Customer Reviews


802 Reviews
5 star:
 (415)
4 star:
 (160)
3 star:
 (95)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


223 of 227 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I almost didn't buy it!!! Don't listen to the bad reviews!
I'm the type of person who reads almost every review before buying anything, and there were a couple comments mentioned by MULTIPLE reviewers that almost made me not buy this toy!

These bad comments were (NOT my opinion):
1. The toy is dangerous -- child's arm got stuck in the hole where balls shoot out from.
2. The toy is VERY loud and a potential...
Published on November 30, 2010 by L00king4nswers

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You will need replacement balls ASAP...use Marshall Pet Pop-n-play
Its is a load of fun to play with UNTIL you lose a couple balls and realize it needs at least 4 to work right. The child's favorite toy then sits there and teases him. You will soon notice real replacement balls are way to expensive everywhere on the web. BUT....
I found someone who recommended Marshall Pet Pop-n-play Balls as replacement balls for the Playskool Busy...
Published 22 months ago by KenP


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

223 of 227 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I almost didn't buy it!!! Don't listen to the bad reviews!, November 30, 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
I'm the type of person who reads almost every review before buying anything, and there were a couple comments mentioned by MULTIPLE reviewers that almost made me not buy this toy!

These bad comments were (NOT my opinion):
1. The toy is dangerous -- child's arm got stuck in the hole where balls shoot out from.
2. The toy is VERY loud and a potential danger for small developing ears.
3. The small balls are a choking hazard.

I decided to give it a try cause I could always return it, well I'm KEEPING it!

#1... the toy that I got is the updated version that now has "prongs" on the inside of the tube, so there's no way a child can get their arm stuck down there.
#2... the toy is NOT as loud as most of the reviewers describe it to be. When I got it, I thought it was gonna sound like a vacuum cleaner from all the comments! It doesn't -- it sounds like a muffled hair dryer. Louder than any toys he has, but FAR from deafening!
#3... the balls are a little bit on the small side. I tried putting the balls in my mouth just in case, and I really had to open wide! I don't think a small child could fit them in their mouth. In any case, I wouldn't let my son play with this toy alone anyway. It's not that big of a deal.

The amount of fun my son has far outweighs any of the negatives (if you can call them that) of this toy. I happen to think it's perfect!!! And I'm so happy I ignored all the bad reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Four of My Boys LOVED This!, October 11, 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
First for the drawbacks; 1)It is easy to lose the balls if you don't make a point of collecting them after play and keeping them somewhere safe, 2)There is music that plays continuously while it is on, which can be annoying for some, and 3)The play cycle is rather short so you or baby must keep pressing plunger to start it again. This might be a welcome respite for those offended by #2.
BUT: All four of my boys LOVED this toy!!! A favorite, and a toy I always buy or recommend to others. Perfect for a boy or girl. My boys were enthralled by the colorful balls shooting out of the hole and amazed when they almost always went where they were supposed to, which is around the ramp and back into the receptacle. They also LOVED to feel the air blow out of the toy (the air is what pushes the ball up and out of the hole) and would often just press the plunger to feel the air on their faces, hands and in their hair. They quickly learned to start the toy themselves and would be entertained by it longer than they would be by other toys. All of my boys got this toy for their first birthdays (I am a toy manufacturers dream, I sell toys in Mom2Mom sales after on child outgrows them and then end up buying them again for subsequent kids-- can't stand clutter and feel they deserve their own stuff).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun toy for learning cause/effect, October 10, 2009
By 
Kristin L. (East Windsor, NJ) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
I bought this for my 10 month old daughter since my son seemed to love it at daycare when he was 1-2 years old. He's now 2 1/2 and still enjoys it. I think it's an adorable toy and a good way to teach cause/effect. My daughter watches intently as the balls pop up, then I show her where they go inside. I admit that she does flinch in surprise a little with the air/music combo as the balls pop up, but I don't think it's too loud at all. The anticipation is the fun part! I hate to say that 3 of the 5 balls are missing as of late, since they do fly all over the place when you play. I wonder if they sell extras/replacements...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a 1-year-old. Noisy, but that can be easily fixed., April 9, 2011
By 
Sharon Hyland (Newport News, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
We got this for our son's 1st birthday. He quickly figured out how to make it start up once it stopped and is starting to figure out how to put the balls back on. It's a toy that will grow with him for sure. The one caveat is that the sound is very loud and not adjustable. I fixed this by locating the speaker (front and center) and sticking a few pieces of scotch tape over it. Now it is quieter and not as distracting to the adults in the room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where to find replacement balls, July 11, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
Don't be scammed! I went looking for replacement balls for this toy after our dog got hold of a couple and I found people selling them for $15+ on eBay when you can go to the Hasbro website and order some for $4. Don't know why anyone would buy replacements for almost the same price as a brand new toy!! Here's the link to the order form [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You will need replacement balls ASAP...use Marshall Pet Pop-n-play, March 13, 2013
By 
KenP (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
Its is a load of fun to play with UNTIL you lose a couple balls and realize it needs at least 4 to work right. The child's favorite toy then sits there and teases him. You will soon notice real replacement balls are way to expensive everywhere on the web. BUT....
I found someone who recommended Marshall Pet Pop-n-play Balls as replacement balls for the Playskool Busy Ball Popper, and they work perfect!! 3x's as many balls for much less than the real replacement balls. Wow this was a lifesaver and it is so much fun to use so many balls without stressing over losing 1 or 2. The toy is once again a favorite in the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids LOVE it, I hate it., November 8, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
I bought this for my son when he was about 15 months old. He is now 3 and a half and still LOVES this thing. Two major problems: The music is VERY loud and VERY annoying. The second problem is that it eats batteries like you would not believe. As soon as the power goes down a bit from the low batteries, the balls don't shoot into the air, they just sort of push up to the top of the tube which is alot less fun for the kids. That said, it was well worth the money if you are oonly considering the the amount of fun my kids have had with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Toy, June 2, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
My kids who are 2.5 and 10 months old have both loved this toy for a long time, epescially my ten month old, she loves putting the balls through the top and trying to get the ones that "float". I think this toy provides a great oppurtunity for fine motor skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No volume control, October 7, 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
I had read a bunch of positive reviews on this toy and decided to purchase it. It keeps my 14 month old entertained, he loves to be blown with the air coming out of the top and he figured out pretty quickly how to turn it on. The negative is that it drives our two dogs crazy and we can never seem to find any of the balls that actually go into the toy. The biggest problem is that there is no volume control and it is super loud. There is an on/off switch but no volume control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Top Ten Most Dangerous Toys, December 23, 2009
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper (Toy)
We received this as a gift, and after installing the 4 D batteries (ugh), I was taken aback at how dangerously loud the music and fan are! I researched some more and discovered that it is on the Top Ten Most Dangerous Toys list for registering at over 90 decibels. That is quite dangerous for developing ears, and considering that this toy is meant for babies as young as 9 months, I am surprised at how unnecessarily loud it is. We are returning this toy. Toys should be fun, not dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Playskool Explore N' Grow Busy Ball Popper
$34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.