Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dylan thomas is one of my favorite poet, April 20, 2001
Years ago i read "do not go gentle into that good night" and i was introduced to dylan thomas. i quickly went out and bought his collected poems, and was totally enraptured by the poet. he has stayed on the top of my favorites, even as i read more and more poetry. this collection is not a complete works. it contains what Daniel Jones (a friend of DT's) selected out of thomas' works. the collected poems and about 100 other poems, one additional incomplete poem, and 26 poems from DT's juvenalia. it's a good collection, but you can see why dylan thomas did not include these extra poems in his collected poems. they aren't as great as what he can produce. if you love dylan thomas, like i do, then this is a great book to buy, otherwise, you can just stick with the collected poems (those poems were selected by DT himself, as the work he wanted to "save").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will you like Dylan Thomas?, December 9, 2003
By 
"brianmclean" (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
Certainly, if you like poetry at all. Open the book at random and start listening to the sound as you read. OK---in my case, it's fallen open at this:
Shall gods be said to thump the clouds
When clouds are cursed by thunder,
Be said to weep when weather howls?
Shall rainbows be their tunics' colour?
So on one level, this is poetry for mouthing and savouring and enjoying like music. Technically, it's tight as a drum. See how the vowels are juxtaposed and notice the assonance and shape-rhymes at the end of the lines. Then comes the meaning. Dylan Thomas is not the simplest poet to understand, but he always has a strong, strident, moving argument to make that you can't forget, even if you don't agree. This edition includes recordings of the poet reading some of the verses in his strangely old-fashioned, but unforgettable voice. I first met Dylan Thomas's poems when I was 14, at a stormy, angry, poetry-writing age. That's a good moment to encounter a great poet and find out what else can be said and considered and felt. If it's Dylan Thomas, there's a strong chance he'll stay with you for the rest of your life. This is a book to leave around casually for others to find, especially if they're at a stormy, angry, poetry-writing age. If only more of us were, more of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Anthology Of His Poetry, March 5, 2007
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
If you truly are a lover of great poetry than this book should be very satisfying. Over the years there have been several volumes that have tried to attempt to collect some of the best poems by Dylan Thomas but none has come close to how complete and accurate this book is. THE POEMS OF DYLAN THOMAS, collects practically every poem that he ever wrote during his lifetime. All of his greatest and best loved poems are here and an added bonus is the CD in the back flap of the book(a special treat by all means) which has the acclaimed poet reciting eight short poems which are also included in the book. Dylan Thomas only lived to the age of 39, but in his brief run here on planet earth he wrote some of the finest, romantic and beautiful poems of his generation. Poetry scholars and literary historians have called him the greatest poet of the 20th century and although there have been many great poets (too many to mention) he stands as one of the most well known and best loved poetic geniuses of all times. Great book of poems that I highly recommend for anyone that has ever been moved and stimulated by the beauty and euphoria that poetry like the ones contained in this beautiful book can bring to a person's soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete edition of the heartfelt works, October 18, 2003
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
Edited and with an Introduction and Notes by Daniel Jones, The Poems Of Dylan Thomas is the most complete edition of the heartfelt works of this noted and influential twentieth-century poet. 192 poems, incorporating some textual corrections, a brief chronology of Thomas' life (1914-1953), a new preface, and the inclusion of Dylan Thomas' "Notes on the Art of Poetry" comprise this literate, majestic, and absorbing 352-page collection. Request To Leda (Homage to William Empson): Not your winged lust but his must now change suit/The harp-waked Casanova rakes no range./The worm is (pin-point) rational in the fruit. // Not girl for bird (gourd being man) breaks root./Taking no plume for index in love's change/Not your winged lust but his must now change suit. // Desire is phosphorus: the chemic bruit/Lust bears like volts, who'll amplify, and strange/The worm is (pin-point) not rational in the fruit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most powerful of all the modern poets, August 27, 2006
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
As a reader of his own poems Dylan Thomas has no equal. The immense power, the great musicality , the depth of feeling are simply above those of other writers I know. Compare the tepid TS Eliot slowly measuring out his syllables, to the booming flow of Thomas' poetry.

But the voice on the C.D. is one thing, and the poems as we read them another.

The poems are often to me too unclear and mysterious. Yet they at their best have a richness, a power in feeling, a strength uniquely their own.

In his greatest poems there are great memorable lines' Do not go gentle into that good night, Rage, rage against the dying of the light " Or at the end of another great poem about dying , "After the first death there is no other"

As I feel his verse Thomas belongs with Wallace Stevens and Gerald Manley Hopkins and Yeats and Keats and Shakespeare as great makers and masters of their own special music.

What a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Welsh Poet!, June 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
Some of Dylan thomas's greatest work.

I spend many hours just browsing through and marvelling at his command of the English Language. Recommended for all lovers of poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Came promptly, and in good condition., May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
It's exactly what I ordered and came in good time, so what's not to like? Possibly the word limit requirement on these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful:), May 14, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
I grew up with these poems! They are fabulous. My mother was one of the Seven Sister "groupies" who followed Thomas around the Eastern Seaboard on his American tour and read these to us throughout childood. The poems are marvelous and the readings by Thomas are incredibly evocative. Wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice edition., April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
I bought the book of poems of Dylan Thomas for my son for Christmas. He enjoyed reading it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Edition!, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] (Hardcover)
Of course a (nearly) collected edition of the 20th century's most significant Welsh literary export deserves a volume that is presented with great care in terms of typography, and more importantly, the poems themselves. The CD is an added bonus. A volume which is a tribute to the poet and his magnificent and often inscrutable body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD]
The Poems of Dylan Thomas, New Revised Edition [with CD] by Dylan Thomas (Hardcover - April 2003)
$34.95 $25.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.