Kindle Price: $6.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Planet Tad Kindle Edition

96 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$6.99

Length: 261 pages Word Wise: Enabled Optimized for larger screens
Age Level: 8 - 12 Grade Level: 3 - 7

Magic Tree House Book 53 on Kindle
Check out "Shadow of the Shark", see the full series, or download our free Kindle Reading App to read your favorite books any time, anywhere.

Books In This Series (2 Books)
Complete Series

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Hilarious to anyone who ever went through, is currently in, might go to, or flunked out of middle school.” (Jon Stewart)

“This book will make you laugh. If you’re not into that sort of thing, consider yourself warned.” (Stephen Colbert)

“Tad is the rapid-fire, pop-culture-referencing, actually-funny stand-up-comic-in-waiting that I wanted to be in middle school!” (Tom Angleberger)

From the Back Cover

Tad has an agenda: Survive seventh grade.

He also wants to: grow a mustache, get girls to notice him, and do a kickflip on his skateboard. . . .

But those are not the main reasons he started a blog. Tad just has a lot of important thoughts he wants to share with the world, like: Here is the first thing I have learned about having a dog in your house: Don't feed them nachos. Not ever.


Product Details


Related Media


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By delicateflower152 TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on August 26, 2012
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Tim Carvell is either a very gifted twelve-year old writer or an adult with a vivid memory of being twelve years old. His novel "Planet Tad" is hilarious - I found myself laughing out loud throughout.

Tad has his year mapped out - he will write a blog; survive seventh grade; and be noticed, in a good way, by a girl. "Planet Tad" is his diary-like blog; each day's tragedies and triumphs are logged. Whether Tad is dealing with his precocious, deviously clever little sister Sophie or scheming with his friend Chuck, his observations are both pointed and funny.

Tim Carvell has genuinely captured the wit and spirit of the twelve-year old blogger throughout "Planet Tad." I was particularly pleased to see Carvell did not resort to profanity or off-color language in his writing of "Planet Tad". This is a book that parents can give to their young readers without hesitation. The ARC had roughed-out cartoon illustrations; even these added to the overall enjoyable reading experience.

Recommended for ages 8 - 12 and grades 3 - 7, "Planet Tad" may be a bit advanced for the lower end of the age range. On the other hand, parents in search of a genuinely funny book and in need of a laugh should not hesitate to read "Planet Tad" themselves. Five-star funny and a book I will definitely recommend.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Rachel Goldberg on July 6, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I am a middle school librarian and read many, many books written to appeal to adolescents. Many writers fall short in this category -- too many fart jokes, too much thinly-veiled grown-up advice, or too much of s focus on the "popular kids vs the rest of the world" storyline. I understand these pitfalls -- middle schoolers are a tough audience. Middle school boys are in a particularly difficult place because they are often branded as "reluctant readers" just because they haven't found the right book yet. However, I'm quite certain that this is their book. Planet Tad has just the right amount of adolescent humor, well-masked adult wisdom, and characters for whom kids will not only find themselves cheering, but also wanting to befriend. This is a perfect read-alike for Captain Underpants, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, the Dork Diaries, and the Big Nate series because of the similar formats. However, I wouldn't limit my recommendation of this book to kids who like the short scene/diary format of those titles, though. I plan to purchase several copies of this and recommend it widely. When does the sequel come out?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Sarah J. Carlin VINE VOICE on August 15, 2012
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
At first glance, Planet Tad looks like another Diary of a Wimpy Kid wannabe-- blog entries with silly sketches. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is a really funny book! It follows Tad for an entire year as he blogs about his daily happenings and random thoughts that pop into his head. There is no main plot, just smaller subplots throughout the year. When the book begins, Tad is in the 7th grade. He lives with his parents and younger sister Sophie. He has a couple friends at school but isn't popular and doesn't get noticed by girls. Tad isn't a troublemaker, but he has a great sense of humor. Here are a few of my favorite lines-
his sister decides to be an angel for Halloween. "Mom and dad got kinda mad at me when I looked at her costume and said, 'You know, another way of looking at it is that you're going as a dead kid."

Tad gets a summer job at a hot dog stand..as the mascot. He stands in the parking lot in a giant hot dog costume. It doesn't last long because "Apparently I passed out in the parking lot. It turns out I was horribly dehydrated. Sean promised to give me two weeks' pay if I didn't sue."

In Health class, he and a girl get paired up to take care of an egg baby. Tad decides to boil it, so it won't crack. "I was kind of proud of myself, but when I gave it back to Laurie before homeroom, she said, 'Something doesn't feel right about Katie.' So I told her what I'd done, and she said, 'You boiled our baby?!' I pointed out that at least I didn't poach or scramble our baby, but that didn't make things better."

Planet Tad is full of humor, nothing I would consider crude or inappropriate. The writing level is probably around 4th grade because it is told through Tad's voice, very straightforward and honest.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Pop Bop TOP 500 REVIEWER on July 15, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
This book is set up as a blog by our hero Tad, so it consists of hundreds of half page bits. Recurring themes, characters, and events establish a plot of sorts over the course of the book, but the primary pleasure is in just the various random diary style bits. And they are very good, and what you get is basically a year in the life of a deadpan, funny regular kid.

If you were to take the observational humor of a stand up comic and give it the weird cerebral twist you get from someone like Steven Wright, and then add a seventh grade version of the Jon Stewart Show what-the-heck? sensibility you'd have a pretty good sense of how this reads. (The author is a writer for Stewart and this book started as a column in MAD magazine, so there you go.) It's not snarky; there's no drama; we're not talking compelling social issues or any agenda. Rather, it's funny, it's insightful, and it zeroes in on topics that pertain to seventh graders, (diagramming sentences in English class, the old take-home-an-egg-and-pretend it's-a-baby experience, wanting to need to shave, girls). Because it has a seventh grader sensibility sharpened and filtered through an adult's sense of comedic timing and phrasing it is tight, crisp and usually hits the mark. There are no lazy fart jokes and, at least to me, no false notes or missteps.

This seems like a book that would appeal to a wide range of readers. Younger kids will get enough of the humor, targeted tweens will see a lot that they recognize, and older readers will appreciate how far they've come. As an adult I got a few chuckles and a chance to admire the author's skill at channeling a funny perceptive seventh grader.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?