Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planes - Original Soundtrack, August 6, 2013
This review is from: Planes (MP3 Music)
The soundtrack for "Planes" is a wonderful album that gets me excited to see the movie. The main theme [Track 4] in particular is fantastic, and captures the wonder and excitement of flying.

"Planes" takes place in the same world as Pixar's "Cars" series; and the music here is every bit as good as Randy Newman and Michael Giacchino's music for the "Cars" movies. In fact, the "Planes" score successfully replicates the same playful tone that made the soundtracks for "Cars" & "Cars 2" so much fun to listen to.

FAVORITE TRACKS:
[4] Planes
[6] Last Contestant
[18] Skipper's Story

Composer Mark Mancina does an excellent job with this score. Mancina should get more work in my opinion (assuming he wants it). He did the score for "Twister" (one of my favorite scores ever); he also worked on the arrangement that plays over the Walt Disney Pictures logo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Daughter Loves This Soundtrack, August 11, 2013
By 
SS-3 (Jackson, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (MP3 Music)
I purchased this soundtrack before she went to see the movie. She has been listening to it for days and loves it as much as she loves the Cars soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Planes Music, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
Great music for cool film. Very good to listen to. Overall I would recommend to all fans of the film Planes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Planes, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
This movie was not a commercial success but I loved it. The story is a display of courage and tenacity and is fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New CD, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
Not quite sure I associate with it but
after listening to it a few times, it's getting better.
Great for the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good soundtrack, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
My four years old love this soundtrack and he enjoys singing the songs when we are in the car : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Themes For A Memorable Journey From Mancina, October 18, 2013
By 
Kaya Savas (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
Mark Mancina is one of the most iconic composers in the industry and helped re-define the action genre in the early 90's with his supremely thematic scoring. Mancina is one of the kings of themes and his music breathes life into all the movies he scores. Mark is also extremely selective of the films he works on so it's always notable to see what drew mark to a project to inspire him. Planes sees Mancina returning to his Disney animation stomping ground to deliver a score that truly puts the air beneath the characters' wings.

The main theme to Planes is the first thing that hits you, and it truly serves as the groundwork of the entire score. The world of Planes is of course filled with charismatic characters and he does indeed give them all personalities sonically. The story plays out magnificently through the music as Mancina hits all the dramatic beats with ease. The percussion, guitar riffs and triumphant trumpets get the hairs on your neck standing on end that's for sure. Some of the tracks are actually quite intense and not something you'd expect to find in a Cars spinoff. While the majority of the score is big and bold there are some nice emotional moments that really cement everything together. The music never becomes too light, in fact it doesn't dodge the emotions at all. The Skipper's theme is a haunting choral arrangement that really stands out as something special. Overall this is a fantastic effort from Mancina who excites with every score he composes. Planes is an incredibly satisfying listening experience even if the film falls flat.

Mark Mancina found a way to shape a story musically for a bunch of mechanical characters. The film was actually supposed to be a direct to video release, but Disney saw potential in it enough to release it theatrically. I'm glad it did if only to put a spotlight on Mark's wonderful work. The music truly stands on its own as something terrific and reminds us why he's one of the great auteurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Expected, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (MP3 Music)
It definitely exceeded my expectations, being that the movie was supposed to be straight to DVD before Disney had the idea of letting it go to theaters. I would think that music in a film like that wouldn't be great quality, but I'm glad that I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the phone app this cd comes with!!, October 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
My son loves the CDs I purchased for him, the amazon music app it comes with was an unexpected surprise and we LOVE it! This cd in particular only has a couple of songs with words and the rest are the instrumental scores from the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Planes (Audio CD)
Super sound track. Wonderful music as only the Disney Studios can do it. A real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Planes
Planes by Mark Mancina (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.