Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Klovers! Courtesy of CK2S Kwips & Kritiques
Dream Guardians exist on another plane of existence, only crossing over to mingle with humans on the dream plane, to protect mortals from the Nightmares, who feed on fear. But their mission is twofold: protect mortals from Nightmares, while simultaneously searching for the Key, a mortal who was foretold would open the bridge between realms, bringing destruction with...
Published on April 23, 2007 by Jennifer A. Ray

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, but there were too many unanswered questions at the end.
This is the first in a series. The second book is coming out in 2008. It was pretty good for paranormal, but I prefer other paranormal worlds. This is about humans having dreams. While dreaming, guardians join them in the dreams. The guardians are aliens who live on another plane and fight off nightmares from hurting humans. Aiden is a guardian who falls in love...
Published on June 21, 2008 by Jane


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Klovers! Courtesy of CK2S Kwips & Kritiques, April 23, 2007
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
Dream Guardians exist on another plane of existence, only crossing over to mingle with humans on the dream plane, to protect mortals from the Nightmares, who feed on fear. But their mission is twofold: protect mortals from Nightmares, while simultaneously searching for the Key, a mortal who was foretold would open the bridge between realms, bringing destruction with them.

Aidan is one of the most powerful Dream Guardians. He has never failed in a mission, part of which involves playing dream lover to mortal females in order to save them from the Nightmares. He has been with thousands of women, none of whom have seen him for himself or touched his heart. Lyssa Bates is different, in many ways. Not only does she have an unexplainable ability to block the Dream Guardians, one night in her arms leaves Aidan shaken, craving her more. But more and more he begins to fear she is the Key his people have been searching for. He knows to the very depths of his soul she can't possibly be evil, and protecting her from the other Dream Guardians swiftly becomes his primary goal...

Sylvia Day very rapidly became one of my newest favorite authors. When her newest book, Pleasures of the Night was offered to us for review, I did not even stop to read a blurb, I snatched it up without hesitation! Once again, this author did not let me down - far from it! This book satisfied so many of my literary loves: paranormal, romance, erotic... The writing is stellar, as readers have come to expect from a Sylvia Day novel, and the characters are wonderful. I was immediately drawn to both Aidan and Lyssa, and my interest in both only grew as the story progressed.

Not surprising, since this is book one of her new Dream Guardians series, the author stirs plenty of interest in the supporting characters as well, laying the groundwork for several sequels in just this first novel. She even manages to capture the readers' interest in a very minor but memorable character who provides us with a healthy dose of comic relief during the one scene she appears in. Keep your eye out for Mrs. Laughlin - I am hoping she graces us with her presence and more hilarity throughout the series!

Day wraps up Pleasures of the Night with a great ending for the romance between Aidan and Lyssa, but with the certain feeling that this is an auspicious beginning to what will be a wonderful series and some intriguing ongoing mysteries that will weave the books in this series together. The first book hasn't yet released to the public and already I'm itching to get my hands on the second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance Junkies review of Pleasures of the Night!, April 29, 2007
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
Dream guardians infiltrate dreams and keep people safe from Nightmares. Most of the time, they can enter dreams and make any fantasy come true leaving the dreamer none the wiser the next morning.

Captain Aidan Cross is one such guardian. He is a man that all dream guardians look up to and want to emulate. On the outside, Aidan is the epitome of loyalty and unending fortitude. However, on the inside, he is slowly becoming more and more restless. He senses that all is not what it should be in his search for the prophetic key, and he wants to know why. Entering the dreams of women night after night has become almost blasé until he enters the dreams of Lyssa Bates. He finds himself unable to resist the temptation of visiting Lyssa's dreams time and time again because she is the only person in centuries of dream guarding to have ever seen Aidan for what he is; a man with wants and needs, and his own dreams of being loved.

Lyssa Bates is exhausted - utterly and completely fatigued, but still unable to sleep for more than minute periods of time. Her unexplainable exhaustion escalates her rapidly deteriorating health. On one such day, she collapses on her couch and begins to dream of an enigmatic man who is the model by which fantasies are made. Tall, manly, and downright decadent, the blue eyed man enthralls Lyssa to the point that she doesn't want to him to leave. To her inconsolable dismay, she realizes that he isn't reality; he isn't flesh and blood man.

Aidan experiences both panic and anger when he finds out that Lyssa is in danger because of his careless actions. Unwilling to sit back and watch her be harmed, he searches for a way to get to her. He is not completely selfless in his quest, however, because he has done the one thing that is forbidden. He has fallen in love with a dreamer.

May I be the first to say that I adore Sylvia Day? Never have I read a book written by this gifted author that I didn't like. That said, let me again be the first to state that PLEASURES OF THE NIGHT is a must read. An absolute must! I found myself not only unable to put this book down, but also completely unwilling to stop reading for any interruption. My husband will forgive me one day, I'm sure.

My emotions ran full circle. I cried at the poignancy and complete love shared by Aidan and Lyssa. I sighed at the sensuality that brewed between them. I fumed at the circumstances that aggressively tried to keep Aidan and Lyssa apart. My world stopped for the time it took me to read PLEASURES OF THE NIGHT and I don't regret that for a moment.

From the first scene between Aidan and Lyssa to the last, PLEASURES OF THE NIGHT was an enthralling, out-of-this-world look at a love that can be found despite the daunting chasm of space and time. Sylvia Day has artfully penned a keeper with this gripping story and I can't wait to read the next installment, HEAT OF THE NIGHT coming in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This author knows what readers love., April 27, 2007
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
Long ago, a tiny crack had been made by the Elders between the Twilight and our world. There is no way to close the crack and keep the Nightmares out. They could only supply damage control. Nightmares are real beings. The dreams created by the human mind had given Nightmares a new power source to thrive upon. Fear, fury, misery are easily aroused through dreams and fed the Nightmares well. Should the Nightmares enter our world, they will feed on all human dreamers until the race becomes extinct. The Nightmares have done so to other worlds. The Dream Guardians enter a Dreamer's dream, becomes whoever he or she wishes the Guardian to be, and fulfills every erotic desire. By doing so, the Guardians keep the Nightmares at bay and the Dreamers safe. And whenever given the chance, the Guardian kills all the Nightmare entities he is able.

Legend has it that somewhere in our world is a special Dreamer, the Key. For centuries the Guardians have hunted the Key. The Key has the power to open the Gateway and allow the Nightmares free entry. Therefore, once found, the Key is to be eliminated. The Key will be able to bar both Nightmares and Guardians with her door. Once the Guardian gets inside though, the Key will actually be able to see into the Twilight. Thus, Guardians look for four abilities. The Key can see the Guardian's true feature, will know the Guardian's real name, can take control of the dreams, and any nearby Nightmares will become confused and disoriented.

Captain Aidan Cross has been a Guardian for centuries. He now doubts that the Key is anything other than a myth. Yet devoted to the cause, he continues his erotic duties with female Dreamers. Some Dreamers shut away parts of themselves so securely, not even the Guardians could enter. Usually this is due to past abuse or something. Being one of the best Guardians, the Elders send Aidan to the dream door of Dr. Lyssa Bates in hope that Aidan can persuade her to open her dream door to him, where others before Aidan failed.

Dr. Lyssa Bates has one of the biggest veterinary practices in San Diego. She also has one of the biggest cases of insomnia. Despite a battery of tests, nothing physically wrong shows up and no prescription medicine works. Lyssa has never been able to remember her dreams, but now she can't reach a deep sleep and it's making her sick. But then Aidan comes along.

Aidan is the only one Lyssa will allow into her dreams. No Guardian before or after him has succeeded. But the only thing Aidan sees when he is admitted entrance is blackness. Lyssa does not even know how to turn on the lights in her dream, much less see any fantasies. There is nothing wrong with the veterinarian, no past trauma, no mental illness. She just sits in the dark, wishing she could see. Being exclusively assigned to Lyssa, Aidan begins helping her to reach deep sleep, A.K.A. turn on her lights. Once done, Aidan becomes attracted to Lyssa, though this is forbidden. Worse, Lyssa has all the signs of being the Key. Even though Aidan knows Lyssa would never willingly open the Gateway for the Nightmares, should the Elders learn of Lyssa's abilities, they would execute her. Now Aidan must risk all, become hunted by his own people, to save the Key.

***** If you have read any title in the RED line, from Avon Books, then you already know that the series is called "Red" due to all the extra, extra steamy contents. So if you do not like erotica or mild erotica, do not pick up this title. You should also be at least seventeen-years-old.

Author Sylvia Day begins this novel out in the middle of a HOT Dreamer's dream. In the shadows are some Nightmares that the warrior would soon battle. Just knowing the hero was about to defend the lady from evil hooked me straight away. I never could resist a good battle between Good and Evil. This story goes the extra mile for readers by, not only having hot romance, but a sinister plot by beings which could be considered aliens or demigods. I do not know if I would classify it as Fantasy or Sci-fi, but I do know that this is one of the best stories I've read in a Romance category thus far this year (2007). I cannot recommend this RED book highly enough and warn readers to have plenty of free time before even opening the cover. Sylvia Day obviously knows what readers love! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Sizzling, November 30, 2007
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
While I have several of Ms. Day's novels in my TBR stacks, this was the first one I read. Knowing the Avon Red imprint was highly erotic, I can only say WOW, as I wipe the steam from my glasses! Those readers who are offended by four letter words that begin with "f" or "c" and end in "k" should steer clear, but those who like their stories served up HOT and Sizzling - this one's for you!

Captain Aidan Cross, is an Elite Warrior as well as a Dream Guardian - a being who can insert himself into a human female's dream to become their fantasy lover to fight off the Nightmares. Aidan and his fellow guardians are charged to cross over planes to protect humans from the "Nightmares", and to search for the "Key"; a mortal whom the Elders of their realm prophesied would open a bridge between the two planes and bring destruction to all.

As the most powerful of all guardians, Aidan's latest assignment is to bring solace to Lyssa Bates, a woman who's always suffered nightmares and who has erected a door blocks the Dream Guardians from entering. Lyssa suffers a case of insomnia that is slowly killing her. Aidan manages to coerce her to open the door, and though he has played lover to thousands of women, Lyssa's beauty, innocence, and passion has left him bewildered and slaked with a hunger like never before.

It wasn't long before Aidan realized Lyssa was most unusual. Not only could she block other Dream Guardians of breeching her defenses, but Lyssa could see what Aidan actually looked like. These were all traits said to belong to the "Key", and if that were so, it was decreed she must be destroyed. Aidan knew in his heart that she was an innocent, and would risk everything to cross over to the mortal plane to protect her!

Day's wonderful characterization of Lyssa as the successful sleep-deprived and caring professional veterinarian by day and passionate sensual dreamer at night was superb! Her back-talking sassiness and intelligence came through in the highly titillating dialogs with her dream lover which produced more than a few chuckles from this reviewer. The author kept the heat on high when Alyssa's dream lover, whom she did not recognize at first, arrived at her door - whole, hearty, half dressed and incredibly sexy, where her unbridled lust took control over caution.

In like fashion, Day showed that while Aidan had played lover to thousands of women during their dreams, he'd never felt a connection to protect a mortal so much or had sex ever been so unbelievably tremendous. One session was generally all a Dream Guardian was allowed with any mortal being so that bonds could not be forged, only Aidan knew how special this one woman was as she consumed his thoughts both night and day.

Day weaves in vividly detailed secondary characters that leave you pining to see future books to this series, including Aidan's best friend Connor, and possibly one with a female Dream Guardian. With this first entry, it's fast pace, strong plot and hotly sensual encounters, it is one extremely steamy and highly satisfying erotic tale. Add to that a fantastic new world of good versus evil and you can expect to be hooked from the beginning to the very satisfying end. Day has a talent for leaving the reader salivating for more and her new Dream Guardians are one heady entrée.

Marilyn Rondeau, for [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, but there were too many unanswered questions at the end., June 21, 2008
By 
Jane (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
This is the first in a series. The second book is coming out in 2008. It was pretty good for paranormal, but I prefer other paranormal worlds. This is about humans having dreams. While dreaming, guardians join them in the dreams. The guardians are aliens who live on another plane and fight off nightmares from hurting humans. Aiden is a guardian who falls in love with Lyssa a human and he crosses over to the earth world. She also crosses to the dream world to help him. In typical Sylvia Day fashion, the sex scenes were excellent, but I'm not that crazy about this particular paranormal plot. Also, there were too many unanswered questions at the end. Aiden's answer is "We'll take it one day at a time until we figure it out." I'm wondering if the second book may have some answers.

Sexual language: strong. Number of sex scenes: ten, some were several pages long. Setting: current day Southern California. Copyright: 2007. Genre: fantasy romance.

For a listing of my reviews of other Sylvia Day books, see my 5 star review of "The Stranger I Married" posted on 1/19/07.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasures of the Night, July 24, 2007
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
According to legend, the Nightmares found a Key into their old world and spread, killing everything. The Elders barely had time to create a fissure within abbreviated space that allowed them to escape into a conduit plane between the human dimension and the one the Guardians had been forced to leave behind. Nearly immortal, the Guardians are dedicated to battling the Nightmares, the Healers and Nurturers are dedicated to healing those damaged. All this is done in the realm of dreams...

The Elite Guardians have one primary mission: find the Key and destroy it. Spending their lives fighting Nightmares, each Elite Guardian searches for that one Dreamer that may be the Key that would destroy their world. For many years now Aidan Cross, Captain of the Elite Guard, has doubted the existence of the Key. One night, Aidan is ordered to approach a dreamer that has built a barrier that stops Guardians and Nightmares alike from crossing into her dreams. Being a legend among his people for being the best Guardian that there has ever been, Aidan prepares himself for an assignment like no other he's faced before. Not expecting to be able to complete his assignment successfully, Aidan is surprised when the Dreamer opens the door to him without a fight.

Lyssa Gates has been sick and has had sleep disorders as far back as she can remember, including a particularly frightening stretch of time where she was plagued by nightmares as a child. After constant misdiagnoses and medications of one sort or another to help her sleep, she's had enough. Convinced that she's not going to live for all that much longer, she's decided that she's had enough of being treated as a pincushion and has given up on the doctors' ability to help. Lyssa spends most of her time at her veterinary clinic where she helps small animals and has an affinity with her patients that few other vets are blessed with.

There was yet another pounding on her door, demanding entrance. Lyssa doesn't know who these people are, but all she wants to do is sleep. Tired, she was always so tired. A deep voice with a luscious accent answers her question of who is at the door this time. Again, the answer she receives is...it is whoever she wants it to be. Idiots. If he can't answer with the truth, he can just go the hell away.

Aidan is surprised when the Dreamer behind the door knows that she's in a dream. After she allows him in, she seems to feel that she can trust him even though she doesn't know a thing about him. There's something different about her she makes him feel. For centuries, he's buried his emotions but this one small woman reaches him without trying, makes him want what he's never allowed himself to. Before long he realizes that he needs her, she fills the void in him that he never thought could ever be filled...he needs to get away from her, fast.

Pleasures Of The Night is one of those rare books that completely took over my consciousness. I stepped into this alternate reality and I not only felt completely at home, it had me believing that `this' is possible. Pleasures Of The Night can only be called an absolutely divine read. Filled with humor, action, danger, love and passion that surpassed even my highest hopes...I can do nothing else but joyfully recommend this book. I'm almost seriously thinking about stalking Ms. Day until she releases the next story in this series!! I can't wait to see Connor and Wager again and I want a Guardian of my own!

Lyonene reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written and Very Sexy!, August 17, 2007
By 
Lauren Dane (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
I love Sylvia Day's writing. I love her voice and I think she's a really talented writer (with great talent at drawing sex scenes to die for). Pleasures of the Night is my very favorite Avon Red title so far (which says a lot given the extraordinarily talented authors in their line).

The universe of dreamers, guardians and nightmares Day has created is wonderfully creative and fresh. The interaction between Lyssa and Aidan is, guh, whee! HOT! Lyssa is a marvelously drawn heroine, I loved her. I loved her strength and yay, oh so freaking yay for a heroine who loves sex! She's no shrinking violet and when Aidan needs help, she risks everything to get it to him.

Aidan Cross, sigh. What a hero. Okay, my weakness is admittedly, the dark haired warrior type who's all gruff but adores the heroine. Aidan is that and more. He's also a dirty talker. What? When it's done well, I think it's hotter than fire and Day does it well.

The backstory about the key, the mystery of what it is, who and what the guardians are and what they might be hiding and the conceptual moving between worlds is done really well here and Day has given readers the beginning of a fresh new paranormal world with the potential to have more stories of some of the very delicious warriors she introduced us to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not my style, January 23, 2008
By 
cb (Minot, ND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
I love Sylvia Day style of writing from her erotic historical novels but I just did not like this book. I liked the concept of a group of guardians helping experience dreams in a whole new way and protecting us from our nightmares. The problem was I did not care enough about the characters - it might be for you but it missed with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man of any woman's dreams...., November 8, 2007
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
I didn't expect this book to be a contemporary supernatural thrill ride--I'm use to Victorian sexcapades from this author, but can I say the pages sizzled in this--and you wanted to be Lyssa--and you wanted Aidan to do every single thing Day wrote in those pages to you some night in one of your dreams!

I hope her next addition to this story continues to be as greatly written and as entertaining--as well as stimulating as Aidan and Lyssa's story was!
Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) (Paperback)
Loved it. Loved the series and would recommend it you everyone. Hope you will too. Good read, I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1)
Pleasures of the Night (Dream Guardians, Book 1) by Sylvia Day (Paperback - April 24, 2007)
$14.99 $11.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.