Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 17, 2006
Generally panned by critics upon its release, Point Break has gone on to enjoy something of a minor cult following among action film fans who enjoy its breathlessly choreographed action sequences involving daring bank heists, car chases, skydiving and, of course, surfing - one of the film's most important selling points. The film came along after Patrick Swayze's phenomenal success with Ghost and he went completely in the opposite direction with this film. Point Break also proved to be a warm-up for Keanu Reeves who would become a full-fledged action hero with Speed a few years later.

Point Break trots out and downright revels in stereotypes: Utah is the all-American good guy, Pappas is the burn out cop and they are constantly being chewed out by their jerk-off boss (McGinley) for their screwball antics. Surprisingly, it's Swayze's Zen master/surfer/bank robber that doesn't fall into an easy stereotype and comes across as the most interesting, charismatic character in the entire movie. And you have to give the credit to Swayze and his oddly fascinating performance. There is a nice scene where he tells Utah his philosophy of surfing, "It's a state of mind. It's that place where you lose yourself and find yourself." We find ourselves rooting not for Reeves' bland FBI agent but Swayze's thrillseeking surfer.

Point Break is the epitome of a guilty pleasure: to dumb to defend rationally but with action sequences too cool to dismiss totally. It's a big, loud comic book of a movie and it knows it and has the conviction to go for it. But is it worth purchasing on DVD if you already own a copy?

First up are eight deleted scenes that include more footage of Utah trying to surf. We also see him get more grief from his boss for his undercover work. There are other little bits of excised footage that doesn't really amount to all that much.

"It's Make or Break" is a retrospective featurette. Busey, Petty and Swayze all contribute new interviews for this DVD and talk about their experiences making the movie.

"Ride the Wave" examines the spirituality of surfing. The ocean is a double-edged sword - at once very beautiful but also very dangerous. This extra also takes a brief look at the surfer culture.

"Adrenaline Junkies" examines the exciting stunts staged in the movie. Like his character, Swayze was into skydiving but the studio did not want him to do it. However, if you look at the first skydiving sequence, he really jumped out of the plane!

"On Location: Malibu" is a more light-hearted extra as two of the Ex-Presidents (who were actual surfers) John Philbin and Bojesse Christopher take us on a mini-tour of key locations in Malibu used in the movie. They crack jokes and reminisce about key scenes.

Also included are three trailers and a behind-the-scenes stills gallery.
1010 comments|132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2010
Having recently purchased a HD TV, i knew it was only a matter of time before i bought a Blu-Ray player as well. Sure enough, a week after buying the TV, i splashed out the cash for a Blu-Ray machine. That was the easy part.

Looking at the newly released Blu-Ray titles, and the significant price difference between a regular DVD and the movie on Blu-Ray, i began to look through titles i already owned on DVD and what i thought would deserve an upgrade in picture quality and sound. Without much hesitation, Point Break sprung to mind.

I'm not going to review the actual movie. That's already been covered many times over. But assuming you've already seen the movie, this is more about what to expect from the HD version, as opposed to the regular DVD copy.

Well, the film looks FANTASTIC. You have to bear in mind that the film came out in 1991. Granted, that's not that long ago. But in terms of how technology has evolved over the past 20 years, it's a long time. For the surfing scenes, the waves are so much clearer, and the sound really does make you believe you're in the surf too. For the skydiving scenes, the aerial footage is amazingly sharp. When i first saw the movie in theatres, i was blown away by the water and air shots. Buying it on VHS, then DVD, and now Blu-Ray, i can honestly say the movie just keeps on getting more and more enjoyable. I've been a fan of Mark Isham (music composer for this film, and many others) and his score is brought vividly to life on this HD format.

Extras wise, it's the same as the DVD re-release a few years back (Adrenaline edition). A few deleted scenes, 4 new featurettes featuring interviews with the late Swayze and 2 of the surfing gang, plus John C McGinley and an entertaining Gary Busey).

I highly recommend you upgrading to Blu-Ray. You'll be glad you did.
22 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2006
Review

A gang of Southern California surfers tear up the waves, while enjoying the sun, sand and the sea. But in their spare time they also double up as Bank robbers and commit their crimes masked as American presidents. The gang led by Bodhi (Patrick Swayze)have been making some serious hits.

Finally the law in the form of FBI agent Johnny Utah (Keanu Reeves) and his partner, Pappas (Gary Busey)suspect the sand lovers and decide to infiltrate them by going undercover.

Throw in skydiving, some pretty boy male bonding action and a little bit of love into this cocktail, this turns out to be a pretty decent film. The acting is saved with good pacing and a commendable script; which is not as predictable as 1 might think.

It's worth a watch, definetly!!!

The Dvd

The film itself will be presented in 2.35:1 anamorphic widescreen, along with both English Dolby Digital 5.1 and 4.0 Dolby Surround tracks.

Extras will include deleted scenes (Holistic Fitness With Agent Pappas, Agent Johnny Utah Thinks He Can Surf, Tyler Saves Johny From The Waves, Penetration Of The Social Infrastructure, Tyler & Johnny Spend Time Alone In The Water, A Basic Hit & Run, Tyler Accuses Johnny Of Using Her, and Johnny & Bodhi Talk About Robbing Banks), an It's Make or Break featurette, a Ride the Wave featurette, an Adrenaline Junkies featurette, an On Location: Malibu featurette, a still gallery, and three theatrical trailers

++ Though the inital dvd loses the DTS track.. the DTS track was horrendous in the 1st place...So for me personally, i'd rather not have it....
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2000
First I have to say, that as a surfer, I am biased. However I LOVED this movie. It is definitely in my top 10 action films of all time. Keanu is, well, Keanu, no better, no worse. Busey is probably better than average here, Swayze doesn't fit the role, but does a decent job with it nonetheless. Lori Petty was beautiful, sexy, and believable as Tyler, and the everpresent B-movie staple, John C. McGinley was great as Harp. Chili Pepper Anthony Kiedis makes a cameo, too.
The action sequences were superb, especially the breathtaking skydiving scenes. This movie also has arguably the best two man chase scene in movie history. The plot is fairly original and engaging, and Keanu has a few good one-liners that elicit a chuckle every time. My only real complaint is that this movie is not available on DVD in the US.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 1991 film stars Keanu Reeves as Johnny Utah, an FBI agent trying to solve a series of bank robberies in the Los Angeles area. His partner has a theory that these robberies were committed by surfers. And so our hero goes undercover in the surfing world.
First, of course, he has to learn how to surf. And there just happens to be an attractive female surfer, played by Lori Petty, to teach him. Naturally a romance develops but what is surprising is the remarkably short time it takes him to learn to surf. There's conflict with the other surfers too, but as he was once a football hero, he plays football on the beach with them and wins the respect of Bodhi, played by Patrick Swayzee. Bodhi's into the spiritual side of surfing. And he's also into free fall sky diving, night surfing and the ultimate thrills riding the waves. The two men learn to respect each other. It's too bad that Bodhi is also a bank robber. And that he just happens to be Lori Petty's ex-boyfriend.
What follows is an action packed ride including chases on foot and with cars. There's several false leads and a bit of violence. The story follows a formula, which is to be expected, but yet it is done very well. The best part of the film though is the surfing. It was able to make me feel the thrill of it all while I was sitting comfortably in front of my TV. I'm sure they used a lot of stunt doubles and special effects. But I didn't care. I just let myself be swept into the excitement of it all.
Recommended -- especially for action film buffs.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 1999
If you like action movies, this one will send chills up your spine. Point Break is a two hour thrill-ride with action sequences that make you tingle all over. When the movie is over, you will want to throw caution to the wind and LIVE. Some breath-taking shots give you goosebunps as you watch with wide eyes glued to the screen. It wasn't the actors or the acting that won me over, it was purely the action, and there's plenty of it. I have seen many action movies, but I would rank this one as one of the best ever. It will be added to my DVD collection immediately upon it's release. Hopefully that will be VERY SOON!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 12, 2010
The greatest movie ever made! Seriously, yes. No, I'm kidding. But, no, seriously. If you disagree all I can say is "Back off Warchild, seriously." Point Break was the the Starship Troopers of its era - which is another contender for best movie ever made - and brought together a disparate collection of unique treasures never to be assembled again, including:
- A performance by Keanu Reeves so memorable that he was subsequently cast as Don John in Brannagh's Much Ado About Nothing.
- The appearance of 'Craziest Person in the World' Gary Busey, who was voluntarily cast by Kathryn Bigelow whereas normally there's an agency clause or losing poker hand responsible for his appearance.
- John C McGinley playing John C McGinley, practicing for his role in Scrubs as John C McGinley.
- A range of such deliriously rich dialog that you can go through your entire life using only quotes from the movie and still manage to survive on the food Gary Busy orders.

The plot is possibly the most implausible in the history of an industry famed for implausible plots. I've even seen Catwoman and nothing comes close to the concept of this: "Surfers rob banks to pay for surfing." Hmmm, why? We don't know. How do we they're good? Because - and remember this if you ever decide to take more than the free candy at Wells Fargo - they don't go for the vault and they don't kill anybody. For some reason the FBI gets involved, and if you've ever been tempted by a career in law enforcement let me tell you the FBI pays for surfing lessons while you shack up with Lori Petti.

Anyway, Keanu - a name that I've never come across in real life, though I've met plenty of Summers and Rainbows - infiltrates the surfer dude gang by acting like a surfer dude. Well, not really acting but you get it. There's a point that comes dangerously close to science where they figure out the chemical composition of something left behind at a scene and determine that it's used on surfboards and ergo that the robbers must be a gang of surfers. I used this logic to conclude that the previous owner of my car worked in McDonald's when I found a 2-year old French fry under the spare tire. Keanu eventually gets caught in his duplicity by leaving his wallet around and instead of hiding his badge somewhere behind his Safeway and Costco cards, it's sat there with big three letters "F-B-I".

There's some inspiring political stuff about "fighting the system" and showing people "inching their way down the freeway in their metal coffins", and that it's all about the ride. The whole thing is like Venice Beach with a brain, but thankfully doesn't last very long before we're back to jumping out of airplanes. Swayze is excellent as always and I'm sure his spirit looks down on the nightly Point Break LIVE! in LA, where audience members are cast as Johnny Utah. I wish I had a state as a last name, as long as that state wasn't New Hampshire.

The finale will have you clenched on the sofa, with your brain rocking back and forth in your skull trying to make it stop: Bells Beach (Australia) - where Swayze is going for a suicidal surf into the biggest wave in history. The Australian police have terrible accents but maybe that's just Bells Beach where they happen to sound like American actors who don't know the difference between English and Australian accents, 'mate'. Keep a box of tissues handy since Bodhi's not "paddling to New Zealand" (at least not from Malibu).

In conclusion, "22 years. Man, L.A. has changed a lot during that time. The air got dirty and the sex got clean." So true, Gary Busey. So true.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 10, 2008
Well if that means producing one of the great action flicks of all time starring Keanu Reaves, Gary Busey, and Patrick Swayze then yes, ironic and sick.

This is one of those impossible to rationalize, but impossible to look away movies. (Suspend all belief here.) Swayze as Bodhi, is the mastermind of the Ex-Presidents, a bank robbing, curl shooting, skydiving crew of funsters devoted to getting their Zen on and chillin between heists while contemplating the ultimate wave because as Patrick says "surfing is the source man." Reaves plays an ex-jock rookie Johnny Utah FBI dude that is paired with the dinosauric out of shape Pappas played frenetically by one the all time goofballs Gary Busey.

Almost instantaneously, Utah develops a theory that the ex-Presidents are surfers, so he springs into action, buys a surfboard, meets a chick who tries to teach him to surf, gets his butt kicked by the singer from the Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Cyborg "War Child", gets rescued by Bodhi, is invited to join the crew then is swept into a modern day Beach Blanket Bingo with machine guns. Along the way, Bodhi undergoes this sort of existential man love for Utah, then all hell breaks loose. If you haven't seen it yet I wont ruin the ending for you but its a pulse pounder.

This edition features much improved 5.1 audio over the original release, but honestly I cant tell any difference in the picture at 720p, but the extras are interesting for fans which include a number of throw away deleted scenes, interviews with our 3 stars, and some more snippets about surfing, spirituality, and an insiders tour of surfing Malibu plus 3 trailers. Strap it on. 4 Masks
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2005
Growing up in the streets of Detroit, Michigan, I can totally relate to this action packed movie that deals with surfing and robbing banks. I have been surfing the waves of Lake Superior, Lake St. Clair, and The Detroit River my whole life and am yet to see as realistic of surfing scenes as those portrayed in the film Point Break. This may be the best cast ever assembled on the movie screen featuring Patrick Swayze (Bodhizapta) and my personal favorite/hero Keanu Reeves (Special Agent Johnny Utah). This is Reeves at his best, blowing away his performance in the Matrix and Sweet November. The story takes place on the beaches of Southern California where a group of surfers have been ripping off banks dressed as the "Ex-Presidents" in order to fund their "Endless Summer." Special Agent John Utah, freshly out of the Academy, hooks up with Special Agent Angelo Pappas (Gary Busey) to identify the ex-presidents and end the serial bank robberies taking place before the criminals take refuge out of the country searching for the ultimate ride. So you may ask, "what's the biggest?" The answer is simple, "Bell's Beach Australia." You see there is a fifty years storm that starts swelling up in the artic regions and makes its way to Bell's Beach, Australia. Just remember one thing "If you want the ultimate, you have to be willing to pay the ultimate price. It is not tragic to die doing something you love." Surf's up dudes.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2000
Let's see here. We have Patrick Swayze as the Zen-Buddhist, bank robbing, surfer guru Bodhi. We have Keanu Reeves as Johnny "I AM A FBI AGENT!" Utah. We have Gary "I was once nominated for a Best Actor Oscar" Busey as Utah's over-the-hill partner. We have an absurd plot about surfers, bank robberies, and FBI agents. It looks like we have all the ingredients for a bad movie: bad actors, hammy acting, and a really stupid plot.
Yet "Point Break" is a very entertaining film. It is fast paced and fun. It's the kind of movie that you just slip your brain into neutral and sit back and enjoy. Of course, it's a hoot to watch Keanu as Johnny Utah. (Gotta love that name!) Keanu is at his wooden best here and he delivers some real knee-slappers.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse