Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for keeping dry foods fresh
I bought two of these--one for coffee beans and one for brown sugar. They really work well, although time will tell if the brown sugar stays soft indefinitely, as the manufacturer claims. It's a nifty design. There is an inner cover, as well as a lid for the top. The inner cover is pushed down until it rests on top of the food. It fits tightly within the canister, and...
Published on November 18, 2011 by jefkat

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Label Left Discoloration That Cannot Be Removed
I like the function of this for storing whole coffee beans, but the plunger does take up a lot of space, so you need to under-fill the canister to leave room for the large plunger that seals the contents. Unfortunately, the beauty of the exterior is marred by a large rectangular stain where the label was applied. I cleaned the area completely. I painstakingly peeled the...
Published 20 months ago by Summer


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for keeping dry foods fresh, November 18, 2011
By 
jefkat (Harrisburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
I bought two of these--one for coffee beans and one for brown sugar. They really work well, although time will tell if the brown sugar stays soft indefinitely, as the manufacturer claims. It's a nifty design. There is an inner cover, as well as a lid for the top. The inner cover is pushed down until it rests on top of the food. It fits tightly within the canister, and you can hear the air being pushed out as it travels.

The 64 oz. container comfortably holds about a pound of coffee beans, a little more if the beans are small. There is also a 32 oz. size, but I don't recommend getting it unless you only need to store a small amount of something.

Several other reviewers have commented on how difficult it is to remove the label on the container. I didn't find that to be true. I have bought other products that had labels much harder to take off. Perhaps Planetary Design has recently changed the adhesive.

A word on color: I bought one container in paprika and one in mocha. The paprika is attractive and lives up to its billing. The mocha, however, is more like a dark brownish gold and in no way resembles the color of coffee beans or chocolate. Had I been able to see it before ordering, I would have picked another color.

UPDATE June 2, 2012: I'm still very pleased with the Planetary Design Airscape. I can now report that it does indeed keep brown sugar from drying out and turning hard. The sugar I put in the container in November is still soft and lump-free in June.

A few months ago, I accidentally put the inner lid in upside down. There is a handle on the top of the lid, but there's nothing on the smooth bottom, so it was impossible to pull it back out. I tried everything, including knives and a screwdriver to try to pry it out, but since the fit of the lid is so snug, nothing worked. When I called Planetary Design, the very helpful representative told me that this had happened to several other people. He gave me instructions for getting the lid out of the container. He warned me that the lid would be unusable after that, so he sent me a replacement lid right away--no cost, not even for shipping. It arrived from Montana in just two days. (I live in Pennsylvania.) He even said that if I couldn't get the original lid out of the container (I did), he would send me a new container as well. That's stellar customer service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps coffee beans fresher for longer time, April 23, 2010
I first noticed this product at the local Peet's Coffee stores. After storing my coffee beans in a transparent glass storage jar for the last few years, the difference in freshness has been almost night and day in terms of keeping the beans fresh for a longer period of time. I've used it for over a week now and if the product holds up I am quite pleased to have paid what I believe is a premium for a storage container.

The canister has a wide mouth which makes it very easy to scoop the beans as you get near the end of your supply. This makes it a huge improvement over the glass storage jar I used which had a small square mouth and is huge improvement when I store the beans in their original bag.

One minor annoyance is that there are two lids to deal with when using the canister. You have the interior lid which is used to remove the air from the canister. You have another lid that goes on top to further seal the canister from air getting in. It would be easier if there was a way to accomplish all this with just one lid.

I highly recommend this to anyone who has been looking for a place to store their beans so that they can have fresh beans even with the last scoop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps my coffee FRESH, June 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the third of these I've gotten in the last year (one for the home, cabin, and office). They work AWESOME. The mocha is more of a copper hued colour, and absolutely stunning. The 32oz holds a little more than a half pound of whole bean coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars small vs large and general comments, January 16, 2012
By 
Pat (Show Low, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought two small and weeks later two large of these.

--Smaller canister seems to be a slightly thicker metal (i.e., better quality).
--Smaller canister paint is glossy, and larger is brushed. Brushed is prettier.
--Insides smell metallic.
--When drying the inner lid, black comes off the black rubber band sealing ring. I hope they're food grade.
--Labels were OK to remove from the smaller and miserable to remove from the larger. After I got them off with Goo Gone, I had to work to clean off the greasy Goo Gone.
--Small canister is way too small for a pound of coffee beans. It doesn't hold a package of brown sugar. I've had smalls for a couple months and still haven't figured out what to do with them, now that I've replaced the small with large ones.
--Coffee smell doesn't wash out of the lids, even after removing the rubber sealing bands and soaking all parts thoroughly, first in soapy water and then in vinegar. Makes switching uses impractical.
--Mocha is more of an olive and very pretty.
--Pay attention to how the seal bands fit in the lids, so you can get them back in place. Opening and closing did slide them out of place somewhat on my two small cans. The round donut-shaped band is supposed to sit on the other one to hold it in place, but in both my smalls the edge of the under band had slipped out from under the donut. I was able to verify this with the two new cans.

Freshness? Don't know, since I've used them only for coffee beans till today. There's brown sugar in one now, which should show in a couple weeks whether the canisters do their job.

Four stars? Yeah. They're pretty and fun. They have a relatively small footprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great canister, except..., August 1, 2011
By 
M. Wheeler (Molalla, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw these at Peet's as well. I now own two of the large stainless steel canisters. A little spendy, but worth the money in the long run as they keep coffee beans extremely fresh by keeping them air tight.

My only complaint is that the plastic top lid has crackled around the edges. It has only been washed twice, by hand, and hasn't been handled roughly in any way. There is no reason it should have cracked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome way to keep your coffee fresh, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this item about a year ago (2010) and I'm still very satisified with it. It has held up very well and I feel it's one of the better items on the market for keeping your coffee fresh longer. I open and close it at least once each day and the rubber seals have held up fine with no wear noticeable on them. After each can of beans is used up, I give it a good wash in the sink to get rid of the coffee oils. I would recommend not to use the rough side of your sponge on the outside of the airscape as it will scratch it up fairly easy. Use the soft side and you will have no problems. I would highly recommend this product to everyone.

UPDATE 11/20/2012..... I've now had these for 2 years and they are as good as the day I initially got them. Still works perfect, still looks great and I don't notice any wear. They are opened and closed once a day each day. I still highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST COFFEE BEAN/FOOD STORAGE CANISTER SO FAR, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In the past, the best coffee bean or food storage method for preventing oxygen from entering or leaving a container was a Mason or Ball jar for preserving foods with its rubber gasket and screw-on lid. Following this in effectiveness, in preventing oxygen from entering or escaping from the container, is the hundred-year old designed rubber gasket-ed, metal clamp food storage jar that seals using leveraged pressure..but, the same perishing problem remains as oxygen remains inside.

Good news! There is now a new kid on the block...the Planetary Design AirScape food canister. A heads up: This review of the AirScape is detailed and long, as it must be, to thoroughly discuss the issues. Amazon seems to have the best prices.

FOR FOOD, AND FOR COFFEE OR TEA STORAGE

This AirScape product is meant to store not just coffee, but also staples such as brown sugar, cookies, crackers, cereal, rice, pasta, flour, sugar, shredded coconut, chocolate, bulk herbs, nuts, and teas. I bought it to store coffee beans, so this review will focus on that. AirScapes are available in the two-quart/half gallon size, 64-fl.oz, holding about 1.25 pounds, or 20-oz of coffee beans by weight; and the one quart size, 32-fl.oz, holding about .5 pounds, or 8 to 10-oz of coffee beans by weight. Is there a gallon (128-fl.oz) size in the works? Possibly.

THE AIRSCAPE'S DESIGN AND HOW IT WORKS

The black inner lid has a double synthetic rubber gasket, fitted very tightly, piston-fashion, to fit the canister's interior. This Inner Lid seals the contents beneath with a patent-pending one-way de-gassing valve. Make sure the surface of the food/coffee is LEVEL to reduce residual oxygen as much as possible prior to pressing down on the black Inner-Lid to seal the contents. A small amount of oxygen will always remain, interspersed between pieces of food or between the coffee beans.

To operate the Inner Lid, the one-way de-gassing valve allows oxygen and carbon dioxide gases to escape as one pushes down on the lid, to the bottom, on top of the contents underneath. THE HANDLE MUST BE IN THE VERTICAL POSITION TO OPEN THE ONE-WAY VALVE AS YOU PUSH DOWNWARD TO SEAL THE CONTENTS, forcing out almost all of the oxygen and carbon dioxide from the contents below. Then LAY THE HANDLE FLAT, HORIZONTALLY, TO SEAL THE ONE-WAY VALVE AFTER PUSHING DOWN.

The Planetary Design Information Manager I emailed sent this reply: "The handle of the black inner lid should lie flat when storing coffee. You'll notice that when you push the inner lid down and the handle is upright, there are two small holes near the handle that actually allow the air to be forced out of the canister. When you lay the handle down flat after pushing the inner lid down, the two small holes are then closed up. Hope this helps." Indeed it does.

So, reviewers on this Amazon Review page that say the lid's handle must be in the upright position when storing coffee are dead wrong...because the one-way valve is now OPEN when in the upright position. Moreover, when the AirScape is sealed, CO2 pressure might lift the lid a bit during the day, but trapped CO2 will not hurt the bean's flavor in any way at all. Opening the canister once a day will relieve the pressure, but after a few days without opening the lid then internal pressure will lift the lid higher, but not enough to inhibit its proper functioning, so say the makers of the AirScape. And, you may lay the lid's handle flat in either direction, left or right, to close the valve.

The primary, Inner Lid with its one-way de-gassing valve is so 100% positive that I can detect not a whiff of coffee aroma when the Inner-Lid is in place. The secondary, clear, UV resistant Top Lid allows you see how much remains in the canister. This Top Lid provides an ALMOST 100% positive secondary seal to reduce air circulation, and has its its own one-way de-gassing valve in its center.

The cannister's wide mouth allows very easy access to your beans, but scoop as quickly as possible and re-seal to reduce flavor evaporation. The lightweight canister itself is made of a glossy, scratch-resistant enameled finish over light gauge, food-grade 18/8 Stainless Steel, and is available in several colors. The interior is immune to food staining. The rubber-like non-slip disc affixed to the bottom of the canister is a nice touch, and is thick, looks professional, and helps to keep the canister from sliding off the counter or table if accidentally struck.

And here is a big plus...the entire product, the canister, and both lids, are top-rack dishwasher safe. The 4.5 inch diameter footprint is small, and the same for both sizes; it is not too tall for most shelving. It seems as if they have done everything right. Not microwave safe, nor does it need to be...it is not cookware.

THE EXPULSION OF OXYGEN IS THE KEY TO FRESHNESS

Oxygen presence is the major cause of the loss of food goodness, freshness and flavor. The less oxygen inside the container the more flavor is preserved and food-rotting is arrested. The worst food container would allow fresh flavor-destroying oxygen, and bacteria, to enter by air leakage, while oxygen also is permitted to escape carrying away flavors with it, such as takes place using a paper, roll-down top coffee sack that you find containing coffee for sale in supermarkets and coffee shops.

Because almost all foods, ROASTED coffee beans in particular, begin to rapidly lose flavor via contact with oxygen, a container that eliminates oxygen circulation, or better, TRAPS whatever oxygen is inside the container while allowing no new oxygen inside, is very desirable. But the BEST way is to find a way to not TRAP oxygen, but to EXPEL whatever oxygen is in the container leaving nothing inside but a vacuum while allowing no new oxygen to re-enter. This is what the Planetary Design AirScape canister does so well, though a small amount of oxygen still remains interspersed among the coffee beans inside the container while almost all of the oxygen is expelled. Ingenious. But how also about going after what little oxygen remains in an AirScape; to expel even that, leaving behind an absolute 100% vacuum, absolute zero oxygen environment?

VACUUM CANISTERS ARE THE FUTURE

Ultimately, the absolute best food/flavor preservation method would expel virtually 100% of the oxygen, even oxygen interspersed between the coffee beans or food particles and pieces, while also allowing no new oxygen to enter. This is the VACUUM method on steroids, the sucking out of the oxygen by a motor driven mechanism is the coffee/food storage holy grail. Such technology has been with us for many decades. A very few boutique coffee roaster firms such as Terroir or Sweet Maria's Coffee, are now employing this vacuum method to radically inhibit oxygen-caused flavor deterioration when they ship their high quality, roasted coffee beans to distant customers.

Such commercial vacuum packaging equipment costs far more than the public is willing to pay. Home vacuum packaging equipment is available though it is not cheap, nor is it particularly efficient when you must open and close a container like this each and every day to make your daily coffee. What we need is a perfected, reliable, affordable, non-battery operated, motor driven, 100% positive-seal VACUUM canister designed for the public. Such a design will make this AirScape product obsolete in a big hurry (and NOT the battery operated vacuum canister that IS currently available, that does not have a 100% positive seal, as experts point out). In the meantime, this AirScape is as good as it gets.

WHY YOU SHOULD NEVER BUY PRE-GROUND COFFEE

Pre-ground coffee begins to flavor-deteriorate almost immediately after grinding, and that continues at light speed! Smell the ground coffee aroma? That is the flavor speedily escaping! Put ground coffee on a conveyor belt in a factory and by the time it is canned or bagged much of the flavor has already staled...the off tastes replacing the ambrosial ones.

NEVER buy pre-ground coffee if you can possibly avoid it. If you own no grinder then buy freshly roasted coffee beans at a store where you can use the store grinder, as a stop-gap measure, then use this Airscape to keep the grounds as fresh as possible, not loose, but in 2-3 Zip-Lok bags. Loose grounds in an AirScape? You'll be sorryyyyyy. For maximum flavor, buy a quality burr grinder instead (I recommend Baratza grinders), and always grind your coffee beans immediately before brewing...grinding only the amount needed for that particular brew.

Quality coffee roasting companies recommend buying coffee beans no sooner than two days after roasting, but no later than seven days after roasting. Buy your beans weekly to absolutely ensure top flavor, before flavor evaporation can intensely set in. The fresher the coffee beans the more your coffee will "bloom" (CO2 caused rising foam) during brewing...a good test of freshness.

You can easily detect a flavor deterioration difference between Day 1 and Day 7. By Day 10 just toss out the coffee beans, as it will be somewhat sour, and after two weeks the beans will make very sour coffee. Roasted coffee beans very rapidly deteriorate in flavor even with the best preservation methods, vacuum packaging excepted. It is a shame that more coffee roasters do not indicate the roasting date on their coffee packaging...such dating should be standard industry practice.

For absolutely the most wonderful flavors and aromas, ensure that your QUALITY coffee beans are freshly roasted (experts prefer Medium Roast to avoid charring), properly stored in a cool airtight container, ground immediately prior to brewing, brewed at the right temperature, and for the right amount of time.

SUMMARY

Well, this review has evolved into a long coffee storage and grinding tutorial. So please allow me to summarize. My coffee beans (or food, if you prefer) stays fresher much longer now that I use the AirScape. In my opinion, this is the best coffee/food storage container currently on the market until a proper, affordable vacuum sealing method is perfected.

In the past, many reviewers complained about the label on the container being difficult to remove, requiring much scrubbing, or better, the use of "Glue-Gone," to entirely remove the label. Well, that problem has been eliminated with AirScape's new labels that cleanly, and easily peel off with no glue residue whatsoever...I was very pleased and relieved to discover this. In the past, the maker advised that you remove the lid by gently heating the label with a hair dryer prior to peeling off the label...I did not need to. Also, the Amazon price is right...I bought mine for $25.00 from Liquid Planet, on Amazon: Well worth it.

I hope this has helped you in your shopping. Please expect an Update from me after a few more months of use, or as soon as I encounter any problems that I did not anticipate. If you have questions, please reply in the Comment section below...I would be glad to help.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

MY NEW BLOG: thegoodstuffreviews.blogspot.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect solution to longer bean shelf life, December 16, 2010
This review is from: Planetary Design Airscape 64oz Chrome (Kitchen)
I order a lot of micro roasted specialty coffee. In most cases it is roasted only a couple days before I receive it. If you have ever had really fresh coffee beans, you can smell the change in freshness after even just a couple of days. I looked around for a while for a solution to keep the beans as fresh as possible. I checked out some of those canisters that use a electic powered pump to create a vacuum, but didn't want to be bothered with batteries and having to keep the little appliance somewehere. For a while I even used the Ziploc vacuum bigs with the little hand pump. It worked, but not very elegant. Then I saw this at my local Peet's. It is so easy to use. Just put in the coffee, push down the inner lid and you can hear the air WHOOSH out. Fold down the handle and done. Great product. We use up coffee fairly quickly, but I can really tell the difference between beans kept in the Airscape and in any other container I have used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, August 10, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This is a well made product and works great, excellent value for the money. Easy to operate, great design. We store coffee beans in one, ground coffee (in a bag) in another. I will likely purchase more of these for keeping a variety of beans around. The sticker was a bit of a biznatch to get off, but I used Plexus (motorcycle cleaner) and some rubbing with a thumbnail and it came off. No other complaints except that they don't grow on a tree outside my house ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for coffee!, October 4, 2011
By 
PS Jordan (Northeast USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have the 64oz version for storing whole coffee beans and the 32oz version for storing ground coffee. While I try to only grind as much as I will use in one day, I do end up keeping ground coffee for a week or so in the smaller unit. Both of these units perform extremely well, the coffee and beans stay so fresh it's really surprising. High marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Planetary Design Airscape 64oz Chrome
$29.99 $25.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.