Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2008
I saw this in New York when it played theatrically. I was skeptical at first that this wouldn't be anything more than a highlight reel but I quickly found out that's not true. Planet B-Boy delves into the subculture of b-boying (breakdancing) and shows that it's not only a hobby, it's a lifestyle. It follows crews from all over the world who are brought together by the love of expression by means of "B-Boying" and ultimately to the "World Series" of B-boying, "The Battle of the Year" which is an International competition featuring the best dance crews in the world. It is absolutely amazing to see these people defy the laws of gravity and do the physically impossible.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2008
I saw this movie in the theaters when it was making its US tour. It was really really awesome. It wasn't just about b-boying but also about the guys and their stories. But of course, the dancing is insanity and a must-watch.

Oh... the American crew in the movie (Knucklehead Zoo) has some members that are also in Super Crew- winners of MTV's America's Best Dance Crew Season 2.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2009
I first saw Planet B-Boy in the theater when it came to L.A., on its first day. My son breakdances, it came out shortly after Step Up 2, and I thought it seemed like an indie film worth supporting. It was so much more. For people who are really into this, the heart of the dancers on the teams is completely inspiring. So are their moves. So is the worldwide influence of what started as streetdancing in the U.S. The archival footage is great as well.

The physicality of the moves in this movie really is like being taken to school. The different flavors and styles of the teams provoke all kinds of choreography thoughts. The music is fantastic, and it all comes together. As soon as I knew it was out on DVD, I bought one copy for myself and one copy for a hiphop/rap/breakdancing fan at work. This movie has so much love of dance. If you have a heart for this kind of expression, you'll feel it too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2013
The story behind break dancing, told through stories of multiple dynamic personalities. Great routines, good beats, and a positive message make it a definitive winner. It'll keep you engrossed from beginning to end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
This is an awsome documentary, shows a world-wide competition, gives you insight into the universality of Hip-Hop and the freedom of this creative dance expression. I love it. Very scholarly, but not "academic." How can you not appreciate Hip-Hop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
I was not a hip hop B-Boy fan, I happened to watch this one day and really liked it A well produced and directed special on the world B-Boy championships and the story and journey of the different country's contestants to the final battle to be world champions. well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
so i purchased this for my three yr old who has showed some interest in dance i want him to c all forms of dance. i was worried that it would be stereotype like baggy clothes and profanity i also got hip hop for kids which was total stereotype. but this was so good it.we will enjoy this vidoe together as he grows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2008
I normally do not buy DVDs, let alone write a review, but after watching this documentary I had to buy it just to show support for the director and bboying.

I read the product details and was expecting a bare-bones DVD but was pleasantly surprised with a 30 minute bonus feature "More On bboying" that goes even more in-depth into the history of bboying (i.e. Rocksteady Crew, "Flash Dance", and the European evolution of breakin). The bonus feature alone is worth the purchase of this DVD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2012
Korean-American director Benson Lee does a good job of weaving a dramatic Asian-centric storyline into this profile of an quintessentially romantic but angst-driven male adolescent activity. The film follows five breakdancing (b-boying) dance teams (2 from South Korea, 1 from Japan, 1 from France, 1 from USA) that have been selected to participate in the annual Battle of the Year dance competition in Germany. Because this is meant for the American market (where it did well in theaters) there's a lot of emphasis on the American team, but really the two starring roles belong to the teams from South Korea and Japan. The two South Korean teams display a fanatical dedication and work ethic that is indicative of their culture, but the Japanese surprisingly display a passion and a love that one wouldn't associate with Japanese culture. In fact, the Japanese team pointed out that the last time they participated in Battle of the Year they were focused on winning, and that's why they performed so badly -- this time around they want to express how much they love b-boying.

Oddly enough, the Battle of the Year has become of late a proxy battle stage between the two historical antagonists -- Japan and South Korea. It'd be interesting to see a documentary exploring this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 27, 2010
I got this dvd on a whim and was far from disappointed. The interview footage really makes the dancers come off as people who love what they're doing, and that becomes more and more evident as the fact that they often receive little or no recognition (or at times almost ill treatment) in their home countries. I found myself rooting for the little guys as much as everyone else, and the personalities of not only the countries comes through, as well as the dancers. Culture plays a part in the storytelling aspects of B-Boy, but at the end of the day, they all love to dance. Everyone wants to win, but at the same time, they're much more humble than a professional athlete ever seems. Overall, a tremdendously well done doc on a form of dance that is becoming more and more commercial. This one still feels like down-home good times even with the successes and failures of the crews and the individual members throughout the training process and Battle of the Year. Absolutely recommended for any fan of dance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.