Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sony PlayStation 4 500GB Console
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Periphery Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11,270
Price:$339.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 8, 2015
Let me preface this review by saying that I am only a casual gamer. As a pure gaming console, this is truly excellent. Impressive graphics, speed etc. Countless reviews will tell you that, and they are not wrong. I haven't seen a lot of reviews for people, such as myself, who wish to use the console not only for playing games, but as a multipurpose media device, as a true replacement for the PS 3 and all of it's functionality. This is where the PS4 falls puzzlingly short, and people should be advised.

I consider the PS 3 to be, perhaps, the most perfect entertainment device ever conceived. Sony's ad campaign from a couple of years ago was "It Only Does Everything" and that was pretty much truth in advertising. I used the PS3 as a multimedia hub for my household. A fully functional and updateable Blu-Ray player, with excellent DVD upscaling, and an unrivaled streaming device for Netflix, Amazon Video, Vudu, Hulu, PlayOn and others. A CD player as well, for rare occasions when a playing a physical disc was required. With the addition of a $20 bluetooth remote, this device was the seamless center of my home entertainment system. I expected the vaunted next generation console to possess the same functionality. Strangely this did not happen. While technically, the PS 4 can still do most of those things, it does so quite unspectacularly and with an interface so clunky that I have been forced to leave my PS3 connected.

The central problem is that, more than a year after launch, there is still no replacement for the Bluetooth remote control. All media functions must be run using the game controller, which already has poor battery life and provides less than intuitive playback controls. The only remotes available are third party and basically do not work at all. While I can live with this, users with a a less extensive tech familiarity will easily find themselves at sea. Sony does not appear to be developing a remote control and, instead, is emphasizing that the PS4 works with HDMI control, through your television remote. I tried this and it did not work, even though I have a Sony TV. A little research uncovered the fact that it only works with an HDMI control standard rolled out in 2009 and since my, perfectly functional, television was purchased in 2008, I'm out of luck unless I want to invest in a TV I don't need. That's a big price tag to replace the $20 remote that works with my PS3.

Leaving the control issues aside, media playback is not impressive. I played a number of Blu-Rays on the system and found that they don't look very good. I have no idea why this should be, but there is a noticeable difference in quality between this and the PS 3 for playing the same media. Ditto for streaming.

Another quirk of this new system, (and this is directly gaming related,) is that you can no longer use bluetooth headsets. You can only use wired headsets plugged into the controller. And you can't use any smartphone headset, if you want a functional mic. You have to use playstation approved gear, or it will not work. I simply don't understand why this decision was made. It doesn't seem to be just a transparent money grab, it seems like a generally poorly thought out design. Perhaps this will be changed, but it has been a year and there has not been a whisper of a change yet.

When the PS3 arrived on the market, the chief things that differentiated it from XBox were as follows: Built in Blu-Ray, when that technology was brand new and online play that was free. That was why it was a no brainer for me to go with PS3. With this new release, they have hobbled the Blu-Ray and multimedia capabilities and, in addition, now require a PlayStation plus subscription for PS4 players to play online. The PS4 is a fine gaming system, there is no doubt about that but, for a certain type of user, this will not serve as a replacement for your PS3. I think people should be aware of that before they invest $400.
5555 comments| 1,074 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2013
Ok so I purchased this on release day along with the xbox one. I wanted to wait to give it a comparison so here I am a month later.

Cost = PS4
If you can get your hands on an actual retail copy and not a bootleg copy by someone whose trying to make a 300% profit then the PS4 is $100 cheaper with more bang for your buck based on the specs alone.

Cosmetics = PS4
The PS4 is a better sleeker console that is actually pretty quiet and designed for the 21st century. Compared to the xbox one that is the size Of a VCR or VCR/DVD combo. It's huge!

Video Quality = PS4
Slight advantage goes to the PS4. Although they both run on AMD Radeon GPU's. PS4 pushes out 176gb/s of memory compared to 64 from xbox one, as well as a peak shader throughput of 1.84 teraflops compared to xbox one 1.33. Both support native 1080p with 4K support.

Ram = PS4
PS4 has 8GB GDDR5 5500MHz (176GB/s)
Xbox one has 8GB DDR3 2133MHz (68GB/s)
The numbers speak for themselves. PS4 by a landslide.

Optical Drive = Tie.
Both have Blu-Ray drives.

Storage = Tie
Both come with 500GB Hard Drives.

Internet connectivity = Tie
Both have Ethernet ports as well as built in wifi setup with no need to purchase a separate adapter.

Controller = Xbox One
Although the PS4 has made some strides in developing a better controller, it comes with a built in speaker in the center of the controller as well as a touchpad but for those of you who has had a sony in the past that are use to pressing pause in the middle of the controller it will take getting some use to. The Xbox one controller feels way better then the 360 controller that has grip pads on the sticks as well as a more ergonomic design and better feel overall.

Online capabilities = Xbox One
Both have online play but Xbox one better. Some may complain that paying to play online sucks but the money you pay goes towards keeping the servers operating at their peak. Free internet servers have problems with lagging and thousands of cheaters and glitches. Not saying that no one glitches on xbox live but the money for xbox live goes towards patching those exploits. PS Plus is similar to xbox live and hopefully it gets to where xbox live is today.

Overall, PS4 is geared more towards gaming with an additional perk of media options. Xbox one is geared more as a media hub with the option of gaming, watching tv, listening to music etc... If you are interested in just old fashion gaming with 21st century graphics then the PS4 is for you. If you are interested in watching movies, listening to music, giving voice commands to do all these things as well as play games too, then xbox one is for you.
128128 comments| 2,183 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
Pros:
Runs pretty silently. You can barely hear the fan, mostly when it's starting up.
Very fast processor. I love playing NFS Rivals and Call of Duty AW on this.
COD looks so good!
The new controller has less battery life but feels pretty sweet in your hands.
It allows you to connect any wired headset with a 3.5MM jack.

Cons:
1. Being required to get PSN+ membership.
2. Your regular bluetooth headsets are not allowed to connect to the console.
The console will be able to connect but you will get an error saying to the effect of: "This brand of headset is not allowed"
Only Sony authorized brands are allowed to connect.
Having said all of this I still wouldn't buy an Xbox because of my past experience with that product.
review image review image
44 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
Next Gen is here, and it's beautiful.

Like most of you who might be reading this review, considering this purchase or perhaps even wondering whether the next gen is worth the investment at all; I wondered if the Xbox One or the PS4 was a better choice. Aside from the price of games and peripherals, to get both is a $900 investment. That's $900 better spent on just one console, accessories, and a healthy load of games. So, I decided I needed to go with just one. But which one?

The reality is, both are so very similar in a lot of ways; so the PS4's aggressive $100 price undercut makes it very appealing. But there are a few other things that make the PS4 stand out. For one, the controller is fantastic. And this is coming from an Xbox Fanboy! While, like any good gamer, I was glued to the PS1 and it's incredibly new controllers, disc based games and incredible, epic RPG's. And then the PS2 after that. But then, after some time, came along the XBox. With a controller that just made so much more sense. Offset sticks meant that almost every game was better with the XBox controller. So, trust me when I say, it's hard for me to own up and say that the PlayStation has a better controller. It's just great. Ergonomic, features that make sense, great weight and feel; and even decent battery life (though it could be better). Pricing for the controllers is very steep; but it is for the XBox One as well; so that's moot.

Finally, the games. Both have their share of First-Person shooters that I'll never own. I'm a PC gamer. In fact, my LAST console that I owned was that original XBox. I skipped the PS3/Xbox 360 generation entirely. With Steam, lower priced games, better graphics; and I can STILL use those exact same controllers; well- why not go with PC? Well, two reason finally drug me to the Console land once again. First, is convenience. Hey, I'm not afraid to admit I do pine for the ability to plop down on the couch, push a button, and fire up a game. Sure beats sitting in an office chair (or dragging my PC into the living room), waiting for the machine to boot up (even with SSD's), and so on. But that's only a minor inconvenience. The real problem; is the fact that with a PC I can't borrow and try out my friends games; Demos are a thing of the past and there are so many console games I've been drooling over that just never seem to make it to PC. So I bit the bullet and got the PS4.

Why the PS4 then? Well, as someone who doesn't like FPS's on a controller (I'm just useless with a controller. Blame the years of PC gaming, or my unwillingness to learn. But the fact is, I'm about as useful as a screen door on a submarine in a first-person shooter with a controller), I want the console that gives me the epic RPG's, top tier racing games (though the XBox does have Forza!), killer platformers and even the occasional time-wasting cute casual game. While the XBox One checks all of those boxes; with the exception of racing games (Again, Forza); the PS4 takes the (albeit slight) lead when it comes to available titles. So, for me, as a PC gamer; the PS4 is the perfect compliment.

So enough about the differences between the two. How about we talk about the console itself?

Well, it's epic. My gaming PC has an AMD Radeon 7870 graphics card. This PS4 has graphics performance similar to the slower 7770 graphics card, and it's noticeable. Since DC Universe Online is a free downloadable game, I decided to download it to my PS4 and my PC. Graphics on the PS4 were noticeably poorer but not significantly. Unlike previous generations; the gap between PC graphics and console graphics is much smaller. It will widen as time goes by and we upgrade our PC's and the consoles remain the same; but even so, for right now; the PS4 has some serious pep.

On top of that, it has 500GB of storage (without the overhead of a large operating system or bloaty applications like Microsoft Office). Which is great; especially great is the PS4's ability to purchase games from a huge library. As I said, the ability to borrow, swap, and buy used games is great. But coupling it with the ability to buy games from a digital download marketplace, have them quickly and then not need to insert a disc to play it is also great. Couple that with Sony's ambitious promise to make 100% of titles available as digital downloads is nothing short of spectacular. Any PS4 game, from the moment it launches; is available digitally. You can even pre-order a game, and it will begin downloading on launch day (provided the system is properly configured), and will be ready for you when you get home. That sure beats long lines only to find out they are out of copies of anticipating new releases! The PS4 also allows you to access your games on friends consoles; with a caveat. For one, most games are huge. Some approaching 50GB! (Wow!), so chances are this 'friend' is going to be a close friend you see a lot. It's not like you're going to come over for an hour and start playing your games. Unless your friend happens to be one of the lucky souls on Google Fiber (in which case; can they be my friend too?); chances are it's going to take hours to days or even weeks for your games to be available. That's not Sony's fault; but it's a reality of adopting digital downloads when internet speeds haven't QUITE caught up with that. Secondly; you have to be logged into that console. You can't trade, share, or sell games. Which is a real shame. With the DRM the way it is; there really seems to be no reason why I can't transfer games. Or what about a swappable marketplace? How amazing would it be if I could go into the PlayStation Store, and list some of my games that I no longer play as 'for trade', and find other people online who are willing to trade those games for titles I'd like to play? The technology is there; but Sony knows that would likely drive down sales, so it's not likely a feature we'll see. But it sure would be nice to at least be able to transfer games from one account to another; rendering them inoperable on the original account and available on the new account. No different than trading/sharing/selling Games. Even Steam is demoing a new program where you can actually SHARE your games. Only one person can play the game at a time; but you can share your library with friends! How cool is that!

Now, if you've been paying attention; I know what you're thinking. Okay so Digital downloads are cool; but are they really nearing 50GB each? Yep, they are. And is the console really equipped with a minuscule 500GB hard drive? Yes, it sure is. As a matter of fact, it's the exact same drive equipped on the PS3 slim. But guess what! In an unprecedented move; Sony has said 'go ahead, open it up'! Remember how cool that original XBox was when it came equipped with a built in 10GB Hard Drive? Remember how un-cool it got when a little bit of time went by and you realized how quickly you could fill that up; and how the console would only accept that factory hard drive without modification? Well, not today, and not with Sony. You can install any SATA hard drive that will fit, right into the console. Want a 2TB drive? Go for it. Wanna toss in an SSD and shave boot times and loading times (P.S., according to benchmarks and reviews; disc-based games don't get much of a performance improvement. And downloaded games improve only so much. So generally a bigger drive is a better buy)? Go for it, you have Sony's blessing. The only beef is that they are using a laptop hard drive. The console seems big enough to support a full 3.5" desktop class drive; which opens up a world of much better options. Including 3 and 4TB drive, and cheaper drives in general. But, even so, it's hard to complain when Sony says 'go for it', and you may, warranty in-tact, swap out the Hard drive with a bigger one. (Tip: If you're thinking about a bigger hard drive it's probably because you're thinking about downloading several games, right? Well; do yourself a favor and buy the drive now; before you have to re-download all of those games.)

Unfortunately, Sony dropped the ball with external storage. If you are looking at the specs; you might be salivating at it's USB 3.0 capability. That means data transfer speeds nearly as fast as SATA 3 are available via external ports. Woah! Well, that's all fine and good for media (Videos, mainly); but Sony doesn't allow your games to be downloaded to external storage. Bummer! Another missed opportunity. Since they already support playing digitally downloaded games on other consoles with a login; it seems like a natural thing to allow you to download them to an external drive; and take that external drive to a friends house; login, and play your games. Surely their DRM would allow for that And surely they aren't concerned about piracy (since the internal hard drive is easily accessible; and the only way you could play pirated games is with a hacked console, which so far hasn't been accomplished. And if the console was hacked; accessing an external drive would be an even easier feat than cracking the DRM anyway).

Next up, is PS Vita integration. Now this is way cool, because it works well. PS Vita supports both second screen (though that's rarely utilized); AND remote play. Remote play works beautifully on a good, strong wi-fi network. It means you can turn the TV off, change the channel, or go in the other room and continue playing your PS4 games right on your handheld. And with the drop in the PS Vita price; it's just too good to pass up. Heck, just the other evening I was leaning back in my chair in the living room, playing Diablo III for PS4 on my Vita; while my wife watched her favorite TV show on the living room TV. The Vita will even remotely turn on the PS4. In theory, this would also work over the internet allowing you to play your PS4 games anywhere in the world. But as upload speeds aren't so great here in the US of A, it's not likely many of us will be able to take advantage of that. (No matter how fast the internet connection your Vita has is; if your upload speed at home isn't quick enough for the PS4 to adequately stream, then it just won't work well.)

EDIT: Since writing this review; Sony has added ANOTHER great way to play via Remote Play. PlayStation TV; which is a small box that will sell for $99, supports remote play. This small set top box will play Netflix and other streaming content. But more importantly for the PS4 owner; is the aforementioned remote play feature. This means you can hook a Playstation TV box up to another TV in your home, and continue playing PS4 games on another screen! How awesome is that? It also supports the DualShock 4 controller. So it's like having the PS4 in another room without moving it! I've pre-ordered one.

It's a bit of a bummer that the PS4 doesn't support 5GHz wi-fi; meaning no full-speed Wireless N and no Wireless AC. But in reality; that's probably not a big deal. Unless you've got Google fiber; your internet won't saturate 2.4GHz Wireless N. And it's not likely you'll be transferring huge amounts of data from your PS4 to other devices on your network on a regular basis.

Now; here's another bummer: backwards compatibility. Through emulators that Sony has already worked on in the past; the PlayStation had an opportunity to be a record-breaking, awe-inspiring console with total backwards-compatibility spanning all the way back to the PlayStation One. But, alas, there is none. There IS a streaming service; called PS Now; that actually works quite well. But the pricing is wonky. You'll pay a chunk of change to rent a game for a couple of months; at times it'll get choppy, and part of the allure of backwards compatibility is the ability for us to play the games we already own or buy inexpensive games out of the bargain bin and have something different to play. Sony; we realize that older games will have poorer graphics. But we'd still love you to have backwards compatibility. If I can fire up an old DOS game (or; heck, an old PS1 or PS2 game) on my PC; then why can't you incorporate some decent backwards compatibility? Because the architecture is different it would require an emulator; but the folks at Sony are surely smart enough for that.

Another great leap forward in the last two generations of console (and especially this generation); is a move away from requiring proprietary accessories. We in the PC world have enjoyed a wide array of gaming accessories. And those of us who played both always lamented the fact that we had to use lame wheels, headsets, joysticks, etc., from a small group of developers because they had to be designed for the console. With bluetooth and USB; and real integration of both; there's a great variety of accessory options for the PS4. I can use the same headset I use with my PC on my PS4. Oh; and speaking of headsets, how cool is the feature that the wireless controller allows you to plugin headphones or a headset? I can send ALL of the game audio through headphones in the controller, or just communication audio. Sweet!

Finally, as I wrap up this long winded glowing review; I need to leave you with one warning. Even though the console is nearly a year old; purchasing it today still means, in a lot of ways, being an early adopter. Games seem to keep being delayed and with no backwards compatibility; the catalog of available games isn't that expansive on the PS4. Features that were touted at launch, like PS Now, are still in infantile beta stages and some features (like themes and customization of the home menu) are promised for future updates but not quite here. While only in a small way, there's a feeling of an 'unfinished console' when it comes to the PS4. It in no way should discourage you from buying; unless you are the type that demands a large library of games and can't stand beta software. Admittedly, that was a reservation I had. But then I realized; how many games am I really going to BUY each month? Probably just a couple. I mean it's not like I'm going to drop hundreds of dollars a month on several games each month. And the reality is, there are several fantastic games already available. And the pipeline is full of ambitious, exciting titles to keep me busy and my wallet empty in the months to come. In reality; this is probably the best time to buy the PS4 console. Although you will have to stomach higher pricing for games. Especially if you buy from the PS Store. Dear Sony, many of us have become accustomed to the digital experience we have through services like Steam. We demand sales, discounts, and other opportunities to buy games at a better price! As it stands now, most of the games in the PlayStation store remain effectively at launch price; even if they can be had for as little as half that price in physical form, even brand new. In fact, I just purchased a new copy of a game for my PS Vita for $24.99 on Amazon, that was available for $49.99 from the PS Store. The high pricing is consistent across both devices. That's not an issue if you're buying titles at launch ($60 is $60 right?), but as games get a little older and the prices drop; it would be nice to see the same be true of the digital store.

All in all, a slam dunk for Sony. There may be a few reasons to wait a while before adopting the current generation of consoles. There may even be a few reasons to go with the XBox One over the PS4. But for me and many others; we couldn't be happier with this fantastic piece of equipment. Sony, you haven't converted this die-hard PC gamer; but you sure have reminded him what he loved about console gaming as a kid. And he's quite happy to buy games on your platform that he could've bought on his PC!
2020 comments| 344 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
Let me preface this by saying I'm a huge Gran Turismo fan, and I originally bought the PS3 just for GT5. As such, I am probably a statistical outlier in the world of Game console owners. Over the years, I've come to love the PS3 for Netflix, Youtube, Blu Ray movies, and it's flexibility in handling media.

The PS4 does have a huge processing power advantage, better graphics ability than the PS3 and a quieter fan, however after having my PS4 a couple of months, my PS3 still gets used a lot more because:

1) The PS3 is way better for watching movies with. First, it has a dedicated Blu-Ray remote that is easy to use. Secondly, I have movies and music that I legally own and have copied to my PS3's hard drive. Gran Turismo 5 and 6 allow me to use music playlists on the PS3. If the current, ridiculous limitations continue after the next version of Gran Turismo hits, I won't be able to do the same because I can't put my music, hundreds of dollars worth, on the PS4. No way am I going to start using Sony's music service at this point.

2) The PS3 lets me hook up an external hard drive or thumb drive and copy photos, music, and videos, all things that make it a very flexible system. The PS4's USB ports are limited to either charging the controllers or installing an update file to the PS4. With all the processing power, the nicer interface, and the ability to download in standby mode, the PS4 is still a FAIL to me until I am allowed to do what I have for the past 7 years, and use it like a computer (which it is).

3) There is presently no Gran Turismo title on PS4.

4) The game I do have, Battlefield 4, will end up costing half the price of the console or more if I buy all of the upgrade packages for it. Sure, updates and add-ons cost money for the PS3, but the PS4 (or maybe the game developers) look to be taking it a step further and pricing add-ons at the same level as the game.

If Sony will use future updates to allow me to use the PS4 as I have used my PS3 for years and also release a separate remote for watching movies, I'll gladly revise my review, but for now, the console is a big meh for me and I'm considering buying another PS3 as a backup for my current 2 others.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
I was extremely happy to see Amazon still had this for sale given the fact that you can not find it in stores. My fear however was what kind of shape would it be in when it arrived. Thankfully it was well packaged and safe. The PS4 is much smaller when compared to the PS3, including the size of the box. I hoooked up it and it started up with no problems at all which was my next sigh of relief. Once I started setting up my account, which was very easy to do, I put in my first game. As soon as Metal Gear Solid V started up, it was just jaw dropping how life like it looked. I have a pair of ihome headphones and after changing the audio to work with them through the awesome dualshock controller, I felt like I was there, living the game.

The UI is much better than PS3. It keeps track of what you last did, so instead of having to go find netflix after turning off the system, it was right there waiting for me as the first option. I love being able to see what my friends are doing now or what they may have accomplished in one of their games they're playing. It sort of has a twitter feel to it which is really cool.

The speed at which it runs is very fast and very smooth. It had to download a few updates and it took less than 30 mins total, that includes updates for the games. As soon as you put the game in, the PS4 will start to install it to the system to make the games much smoother. It does not download them, do not be confused by that. You will need the disc to play the game, unless you buy digital.

The library section is a great idea. Here it keeps track of everything you have downloaded, from apps to DLC for games. Once you download an app, the PS4 automatically installs it to the system. Something I don't think the PS3 did.

The DS controller was really the next step. It feels much better in your hands than the DS3. The DS4 has an input for headphones, so you can play games or watch tv/video with out waking people. As I said earlier, when playing MGSV with my ihome headphones, I felt like I was in the game. Something that def gets lost through just playing sound through the tv. There is no longer a start button on the controller. Instead you have the touch pad, which acts as the pause button is some games. You also now have an options button and the share button. The share button is where you can record some of your gameplay and post it online for others to see what you did. So now when you brag about pulling of an amazing touchdown in Madden or go on an insane killing spree via COD or BF, you have the prove to not only show it, but boast about how awesome you really are.

Given that this system is only about 6 months old being on the market, I don't believe Sony has even begun to get to the tip of the iceburg, this includes game studios as well. Plus still to come this year, which game studios and sites are claiming will really show off the power of the system, you have Watch Dogs, Destiny, The Order and the reason I purchased the PS4 in the first place, Batman Arkham Knight!

All in all, this thing is amazing. It is worth every penny you would spend on it. If you are able to grab one, I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
RIP OFF. SONY GAVE ME A BROKEN PS4 DO U KNOW WAT SONY DIE I WILL NEVER US E ONE OF YOUR PRODUCTS AGAIN IN MY LIFE. GG BRO GG
review image
0Comment| 155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
Loving er impress with the new console as well the newly design DS4 controller and working flawless with no issue. Upgrade the hard drive on day one to 1TB and keeping the old one if the console fail within a year during warranty period so I can swap it out as the worst case scenario they return you a 500GB console. I don't recommend this to rookies/tinkers that isn't familiar with these sorts as it might do more harm to your console but if you feel confidence and pride or a tech wizard with your magic hands and tools, GO FOR IT! BTW...there are plenty of resources online(GOOGLE) for video instruction and/or step by step explanation to install a hard drive besides my so do it at your own risk as I'm not held accountable for which you might do to your console. This is just my explanation what I did to get my 1TB hard drive to work which took me 4 tries of back and fourth between PS4 and my PC. Sometimes the net isn't all that helpful and leave stuff out to have you figure on your own but with positive thinking, the negative just seem to fade away when at some point I was frustrated but I never gave up in what I set to do and that's to make my PS4 a 1TB console. 500GB don't do justice as the games takes a HUGH install on it but sooner or later it will fill up that hard drive space. Just as note when having a new "hard drive" install already, please do go into Safe mode(hold POWER button for 7 sec or so til you hear a beep and let go) screen on the console. With the formatted USB flash drive in mind(I use a 32GB which I have available but 1GB works as well), using a computer or laptop, I download the firmware update on Sony website to my USB flash drive that I save in the UPDATES folder.....Sony post firmware 1.51 as of this. To insult to injury, sometimes the newest firmware they post for download doesn't come complete(I got an error on mine which is scary for the faint of heart that it didn't detect firmware 1.51 on my USB flash drive I have save to it). So it was missing some files from firmware 1.50 and sometimes the new 1.51 firmware won't work so just a heads up if you fall in this situation. In my case, I had to get a "recovery 1.50 firmware" which is 859MB in size floating around the net to get the console to detect the 1TB hard drive and load all that files/programs firmware Sony good stuff on to it. **There's a BIG different between 1.50 firmware and recovery(keyword) 1.50 firmware** Connecting the USB flash drive and DS4 controller to the 2 empty front USB slot.....in Safe mode title screen and selecting the correct choice which I pick #7 INTIALIZE PS4(Reinstall System Software), the console did its initialization and finally download the firmware from my USB flash drive. WALLA!!...success like a new console out of the box after a restart!!! Set-up was a breeze and automatically firmware 1.51 pop up on my notification, download that with no glitch or issue and console ran smooth after it restart. As it does come with a code for a FREE 30 days Playstation Plus and FREE 30 days Music Unlimited but they REQUIRE you to have your credit card info so no thank you. Eventually the code will expired 3/31/2014 if not use so blah. Instead, I use my prepaid PSN card and redeem the code on it to sign up for a one year on it.....being on a safe side. I download 2 Indie games, which Sony gave it away for FREE being a Playstation Plus member and if not a Plus member, they are $14.99 each....the games are Contrast(sequel please??) and Resogun(kinda remind me of the retro days of Midway Defender of the 80's but with HD graphic and then some mix style to boot for 2013). BTW....good games. I did use the $10 code that came with the console that I redeem so it has its perks. Please know all of this is base on my experience in my review and thought I share it with everyone out there so everyone will vary. I'm happy w/console and the 1TB upgrade(sense of pride and a rewarding experience). Will upgrade 2TB in the future. Looking forward to what awaits in the coming months from Sony. Thank you for reading my DIY(do it yourself) guide.
review image review image review image
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 1, 2014
I am in love with this console.

The graphics are amazing. I love the look of the games on this system. The sound is impeccable. We run it off a 7.1 surround system, and I've had moments where a twig will snap behind me, or a beast will roar off to the left. It is a bit more precise that I'm used to in how it handles locating sound between speakers, by firing both off but not at the same volume. I really love that.

The controller is so comfortable. I had some problems early on with the rubber coming off, but each time Sony was great about quickly replacing the controller. The audio jack on the controller means even the most basic headset can be effectively wireless for gaming. I did not think I would like the touchpad, but now I love it. It has an accelerometer, so for Infamous: Second Son, when you are using the controller like a can of spray paint, you have to turn it sideways and shake it. And the embedded speakers are such, it sounds like a can of spray paint being shaken. The PS3 controller always bothered me a little that it is too easy to inadvertently push down the left thumbpad (so it thinks you hit L3) when you are trying to run around. I've yet to encounter that problem with this one, not even doing the various rundown sections of Assassin's Creed: Black Flag.

Sharing in-game video is quick and easy. It works so well, and so fast. I didn't think I would use that, but it turns out I kind of like sharing awesome moments on Facebook. I'm very much a solo gamer, and the library for that is still very impressive.

If you have PlayStation Plus, your games are backed up online. When I upgraded the hard drive, which is ridiculously simple, I just redownloaded my games, already in progress. It picked up where it left out without a hitch.

For stability, for elegance, for performance, and most importantly, for incredible game play, I give the PS4 five stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
I owned a Playstation 3 for several years before upgrading to this Playstation 4. One thing that I really DON'T like about the 4 is that the indicator light is on the top (whereas the 3 had it on the front). I have my Playstation on a very high shelf in a home theater setup, and I simply cannot see the top of it, so am always guessing as to its current power state.

The other thing that I really DON'T like is how loud the fan is ... WAY louder than my Playstation 3's, and quite distracting when watching a movie at low volume.

UPDATE 01/27/15 regarding the loud fan: I did some searching of some PS4 forums and learned that this is a somewhat common defect. The fan is variable speed, running only as fast as it needs to run in order to keep the CPU and GPU temperatures below a set value. The temperature is sensed by a thermistor, and on some units the thermistor may have been faulty (reading really HIGH temperatures), thereby incorrectly indicating that the fan needs to run at full speed. Anyway, I returned the unit to Amazon just barely within my return time limit window. They sent me a new one pronto (even before the original one was returned ... I used the new box to return the old one), and the new one is completely quiet. I'm updating my rating from 3 stars to 4.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 1000+ answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.