Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 14, 2000
This is one of my all-time-favorite 80's thrash records. This record came out in 1987, right in the middle of what I consider to be heavy metal's finest period (roughly 1985 to 1989). I think what makes the record is Tom Hunting's drums, which is not surprising since all great metal (especially thrash) albums feature a great drummer playing in top form. Rhythmically, Hunting's style is pretty straightforward. It reminds me a lot of the guy from Destruction (who's name escapes me right now). In fact, although Exodus is an American band, they very much have that German thrash sound, a la Destruction and Kreator.
Besides the drumming, "Pleasures of the Flesh" contains plenty of great guitar riffs that propel the music along. Songs like "Brain Dead" almost have a Scott Ian quality and make me want to do the Milano Mosh. "Faster Than You'll Ever Live to Be" is also a favorite. Some reviewers have been down on singer Steve Souza. This is ridiculous. Souza is an awesome singer with a totally unique sound, and he writes excellent lyrics as well. He's one of the few metal lyricists who can write socially conscious lyrics without sounding totally silly (although many of his lyrics have nothing to do with social consciousness).
I would absolutely recommend "Pleasures of the Flesh" to any fan (or potential fan) of 80's thrash/speed metal, especially German-style thrash. It is a favorite of mine that gets plenty of listening time.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
Although Exodus's debut Bonded By Blood is widely considered their high water mark and a quintessential thrash album, there are days when I prefer Pleasures of the Flesh to the 1985 classic. Both are vicious thrash albums and must-owns for any fan of the genre, of course, but Pleasures has always stood out to me as a criminally underappreciated record. There are a few reasons for this.

The most significant of these is the change in lead vocalists from Bonded By Blood to Pleasures of the Flesh. Exit Paul Baloff, enter Steve "Zetro" Souza. A lot of Exodus fans prefer Baloff, and I will be the first to admit that Zetro sounds pretty sickly on some of the band's subsequent material, but he is unbelievably good on Pleasures. His signature snarl suits the darker, more serious lyrical content on Pleasures much better than Baloff's straightforward approach would have.

While on the topic of lyrics, it should be noted that Souza brings a welcome change in this department as well. Bonded By Blood is awesome, but it sure doesn't shy away from the cheese. Not all the cheese is absent from Pleasures, either (the title track is about cannibals, after all), but the hyperbole that practically defines Baloff is greatly reduced with the addition of Souza. Songs like "Seeds of Hate" and "Deranged" are cleverly written, and we are forced to take them seriously.

Musically, the H-team (guitarists Holt and Hunolt for all you non-thrashers) also demonstrates more maturity. The 120 mph riffs aren't gone from Pleasures of the Flesh, but Exodus does not rely on them to carry the album. Instead, we are treated to an abundance of crunchy, galloping riffs infused with melody and purpose ("'Til Death Do Us Part" and "Chemi-Kill" are prime examples of this new approach). The H-team also executes their signature trade-off soloing style on numerous tracks, and Tom Hunting's incredible work on the drums is a real treat.

Though I have already touched on it, I am going to emphasize the fact that Pleasures of the Flesh is home to the best song-writing of the band's early career. "Deranged" features a nasty, demented main riff that bonds fluidly with the mental lyrics; "Seeds of Hate" is brimming with meaty thrash riffs and machine gun picking, and Tom lays down appropriately frantic drumming in support of them. Then there is the title track, a seven-and-a-half minute long epic about cannibals which is followed by "30 Seconds," a beautiful classical guitar melee that actually clocks in at 42 seconds long. In short, Pleasures of the Flesh is, to this day, the most intricate Exodus record, and there isn't a bad track to be found on it.

In many ways, Pleasures of the Flesh is my favorite Exodus record. Musically, lyrically, and vocally it is a very diverse offering and an appropriate follow-up to Bonded By Blood. I should also mentioned that the production is slightly improved over BBB, which is a nice bonus. The only bummer about Pleasures is that Combat Records scrapped the badass original cover (which depicted the band members as cannibals) and replaced it with the picture of Exodus at the bar. Even so, that's not a good excuse not to buy this album. If you call yourself a fan of thrash, Pleasures of the Flesh is mandatory listening.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
Chances are if you aren't a thrash fan, you don't have this album. Let me clarify why Exodus isn't only one of the best thrash bands from the 80s, but let me also inform you why Pleasures of the Flesh is an essential thrash album. In fact, Pleasures of the Flesh is just as essential, if not more (in my view it is) than the 'oh so mighty' Bonded By Blood. I understand that everyone who is anyone in the metal scene worships that album...but Pleasures of the Flesh, is worthy of such praise as well. IF...you can handle annoying production and some corny intros, this album is for you.

"Deranged" okay yes, the intro is a little corny. But! What it lacks in the lyrical department Holt and Hunolt easily compensate with catchy riffs and interesting tempo changes. "Til Death Do Us Part" vocally is one of my favorite vocal performances by Zetro. The chorus is catchy however, the drumming isn't anything too important or captivating. The solo is good but not the best on the album. "Parasite" THRASH! The main riff makes me destroy inanimate objects. Its a straight forward heavy thrash track. Now this solo, one of the best off the album. "Brain Dead" catchy mid paced riff. That's about it. Nothing too spectacular here. (I'm sure you can guess what the song is about) "Faster Than You'll Ever Live To Be" isn't really as fast as one would think...but there is plenty to be happy about here except for Hunting's drumming performance (he's a good drummer, the production just doesn't paint him in a great light) "Pleasures Of The Flesh" The monster of a title track finally arrives. The intro is strange and once again corny, REALLY REALLY CORNY...but, when you hear the opening riff, that really corny intro is thrown in the back of your mind. Lyrically, its about cannibals. So...make of that what you will but I find it interesting. The solos are great and the riff as I said before, really good. "30 Seconds" ticks me off. Its a waste of album space and time. Seriously...it does nothing no buildup to the next track, nothing, its just there simply for filler. Skip it. "Seeds Of Hate" Another classic thrash track. I do think Zetro sounds a little bit like Sean Harris of Diamond Head in a few select parts of the song. The drum work is actually better than before when compared to the first few tracks on the album. "Chemi-Kill" a classic from Exodus discography and personally the song that got me interested in this Bay Area monster. "Choose Your Weapon" nice guitar work at the beginning of the track and then it begins to disappoint simply because of the poor production on the drumming. Basically all one will hear is snare.

Overall, Pleasures of the Flesh isn't the perfect thrash album, but neither was Bonded By Blood. It is an essential piece of thrash history as is BBB. I recommend this album to all fans of thrash. However, if you find BBB the greatest thing since sliced bread than beware you will be disappointed. But, if you are aware that this is a band that should have made it big, a band that was evolving, and a band that was destined for something greater than a legendary debut, than pick this up. In my opinion this is where Holt and Hunolt became the legendary duo they were to become. Just as legendary as Mustaine and Poland, Hammet and Hetfield, or Peterson and Skolnick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2005
Exodus is the most underrated thrash metal band of all time--at least in my opinion. They started out promising and darker than Metallica and Slayer. However, after Fabulous Disaster they got too goofy and weird. Eventually they drifted away into oblivion. Nonetheless, they're back. And although this review is not about their return, it's still good to now that this album was monumental in the uprising of Exodus. This album is a classic, and it is a requisite for all thrash metal fans. Like their previous effort, Bonded By Blood, every song is full of vigor, energy and pure brutality. Rarely is there a band that puts high energy to every song in their album.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
A must have for Exodus fan. This is the first one I had ever listened to by them. Steve Souza's vocals are not everyone's cup of tea, but for their style of Thrash it is awesome. Ive heard him compared to Bobby Blitz of Overkill. I see the similarity, but have just not really ever liked Overkill much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
EXODUS TOOK THING FURTHER HERE THEN ON BOONDED BY BLOOD NOT THAT THEY COULD TOP IT BUT THEY HAD A LABEL CHANGE AND VOCALIST CHANGE AND KICKED IT IN HIGH GEAR TO SHOW YOU EVEN IF IT TOOK THEM LONGER THAN THE BIG FOUR TO RELEASE THE 2ND CD THEY COULD DO MORE THAN HANG WITH THE BIG BOY THEY COULD THRASH YOU TILL DEATH.WITH IMPROVED RYTHEMS AND STILL IMPROVING LEAD WORK THE H-TEAM SLAUGHTERS MOST OTHERS IN THE BREED VERY FEW COULD KEEP UP KING/HANNAMAN WERE ABOUT THE ONLY ONES CRAZIER THEM GARY HOLT AND RICK HUNONT WITH THE GUITAR SOLOS.THE WHOLE ALBUM WAS A FAST & FURIOUS AFFAIR IN BAY AREA THRASH TO THE CORE THEY TOOK IT TO THE HIGHEST LEVELS THAT THEY COULD WITH OUT A MAJOR RECORD DEAL LIKE THE BIG FOUR HAD AND THE GOT MRE TOURS THAN OVERKILL,TESTAMENT,& DARK ANGEL AT THE TIME BUT ALL 8 STARTED OUT IN 83 CLOSE TOGETHER BEING THE THRASH PACK FROM HELL STARTING A GREE OF MUSIC BUT EXODUS BEING NEAR THE LOWEST BAND ON THE TOTENPOL BUT MOST AGREE ONE OF THE BEST SHORT OF SLAYER,AND PLEASURES WAS THE START TO THE CLIME TO MIDDLE GROUND OF AN UPHILL FIGHT FOR THE NEXT 30 YEARS OF SURVIVAL OF THRASH METAL PURE FURY.MUST HAVE CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
PLEASURES OF THE FLESH is one of the coolest THRASH METAL albums EVER!!!!! i mean, unlike the great SLAYER, EXODUS got a more PUNK vibe, with contagious vocals from the great STEVE SOUZA!!!!! I really like Paul Baloff on BONDED BY BLOOD, but Steve's vocals create a kind of THRASH METAL AC DC that i truly enjoy!!!!! The H team of guitars is one of the best ever, and shine on songs like DERANGED, TILL DEATH DO US PART, BRAIN DEAD,
FASTER THAN YOU'LL EVER LIVE TO BE, the title track and CHEMIKILL!!!!!GREAT GREAT THRASH ALBUM!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
I don't have a single bad thing to say about this cd. It is thrash done right. The songs are catchy, the riffs are insane, the tempo is high and energetic, the production is crunchy and heavy. The new vocalist is similar in style, but definitely more "together" and a better fit. Similar to Brian from AC/DC, kinda.

Loved it back when it came out, and still do.

Favorite Tracks: Brain Dead, Deranged, Parasite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2000
When I listened to this album I thought Metallica who? Pleasures of the flesh, along with bonded by blood were and still are among the greatest albums in metal music. The song writing effort by Gary Holt and Exodus is just incredible! this album has it all! The song topics and lyrics on pleasures of the flesh are also innovative.. I recommend this album if you love classically influenced speed metal, I have got to say, bravo! A guitar junkies dream...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2005
How is it that I am the first to review this classic disc. This is Exodus at their best. This was also the first album to feature Steve Souza on lead vocals. Of all the Exodus albums, I have to say that this is my personal favorite.Hot tracks are DERANGED , TILL DEATH DO US PART, CHEMA-KILL, and BRAIN DEAD.If you own other Exodus discs, then do yourself a favor, get the best!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.