Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: PoPsie: American Popular Music Through The Camera Lens of William "PoPsie" Randolph
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
5 star
87%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
13%
1 star
0%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 27, 2011
While searching for the original photographer who took pictures of Johnny Maestro and The Crests in the 1950's, I found a 1957 photo taken by "Popsies of NYC". Yes, he was the original photogher. I was saddened to learn he had passed away but his son, Michael, was very gracious to me. And a few days later, I came across his book "Popsie: American Popular Music Through The Camera Lens of William Popsie Randolph."...on Amazon.

I am so thrilled to see such a spectacular compilation of photos.....from a monumental day gone by, when music was music, singers knew how to sing, groups got together to harmonize and not to fight, Ed Sullivan was the show to watch, street corner acapella was the latest thing, and William Popsie Randolph was Mr. Broadway. He caught it all on film. He had a great eye for detail. He made it happen.

Now this legend lives on in Michael Randolph, in memory of his father William Popsie Randolph.
He is the new "Eye" behind the lens. He keeps the tradition going.

My name is Professor Irene Brodsky, an amazon book reviewer of 75 books since 2008. I teach writing skills part time, and write books full time.

I am proud to review this landmark book and to have the pleasure to correspond with Michael Randolph.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
Its nice to see pictures of all kinds of performers from the 50s and early 60s especially the Jazz ones. On the other hand these are studio shots and quite similar to each other. I bought this book on a whim because it was bargain price but it arrived slightly damaged - or maybe that was because of the price - I am not sure. In any case I have several other books with pictures of Jazz and (mainly) Pop stars that I have picked up second hand over the years and prefer them to the Popsie book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2008
William 'Popsie' Randolph was one of the most prolific photographers in New York City from the 1940s to the early 1970s, documenting the music scene in all genres. While his photos have been reproduced hundreds of times, in "Popsie: Popular Music Through the Camera Lens of William 'Popsie' Randolph" they appear in the first hardcover book retrospective to cover his life and legacy. Full-page black and white and sepia images make "Popsie" a top pick for any music library strong in documentary photos.

Diane C. Donovan
California Bookwatch
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2008
There are not enough stars on the meter to give this compilation its
due. A salute to American music through rare and unique photographs,
taken by an artist himself who seems to have lived and breathed every note. A celebration of the artists who have laid the groundwork for, and provided themselves, the irreplaceable and enriching experience of our nation's music, both listening to and playing. Thanks to Messrs. Randolph for commemorating this history with their work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2008
This book has superlative black and white photos of many music icons from the 1940's through the 1970's. The product review is totally accurate.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2010
What a revelation Popsie Randolph is and what an amazing book. A big facet of the "PoPsie" style and collection was his affinity for odd couples: Chuck Berry jamming with Trini Lopez ("If I had a Hammer"); Perry Como at the piano with Brenda Lee ; Alan Freed trading one-liners with Salvador Dalí; Count Basie backing up Pat Boone, of all people, on a TV special; Dr. Joyce Brothers interviewing the Beatles; Welsh singer Tom Jones hanging out with the Rolling Stones during their first visit to America at the New York Playboy Club; Nat "King" Cole meeting composer W. C. Handy ("St. Louis Blues); Ella Fitzgerald nightclubbing with Billie Holiday. "PoPsie" also captured the times when the music world carried over to other areas like sports and politics. He photographed Jackie Robinson and Buddy Johnson when they collaborated on the single "Did you see Jackie Robinson hit that Ball". Great editorial writing by Cliff Malloy as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2009
If you liked any kind of popular music from the 40's through the 70's; you'd be a fan of William "Popsie" Randolph. Who wouldn't welcome these master photos to his or her or their coffee table. A magnificent collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
Lavish, beautiful black and white photographs of a wide variety of genres of music stars; all caught in great moments by a photographer they clearly liked having around. Superb eye candy mixed with fun music history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.