Playing 78s Excuse my ignorance, I'm just new to this whole business. I'm probably looking at picking up this turntable, but reviews I've read have mentioned the need to upgrade the cartridge or stylus or something in order to be able to play 78s.

My question, what exactly do I need to do on top of buying this turntable, to be able to play 78s. Is there another cartridge or stylus I need to buy?
asked by Ajgorak on October 4, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 answers
A
Yes, you need a 78 cartridge, which is mono, and has different stylus geometry. The Shure M78s is the one to buy. It's by far the easiest just to buy another cartridge shell and mount the M78s in it, then swap when needed. There is a storage hole behind the tonearm to keep the second cartridge shell.
J. Paulsonn answered on January 4, 2012
Comments (2) | 5 of 5 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
78s need a wider stylus (~3 mil). Search for a 78 replacement stylus for your cartridge to swap in when playing 78s.
D. Furst answered on December 8, 2011
Comment | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Thanks. Is it generally easy to swap a stylus on a cartridge between records? I know I can buy a whole new cartridge and headset, and just swap the headset every time I want to play, but I don't have the extra $$ right now for all.
Kerry A. Martin answered on December 8, 2011
Comment (1) | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A