Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Planetfall (Genellan, Bk. 1) Mass Market Paperback – June 27, 1995


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$0.75 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 30 pages
  • Publisher: Del Rey; First Edition edition (June 27, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345395093
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345395092
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1.1 x 7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,279,046 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Inside Flap

Genellan -- beautiful, Earthlike world where intelligent cliff-dwellers waited in fear for the day the warlike bear people would return...

Genellan -- the only refuge for a ship's crew and a detachment of spacer marines, abandoned by a fleet fleeing from alien attackers.

Stranded on Genellan, the humans struggled to make a home for themselves until -- they hoped against hope -- the fleet could rescue them. Lt. Sharl Buccari tried desperately to hold on to the threads of command over both the civilians and the marines -- to keep her people together.

Winter was coming. No one knew if the winged natives would be friend or foe. And now the bear people were returning, bent on destroying every human -- but not before stealing the secret of hyperlight drive, the key to interstellar flight...

More About the Author

I am a lucky man. Born and pretty much raised in Hawaii, I graduated from the US Naval Academy and became a Naval Aviator. There are no smarter, more genuine, more professional people than those that you will find in the American armed services. I am honored to be a veteran. There are also no better toys than Navy jets, and there are few adrenaline-pumping routines on this planet that can match landing on or taking off from an aircraft carrier. I was also privileged to be a regular watch-standing officer-of-the-deck, underway, on board the USS Hancock, a WWII vintage attack carrier.

After six years in the Navy (the Vietnam War was ending), I went to work for the next quarter-century or so in Silicon Valley, California, where I was again privileged to work with individuals of exalted intelligence and ambition: entrepreneurs. Working primarily in manufacturing and later in project management and customer service, I participated in the technological miracle of lasers, computers, and corporate software almost all at the start-up company level. Believe me, if you want to have fun (and angst) working, go join a start-up in the San Francisco Bay Area...

I have always enjoyed hiking and the outdoors and have come to believe that humanity's most important asset (after our respective families) is the Earth beneath our feet. That love of nature and my experiences in the military and high-technology companies define my novels.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By David Bonesteel on March 29, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Although the author doesn't show much imagination when it comes to alien races, this remains a highly enjoyable adventure story. The indigenous life-forms of Genellan are basically direct analogues of Earth creatures. The sentient aliens are so recognizably human in their psychology that the only significant barrier to understanding between the species is the lack of a common language. Nevertheless, the depiction of stranded humans struggling to survive is compelling and, despite the abovementioned misgivings, I found myself moved at times by the struggle to find common cause among the various species.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By M. A. Ramos VINE VOICE on March 29, 2005
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The book starts with an exploration fleet looking for a new home. When they enter the star system they are planning to explore, hostile aliens attack them. The fleet escapes. But one corvette is badly damaged and leaves a small portion of its crew and a small detachment of marines stranded on a wilderness planet. This planet, Genellan, just happens to be the home to another species.

The book is well written and is the story of the human's attempts to survive and make a home. And the interactions between the three species are told from their own perspective. Giving us good insight. The characters are likable and Gier's story flows. I did not want to put the book down. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Kimberly T. on July 20, 2006
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The book covers don't do justice to the content. This is the 1st book in a series of 4. Its a great read, you'll want to start the next one immediately after putting this one down. This has everything. The series starts with a mystery and crash landing in the first book. It develops into lots of great characters, politics, seemingly genocidal ET's and successful first contacts and alliances against a common threat. Fans of David Weber, Heinlein, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, John Ringo, Lois McMaster Bujold and Anne MacCafrey--to name a very few favorite authors-- will like these books. The themes are well thought out, the characters all deal with the choices, sacrifice, and agony of war in a realistic manner; and sometimes with a little humor and romance thrown in.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By myles farrell on August 18, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
this is a great book it combines the three things i love most science fiction/space, the military, and wilderness. this is a very good book with a few flaws, but nothing is perfect. this novel brings many new ideas that other science fiction books/movies/shows don't even come close to scatching. it is more realistic than most also. hyperlight travel measured in months in stead of hours/days and many other things i read it once and it became my favorite book. i also recommend the second two books in the series. while not quite as good because they messed up some of the things i liked about the first book, they bring many many more unquie ideas to the science fiction community.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on October 11, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is a good story with compelling characters and a convincing attention to details. The plot includes humans and two sentient alien races (with reference to a third), plus numerous species of interesting creatures. A significant portion of the story is presented from the perspective of specific alien characters. There's a lot of military action, with a believable integration of physical abilities and some high-tech elements. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am currently reading the sequel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on June 20, 1997
Format: Mass Market Paperback
THIS IS GRIPPING MILITARY SF ADVENTURE ABOUT
A TERRAN SHIP THAT MUST CRASH LAND ON A UNCHARTED
WORLD AFTER A BATTLE WITH THEIR ALIEN ADVERSARIES. THESOLDIERS ON BOARD MUST TRY TO FORGE A RELATIONSHIP WITH THE PLANET'S INHABITANTS AND ALIENS FROM A NEARBY WORLD. THIS NOVEL ALSO BOAST THE MOST COMPELLING FEMALE MILITARY LEADER SINCE WEBER'S HONOR HARRINGTON.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?