Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now Tikes

  • Pod
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars41
Format: Audio CDChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on October 13, 2002
As most would expect, the first CD by Kim Deal's band The Breeders bears significant resemblance to her previous band the Pixies, but with some key differences. Unlike the Pixies, the Breeders are more subtle, relying on a much more subdued approach that creates an almost tangible tension between melody and noise throughout the entire album. Steve Albini's production only furthers the stiff tension in the Breeder's songs allowing the listener to hear every note in its rough, unaltered, natural state and appreciate the full depth of each individual sound. Showcasing some impressive songwriting talents, Kim Deal proves she was much more than just a bassist and occasional vocalist for the Pixies, drawing upon some interesting personal influences to craft her new band's sound. For example, the violin aided, atonal ballads of "Oh!" and "When I Was a Painter" would fit perfectly on any Raincoats album while "Opened" captures all the wild guitar power and rhythmic fury of early Sonic Youth recordings. Deal even goes so far as to undertake the brave task of covering a Beatles track, casting Lennon's classic in a new chaotic light. In fact, John Lennon would prove a perfect comparison to the Breeders. Lennon's interest in making unmixed and rough music but that still retained a pop melody seems like a perfect parallel to what Kim Deal is striving for with the release of Pod. But regardless of where Kim Deal is coming from with this album, there are some tracks like the gut wrenching "Iris" and sonically sinister "Glorious" that immediately make the listeners jaw drop in awe. With every song a perfect combination of pure pop and sub stooges guitar riffs, Pod accurately shows that music doesn't need to be overproduced and studio enhanced to be catchy but can remain edgy and still get stuck in your head for days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on June 12, 2001
Remember the Pixies? Of course you do, how can you not relish in the memory of that heavily armed bass and guitar rhythm coupled with the howling, ferocious voice of Frank Black. Well, like most all glorious bands that renewed our faith in hard rock'n roll during the late eighties/early nineties, the Pixs split to follow their own musical horizons. And while I can't say I'm happy they no longer play together, the important thing is they still play.
And where are they now? They're all over the place, that's where. Frank Black (aka Black Francis) discovered some mellower and pleasant rock with a new band called the Catholics (their new album, Dog in the Sand, features fellow former Pixie Joey Santiago!). And if you're looking for more of the experimental yet melodious Pixie sound, I recommend you check out Black's solo, Oddballs, or this album called Pod, brought to you by Kim Deal's truly incredible Breeders.
Like Black's Oddballs, most of the tracks are accompanied by a ripping bass sound that keeps you humming the heavily laden chords minutes after the music's over. Many people will tell you The Last Splash, 1993, is the Breeders' best work. But there is just too much well rehearsed rock on Pod to let that fly. Songs like "Opened" and "Metal Man" incorporate such a hard hitting style that's it's almost impossible to forget her work with Black and the others. Plus there's a version of "Happiness is a Warm Gun" that brings true faith to one of John Lennon's innumerable masterpieces. The bass is loud yet comfortable, the guitar keeps your head nodding in musical agreement, and Deal's voice complements the entire package beautifully. Check out the album. I bet you love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on April 17, 2000
Do yourself a favor and put down the Sleater-Kinney c.d's and what not and pick this mutha up. A truly mezmerising c.d that melancholonizes( its not a real word I know) the hell out of you. Flawlessly crafted , and if you know anything about Deal's work, emotionally stirring. Her voice will enter your ears and never leave, as you ask yourself why you never knew that 'pod' existed way back in 1990. Like that year itself, this album feels almost like it never existed, in any case it should evoke odd emotional responses.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on April 6, 2005
The Breeders - Pod (1990)

Undeniably unique. Nothing quite like this album came before, plenty of similar music came after (I thought it was pretty funny when people were singing Veruca Salt's "(can't fight it the) Seether" as "sounds like the Breeders" although I actually like that song anyway). Even today, POD sounds unique. It's still my favorite Breeders album (LP - I would probably like the SAFARI EP even better if it was longer!)

I was so exited when this album first came out. I already loved Kim Deal's singing in the Pixies, so a whole album with her on vocals was sheer bliss. The drums are often slow, always heavy, and the music is occasionally injected with spit-fire, punky adrenalin. Carrie Bradley's violin also adds to the unique sound.

A few notes:

"Glorious" - sounds like a heavenly slow rise "wake n' bake" on Saturday - which is exactly how I used to celebrate it!

"Happiness is a Warm Gun" - stunning Beatles cover, a radical reinterpretation (the bravest and usually the best way to approach a cover). May have influenced Nirvana's "quiet/loud" dynamic (I do know Kurt Cobain was a fan of the album and Nirvana toured with the Breeders).

Kim Deal wrote most of the music on POD but guitarist and ex-Throwing Muse Tanya Donelly helped her write the exquisite "Only in 3's." Tanya's stint as a Breeder was all too brief.

"Metal Man" - this bizarre track featuring a crisply strummed acoustic guitar and a thrashed-out interlude is strangely epic ("One silver drop/ Is all you need/ To put a hole in your head/ At 2,000 degrees . . .").
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2005
kim deal's band put out this wonderful little gem of a record back in 1990 (jeezus, that was 15 years ago at the time of me writing this!)...i bought the tape when it came out since i was a big big fan of the pixies (and still am). and i couldn't wait to get my hands on any other form of music that those members might put out. i followed the breeders brief career but this first album stands out as my favorite. one of the reasons that "Pod" works so well, is that there is a very simple dark element to the songwriting. josephine's basslines are basic and direct, the drumming is politely adequate and the guitars (courtesy of kim and tanya donelly) add the perfect amount of spice. this is certainly a case of the sum equals it's parts. there's not alot of pop singles on this album (as there were plenty of them on the next album "Last Splash") but the unsettling pop genius behind such songs as "Oh!", "Iris", "Doe", and the brilliant cover of "Happiness is a Warm Gun", reflect a wonderful core of a rare and delightful band. the went way more pop for their next effort, which is still great, but this "pod" is the one that keeps opening up new worlds and spinning those old memories for me with every listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 5, 2008
This is a great start for The Breeders. A completley excellent album with killer songs. Kim Deal had some good ideas for the first Breeders album. Glorius starts out the album which is a slow laid back piece then it goes to the rocking Doe. Two killer songs. After that is a great version of the Beatles Happiness Is A Warm Gun. Oh is a little slow but it gets better from there. Hard to pick a favorite song since most of them stand out. Hellbound is a great rocker picking things back up again. When I Was A Painter has a really great beat and great bass line (I love Josephine Wiggs's bass playing on this album). Fortunutly Gone sounds very Beatleesque to me. Iris and Only In 3s are two of the strongest songs on this album. For those of you who liked Last Splash and have never heard this album definetly pick it up. It's just as good if not better then Last Splash. another cool thing about this album is that Tanya Donelly play guitar on this and this is her post Throwing Muses/pre Belly years making this even cooler. A classic undergroun indie album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on October 6, 2000
Very low key but exciting release from the former Pixie Kim Deal and Tanya Donelly (formerly of the Throwing Muses, then of solo career in Belly and then really solo as Tanya Donelly) and Josephine Wiggs. A very promising-and sometimes even cute-debut from this group. Aurally satisfying... in particular a few songs... "Happiness is a Warm Gun", "Hellbound", "Fortunately Gone", which brings back lovely memories of my high school years when a friend of mine had a band called Daft and always covered this song live... where did that friend disappear to? Who knows? But, "Fortunately Gone" is a reminder of those more carefree times. Ah "When I was a Painter" is another standout... "many lovers at one time..." And of course the closing song "Metal Man"... have to love it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 15, 2007
"Rolling in Black tar, baby"...."Pod", first released in 1990; Steve Albini produced; is really fun, full of "Glorious" Pop beauty, that possibly transcends lo-fi minimalism.
It was only a few years ago when this was my # 1 Favorite album that I owned, it still is one of my TOP favorites.
Kim Deal is absolutely one of my Favorite female singers - sweet and sexy.
Just plain beautiful, really lets you free your mind, you know?
Listening to these 12 songs from Opener "Glorious" to track 5: more up-beat "Hellbound" all the way through "Metal Man" - actually got me back into writing -poems and short stories. Every single song on "Pod" sounds more simple, more subdued and playful than her second release in 1993 with her hit "Cannonball" and album- "Last Splash" - & "Pod" is as you may already have guessed far less intense than The Pixies - her other Band w/ Black Francis (Frank Black)
"Happiness Is A Warm Gun" is my Favorite Beatles song ever(I know it's hard to choose for most)-and I was excited to see and hear The Breeders cover(wonderfully done) here.
I have many Favorites on here; every single song is a joy! ...but, for this review I really thought about it..."Iris" and "Glorious" are my TOP 2; followed by probably the happiest w/ catchy hooks- track - "Hellbound" - one of the Most fun songs done by an all-girl group that I have ever heard :)
"Fortunately Gone" and "Limehouse" are more Glorious Fun - just like the opener reads...."Metal Man" may be my least Favorite track, it always has been, it's hard to say why, maybe it's just because it's the Closer, but the other 11 songs strongly make up for it. "Pod" is the best (side project, band's album) outside of the Pixies. Simply Wonderful - seems to get better every time I listen to it.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2008
Took a while to get used to since my first exposure to the Breeders was on Last Splash, but worth it. Excellent cd, and I'd highly recommend it. My favorite tracks are Hellbound and Fortunately Gone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on May 13, 1998
Though I like all their albums, I think this is my favorite of the Breeders'. The songwriting is great, I can listen to Kim Deal's voice all day, and the Steve Albini production is good. And this album's got a certain weird je ne sais quoi that is less apparent in their music as they got more polished. Plus, can't beat the cool v23 album artwork (the pod-like thing on the cover is really Vaughn Oliver, the designer, doing a male fertility dance, naked, with bleeding eels strapped to his waist. I am not making this up).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Last Splash
Last Splash by The Breeders (Audio CD - 1993)

Mountain Battles
Mountain Battles by The Breeders (Audio CD - 2008)

DOOLITTLE [Vinyl] by Pixies (Vinyl - 2004)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.