Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take it antiquing with you!
This is a great little book to take antiquing with you if you collect English silver. Although not exactly pocket size it can still fit in your bag or you can hold on to it without it getting cumbersome. Unlike many of the other silver ID books the hallmarks shown in this book are large and clear enough that you don't need your glasses to decipher them. A nice plus is...
Published on March 24, 2001 by Phillip Pessar

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definately NOT for the Beginner
Unless you are extremely experienced with Silver and Gold items and what / where their origin may be, this book is probably not for you. The chances of being able to find what you are looking for reminds me of looking for a needle in a haystack. The marks are illustrated in VERY SMALL 1/4" black and white diagrams, column after column, put in tables with time period...
Published on August 23, 2003 by Laurie Banza Vanpatter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take it antiquing with you!, March 24, 2001
By 
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
This is a great little book to take antiquing with you if you collect English silver. Although not exactly pocket size it can still fit in your bag or you can hold on to it without it getting cumbersome. Unlike many of the other silver ID books the hallmarks shown in this book are large and clear enough that you don't need your glasses to decipher them. A nice plus is that it reviews selected makers of Georgian through 20th Century silver and offers a little comment on their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definately NOT for the Beginner, August 23, 2003
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
Unless you are extremely experienced with Silver and Gold items and what / where their origin may be, this book is probably not for you. The chances of being able to find what you are looking for reminds me of looking for a needle in a haystack. The marks are illustrated in VERY SMALL 1/4" black and white diagrams, column after column, put in tables with time period or comment in print that is even smaller than the diagram. Several (bordering on too many) of the marks look very much the same and after looking at 170 pgs of extremely small and not necessarily clear diagrams and images, I feel I should of spent my money elsewhere for info on silver ID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The other reference guide to hallmarks, March 22, 2008
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
There are two books on English silver hallmarks available on Amazon, the other being English Silver Hallmarks, and although both are excellent books, in my opinion, this is the lesser of the two. Both books are almost identical in content: both provide illustrations of English, Irish and Scottish silver, gold and platinum hallmarks, and illustrations of the more important makers marks, which allow for the dating of silver, gold and platinum items. However, this book omits Sheffield plate marks, which are included in "English Silver Hallmarks", and it is harder to find what you are looking for in this book.

The periods of time covered by these two books are slightly different. This book gives hallmarks for the period from 1300 to 1991, whereas "English Silver Hallmarks" covers the period from 1554 to 2004. If you are wishing to date very early pieces of silver, then, clearly, this is the book to buy. However, as I have never had any need to date items made prior to 1554, and most of the items that I have dated have been more recent items, I find the period of time covered by "English Silver Hallmarks" to be the most appropriate for my needs.

Although both books are very useful and both are likely to satisfy the requirements of the average silver collector, if you are only going to buy one of these books, then "English Silver Hallmarks" is probably the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too large for a pocket, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
It is bigger than one would expect for a pocket size book. Looks like a valuable aid to have. I would love it if this was produced into a kindle book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful For Traveling, February 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
This book is good for anyone on the go. Can be carried in your pocket and referred to on a moments notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reference book for English hallmarks, good explanations, August 6, 2010
By 
Clydesdale (Saratoga, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
I have both the Judith Banister paperback called "English Silver Hallmarks" and Jackson's Pocket Edition, and I find the Jackson's easier to use and I think the drawings of the date letter marks are clearer in Jackson's. I bought the Banister book because all of the makers' marks are included in one combined list, instead of separate lists for each assay office. I do prefer the combined list in the Banister book, but Banister attempts to alphabetize the list by the maker's LAST name, which surprisingly makes it harder to use, since one mark can include several last name initials, and I don't know which one to look for. Jackson's, on the other hand, lists the marks by the FIRST initial of the mark, so there is no doubt where in the alphabet to look; but the maker you are seeking might not be shown at a particular assay office, and might be listed only in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Reference, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
If you are interested in English silver and want to know what you are looking at this is the reference book to take when you are shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little travelling book., January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
A perfect book for "Field" work..concise, beautifully illustrated and LIGHT! It is currently being used to record the artifacts in Dunkeld Abbey. It was, however, inefficiently packed for transit and was slightly damaged when it thumped through the letterbox and there was no time to return it before Christmas grrrr. Do better Amazon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
This book is amazeing, it has helped me in many ways.I was able to identify one of my great grandmothers rings to 1712.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tough to Understand, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks (Paperback)
There are almost no pictures just hallmarks and they way it is setup does not make identification easy. Picford should take a look at Warmans and fashion an English version of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks
Pocket Edition Jackson's Hallmarks by Ian Pickford (Paperback - January 25, 2007)
$14.50 $10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.