NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
My daughter received this as a birthday gift when she turned 1, and I remember thinking, 'This toy looks boring. She'll never play with it.' I was wrong, wrong, wrong: It is one of the best toys she has (and, trust me, she has A LOT). My daughter is 2 now, and she still plays with this almost every day. Now that she's 2, she can do all sorts of things with it, and I see that she creates challenges for herself--she'll stack them all by color (blues first, then reds, etc.), or she'll name the shape and color before putting the shape into its corresponding peg, or she'll try to see what shapes can fit into the other pegs. Sometimes she'll use components of this toy when playing with other toys. Basically, this is a great, versatile and very educational toy. And it's made very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Montessori toy!, September 14, 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
We homeschool our three children. I really like the Montessori method, but finding well made Montessori learning toys that are afordable is not an easy task! This toy was made in Thailand. Finding a toy that is not made in China is so difficult these days! Plan Toys are the best, they are affordable, so well made that they can be handed down, made Eco friendly, and not made in China. Who could ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice job, plan!, June 9, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
i picked up this shape sorter for my 10 month old daughter. it seemed small when we bought it, but then i realized that this is perfectly proportional for a toddler - easy to carry around and "them-sized"!
she's too young to put the shapes back on the pegs right now, but oh my does she love taking them off, banging them together, flipping the whole thing over to empty it all, putting her fingers into the holes, and sliding the shapes around on the floor.
like previous reviews say, this is a sturdy, multi-purpose puzzle toy. it's great to sit with her and name the colors and shapes, and for me to race against the clock and try to get the shapes onto the pegs before she pulls them back off. she laughs like a maniac.
i know that this will be one of her favorite, crawl-across-the-room-for-it toys for a looooong time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great toy!!!, February 18, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board (Toy)
This is a great toy - simple, no -frills construction yet very good concept. There are many toys in the market which have the concept of stacking blocks of same shape on one rod but the rods are all the same. This toy encourages development of problem solving skills and even a child as young as 17 months can be explained about how it works and can be expected to carry it out. This toy allows for self correction of errors and promotes concentration as well. It can be used for sorting colors and counting too but the main intention of matching the number of holes to the number of pegs is awesome (though very simple for adults, this is a huge step for children). I have made this analysis based on how my child used the toy. She also loved the shapes, they are easy to hold, manipulate and provide just the right amount of challenge which prompts the child to complete the task out of own will. You can change the challenge levels by using appropriate cues initially and progress to no cues eventually. Great toy. I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Plan Toy Geometric Sorting Board
$25.00 $20.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.