Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 1999
This controler is a must have for all playstation users. It shakes and vibrates you right into the game, with everything from a tiny tap to a 12.0 earthquake.
11 comment38 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 1999
This controller is alot more fun to use than the standard controller. The Dual Shock is compatible with alot of games like for example Metal Gear Solid. In that game the controller when in Shock mode shakes and vibrates when you character is attacked. This makes the game alot more fun. Really gives you the feel of playing the game. Its worth the few extra dollars price over the regular controller.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2000
The analog controller is great for a lot of different reasons. The vibration function is a really nice addition to the game. It may freak out a friend who's not expecting it (which is quite fun to watch) and adds a nice dimension to games that support it. The analog controls are great, especially for driving games. The more precise control keeps you from veering from side to side. The amount of buttons and fingers used may make people who aren't used to it uncomfortable, but that doesn't seem like it's going to change anytime soon.
My only complaint is that this control isn't used enough. Very few games call for the right stick. The one that I know of is G-Police, and it really adds to the game.
There's no reason to get a non-analog controller when you can get the analog. It may cost a bit more, but it's worth it.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2000
This is a controller. It's for the Sony Playstation console. It vibrates at every onscreen collion (provided the game makes use of a vibration fuction). There isn't much to say about the Dual Shock, because it is very similar to the standard Playstation controller - therefore it is pretty much optimized for good performance. It doesn't need batteries and it doesn't break as often as might be expected. The buttons are sturdy. However, for some old-school gamers the grips might seem somewhat small and the button scheme might seem a bit odd, but, hey, now there are three separate onscreen dimensions to handle! The vibration function is nice (because you can turn it off). This is pretty much the definitive first-party controller. If you are trying to find a good, standard controller, I wouldn't advise looking any longer.
--Shadowfire
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
The controller was new, which was a plus. It works well and working with a dual shock controller enhances the playing experience.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2000
Possibly the best controller of any platform. The larger joy sticks allow greater precision than it's Nintendo counterpart on driving sims. In fact, even though I have a steering wheel, I've found the sticks allow for quicker response when an immediate change of direction (such as a power slide)is called for. The same thing applies to the other stick when it's used for throttle/brake. The joysticks are smoother and more accurate than the Mad Cats verson which I bought first(because it seemed more trick), and then regretted when the joy sticks became failure prone (wouldn't center itself)and jumpy. Any game that can use joy sticks is improved with this controller. If the racing game or sim, "supports Dual Shock Controller" my steering wheel stays on the shelf.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2009
I bought this controller used and it works just fine. It may be important to note that this is an A-Series PSX controller. That wasn't apparent in the main product description.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2005
Playstation's Dual Shock is such a comfortable and popular layout that PC gamepad companies like Saitek and Logitech try to copy it, and they usually don't do a very good job. Their d-pads are always too awkward, or their construction is too lightweight. The Dual Shock is solid and is built to last. I'm an emulation gamer, and thanks to SmartJoy's USB adapter I can use a real PS1/PS2 gamepad with ZSNES and Bleem.

My only gripes with the pad: A) The Start/Select buttons really should've been moved up after the addition of analog sticks. I'm always finding myself fumbling over the sticks trying to get to Start and Select. B) While the d-pad is very sturdy, it kills my thumbs after a couple hours of play. Kinda makes me wish they had taken a Turbo Touch 360 approach and used a touch-sensitive panel instead of hard plastic arrows.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2002
The controller is much better than the others, for a good gamer! It has two buttons that let you steer like you are driving a car. You can also use the arrow buttons. ( Just so you know, it has all the buttons the regular controller has. ) Every time you hit something while playing a game, the controller vibrates! ( It vibrates for all games except the old games for PlayStation. ) It really gives you the feel of the game!
My sister thinks differently. She is 10 and hates this controller because of the vibration. Every time she dies, it vibrates. This sometimes happens alot and can be bother some. (Sometimes it vibrates every minute.) Less skilled gamers should stick with the original controller!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2009
It's the PlayStaion controller. C'mon, do I really have to do a review. You need it to play your games. The funny thing is, I used to prefer the controller that came with the PS, the one with no analog sticks, until I experienced the Dual Shock 2. I used to say "what is that, those big black lumps on the controller?? I'm not getting that." Aaaa man, the good old days....
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.