Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Poetry of Witness: The Tradition in English, 1500 - 2001
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
5 star
92%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
8%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$22.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 28, 2014
Carolyn Forche has compiled a collection of poems which, in their devastating honesty, offer hope for the human race. Perhaps by acknowledging our own capacity for evil, we can move beyond it in the future. An essential book for all who care!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
IT IUS A REMARKABLE COLLECTION OF IMPORTANT LITERATURE. MRS FORCHE HAS GIVEN THE WORLD A BOOK TO READ AND RE-READ, AND TO CONSIDER HOW MANKIND TORTURES ITSELF.

RIVA DUNAIEF
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
Wonderful compilation with concise biographies of the poets and the conditions which gave rise to the poems. Kudos to Forchet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Good collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2014
Problem fixed. Looking forward to reading. Expecting great things, based on the reading I heard by the authors last night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
Forché is superb in all that she undertakes as a poet and scholar. We are very fortunate to have this second edited volume of verse, one which offers the reader the Poetry of Witness from those poets writing in English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
I was privileged to hear a joint reading by the editors yesterday at a humanities conference in Baltimore.
I was stunned by the impact of their presentation.
Each selected poem was preceded by a brief biography of the poet which accounted for his inclusion as a witness.
One of us asked if it was sometimes necessary to separate themselves from their work for a time because of its power and horror.
Professor Wu responded: "It would have been unprofessional to cry while we were working."
This remarkable and wonderful answer echoed the poems themselves in which there was no mention of tears nor any hint of escape from the inevitable.
The readers held themselves under tight control while reading ... it became clear that the powerfully evocative quality of the poems made witnesses of all of us.
I commend this timeless testament to man's capability for inhumanity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
fine product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
Forche has done us another great service. Great selections with amazing accompanying insights. An honor to have it on the shelf next to her earlier "Against Forgetting." Powerful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
Not just art for art's sake, which would be important enough; this compilation of the world's most riveting, important poets is art for humanity's sake. In the realm of the work of Szymborska, Milosz, Herbert, and voices emerging from the ravages of war, this couldn't be a more timely and necessary work. How long are we going to bear witness to the atrocities that our brethren engage in, time and again? Our own loved ones, and our most cherished writers, are united in this eternal question. Against Forgetting, and now Poetry of Witness, should be required reading not only for university curriculums in literature, but also in history. This book is quite possibly the most important anthology of our generation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.