Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Adults and Children Alike
As a child, I read many Amelia Bedelia books and never tired of them. As an adult, I am looking forward to sharing so many of the stories with my own child. The fact that Amelia takes everything so literally allows for countless scenarios which children (and adults) will find hilarious. Whether "stealing home plate" or "dressing the turkey," Amelia...
Published on April 3, 2001 by K. Downey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Bedelia
Themes: Sometimes the literal meaning of certain phrases is not what they are intended to mean. Even if you get confused, holding a positive attitude and trying hard will pay off in the end.

Summary: Amelia Bedelia, a housekeeper who takes everything literally and knows very little about baseball, is recruited by the Grizzlies to play in their big game...
Published on September 29, 2004 by Elizabeth A. Curry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Adults and Children Alike, April 3, 2001
By 
As a child, I read many Amelia Bedelia books and never tired of them. As an adult, I am looking forward to sharing so many of the stories with my own child. The fact that Amelia takes everything so literally allows for countless scenarios which children (and adults) will find hilarious. Whether "stealing home plate" or "dressing the turkey," Amelia always surprises and delights. Children will be begging parents to read these stories again and again. We can all use good, clean humor in our lives. The time to instill that love of laughter should begin in childhood, and the Amelia Bedelia books will certainly delight children everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Baseball Book, August 9, 2001
By 
Tonya Cabral (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I came across this book while looking for books about baseball for my preschooler. Not much to choose from in this niche market, but this book is a hit! My son thinks it's funny when Amelia Bedelia "steals the bases" and "runs home". Wish there were more books like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great travel CD, July 25, 2005
By 
We took a trip through 4 states and had purchased 5 sets of books on CD. They all worked out great. We put them in our portable DVD player w/double headset jacks and 2 of us could listen at the same time. We laughed together at how silly Amelia Bedelia can be. Great purchases with many years of enjoyment left in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Bedelia "literally" plays the game of baseball, April 24, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
Not since Abbot asked Costello "Who's on First?" has the national pastime been taken so literally. Taking things literally is precisedly what Amelia Bedelia has been doing ever since she first became a housekeeper. Tell her to "Dust the furniture" and she will dutifully find the Dusting Powder and do as she was told, even though at her house they undust the furniture. In Peggy Parish's "Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia," the Grizzlies baseball team is in trouble when one of their players gets sick and they need a replacement for their big game with the Tornadoes. Who steps up to the plate to save the day up the literal-minded Amelia Bedelia.
The fun, of course, comes when the kids tell Amelia Bedelia to tag a runner or make a base hit. Then there is the uniform that she comes up with (you need a uniform to play baseball, right?). The illustrations by Wallace Tripp capture the fun as Amelia Bedelia plays the game of baseball like nobody has ever played it before. Besides, you should see what Amelia Bedelia looks like when she swings a bat. Fortunately, one things she knows how to do right is to fix an empty cookie jar because she makes really great cookies (although she has doubts about using home plate to serve them on to her teammates). Fans of Peggy Parish's creation will enjoy seeing her on the baseball diamond while there might be some fans of the sport who will be introduced to the literally-minded housekeeper for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Strike Out, June 7, 2012
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
The Grizzles need an extra player for their baseball game that afternoon. Fortunately or unfortunately, Amelia Bedelia agrees to help out. She knows nothing about the game, so she must learn to step into the ball to hit it (ouch!), how to tag someone, and how to run home. But will she help them win their game?

It's amazing how much jargon there is in baseball, and this book really brings that out. While Amelia Bedelia is still taking everything literally, she's some of this book relies on the jargon of the sport. Either way, there are still some great laughs. This may be one of the books most accessible to young readers because the terms used in the sport are still valid today. If anyone is familiar with the game, they'll get the jokes.

There is a plot with the baseball game itself, but that's outcome is never really in question. Still, it does drive the story more than many books in the series.

All told, this is another fun outing for the literally minded maid. Young readers and their parents won't want to miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia, January 14, 2012
This review is from: Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2) (Hardcover)
Amelia Bedelia is the housekeeper for Mr. and Mrs. Rogers. (I would say she's probably about 18?) She takes everything literally; doesn't understand figures of speech. Because of this, she gets into some very interesting situations. But she does have an incredible talent: cooking, because she follows directions verbatim.

In this particular book, there is a person missing on the ball team, and Amelia offers to fill in. Because of Amelia's literalness, will there be a disaster? Will Amelia's team win or lose? Will Amelia need saving?

I love Amelia Bedelia books. If you haven't been lucky enough to discover her, I recommend these books.

Amelia Bedelia is one of my favorite characters. Even though these are children's books, I find a bit of coziness in these books. I have loved Amelia Bedelia every since I discovered her (when my kids were little.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Bedelia, September 29, 2004
Themes: Sometimes the literal meaning of certain phrases is not what they are intended to mean. Even if you get confused, holding a positive attitude and trying hard will pay off in the end.

Summary: Amelia Bedelia, a housekeeper who takes everything literally and knows very little about baseball, is recruited by the Grizzlies to play in their big game against the Tornados. The Grizzlies are short one player because he is sick. The humor begins when Amelia Bedelia shows up in her "uniform" to play the game. From that point on Amelia continues to take everything extremely literal. She "tags" players, and "puts them out". The story reaches its climax when Amelia Bedelia hits the game winning home run and on her way around the diamond, "steals" all the bases, and then "runs home" just like the Grizzlies tell her to do. When Amelia gets home she thinks that baseball is a very strange game. The Grizzlies show up, announcing they have won the game thanks to Amelia Bedelia. Amelia Bedelia serves cookies to the boys on "home plate" in celebration, even though she thinks it is a strange plate to be serving cookies on.

Evaluation: This is a very humorous fun story for children to enjoy and learn to read with. Amelia Bedelia is a lively well-rounded character. The fact that she takes everything completely literal will amuse children greatly. This in turn gets them interested in finishing the book, and even reading it themselves!

The lively colorful illustrations capture the fun and humor within the book. For example, they help to depict Amelia Bedelia in her "uniform", and "tagging" the other players, as well as "stealing the bases".

Overall this story is an excellent book to spark interest in reading for young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a home run for Amelia Bedelia!, February 7, 2008
America's favorite sport will never be the same again, now that Amelia Bedelia has been called in to substitute for another player.

If you've read any of Amelia's other books, you can just imagine what she will do for uniforms, stealing bases, running home and more. Baseball will be revolutionized, and young readers will be entertained from first page to last! The wonderful illustrations bring the humor to life.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My grandaughter loves the Amelia Bedelia book series. They are so funny and keeps young girls/boys attention.
Keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars We have a strange language, and here is proof, February 11, 2014
By 
Swank Ivy "Ivy" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Oh, Amelia, you and your hijinks. I had a little trouble with this as a kid because I wasn't a baseball fan and I didn't know what the words meant any more than Amelia did in some cases, and I also didn't know why a bunch of kids would really want her to be on their team, but watching her misinterpret "stealing" a base and "running home" was pretty funny. These books do a good job highlighting what a bizarre language we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2)
Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia (I Can Read Book 2) by Wallace Tripp (Hardcover - January 18, 1996)
$16.99 $13.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.