Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Punk, Quarterback punk..."
Generally panned by critics upon its release, Point Break has gone on to enjoy something of a minor cult following among action film fans who enjoy its breathlessly choreographed action sequences involving daring bank heists, car chases, skydiving and, of course, surfing - one of the film's most important selling points. The film came along after Patrick Swayze's...
Published on October 17, 2006 by Cubist

versus
37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cropped, vhs-scan ...
I'm a Point Break fan. It's one of the best "bad" movies out there, so I was pumped when it finally came out on DVD. Unfortunately, it is a total ..... Everyone loves to watch their favorite movies in letterbox, because it gives you the opportunity to view the full movie as opposed to the scan made to fit the VHS format. In the case of Point Break however the...
Published on May 30, 2001 by William Furlow


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Punk, Quarterback punk...", October 17, 2006
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
Generally panned by critics upon its release, Point Break has gone on to enjoy something of a minor cult following among action film fans who enjoy its breathlessly choreographed action sequences involving daring bank heists, car chases, skydiving and, of course, surfing - one of the film's most important selling points. The film came along after Patrick Swayze's phenomenal success with Ghost and he went completely in the opposite direction with this film. Point Break also proved to be a warm-up for Keanu Reeves who would become a full-fledged action hero with Speed a few years later.

Point Break trots out and downright revels in stereotypes: Utah is the all-American good guy, Pappas is the burn out cop and they are constantly being chewed out by their jerk-off boss (McGinley) for their screwball antics. Surprisingly, it's Swayze's Zen master/surfer/bank robber that doesn't fall into an easy stereotype and comes across as the most interesting, charismatic character in the entire movie. And you have to give the credit to Swayze and his oddly fascinating performance. There is a nice scene where he tells Utah his philosophy of surfing, "It's a state of mind. It's that place where you lose yourself and find yourself." We find ourselves rooting not for Reeves' bland FBI agent but Swayze's thrillseeking surfer.

Point Break is the epitome of a guilty pleasure: to dumb to defend rationally but with action sequences too cool to dismiss totally. It's a big, loud comic book of a movie and it knows it and has the conviction to go for it. But is it worth purchasing on DVD if you already own a copy?

First up are eight deleted scenes that include more footage of Utah trying to surf. We also see him get more grief from his boss for his undercover work. There are other little bits of excised footage that doesn't really amount to all that much.

"It's Make or Break" is a retrospective featurette. Busey, Petty and Swayze all contribute new interviews for this DVD and talk about their experiences making the movie.

"Ride the Wave" examines the spirituality of surfing. The ocean is a double-edged sword - at once very beautiful but also very dangerous. This extra also takes a brief look at the surfer culture.

"Adrenaline Junkies" examines the exciting stunts staged in the movie. Like his character, Swayze was into skydiving but the studio did not want him to do it. However, if you look at the first skydiving sequence, he really jumped out of the plane!

"On Location: Malibu" is a more light-hearted extra as two of the Ex-Presidents (who were actual surfers) John Philbin and Bojesse Christopher take us on a mini-tour of key locations in Malibu used in the movie. They crack jokes and reminisce about key scenes.

Also included are three trailers and a behind-the-scenes stills gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any POINT buying the Blu-Ray version? BREAK the bank!, March 8, 2010
Having recently purchased a HD TV, i knew it was only a matter of time before i bought a Blu-Ray player as well. Sure enough, a week after buying the TV, i splashed out the cash for a Blu-Ray machine. That was the easy part.

Looking at the newly released Blu-Ray titles, and the significant price difference between a regular DVD and the movie on Blu-Ray, i began to look through titles i already owned on DVD and what i thought would deserve an upgrade in picture quality and sound. Without much hesitation, Point Break sprung to mind.

I'm not going to review the actual movie. That's already been covered many times over. But assuming you've already seen the movie, this is more about what to expect from the HD version, as opposed to the regular DVD copy.

Well, the film looks FANTASTIC. You have to bear in mind that the film came out in 1991. Granted, that's not that long ago. But in terms of how technology has evolved over the past 20 years, it's a long time. For the surfing scenes, the waves are so much clearer, and the sound really does make you believe you're in the surf too. For the skydiving scenes, the aerial footage is amazingly sharp. When i first saw the movie in theatres, i was blown away by the water and air shots. Buying it on VHS, then DVD, and now Blu-Ray, i can honestly say the movie just keeps on getting more and more enjoyable. I've been a fan of Mark Isham (music composer for this film, and many others) and his score is brought vividly to life on this HD format.

Extras wise, it's the same as the DVD re-release a few years back (Adrenaline edition). A few deleted scenes, 4 new featurettes featuring interviews with the late Swayze and 2 of the surfing gang, plus John C McGinley and an entertaining Gary Busey).

I highly recommend you upgrading to Blu-Ray. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gulity pleasure !!!, July 28, 2006
Review

A gang of Southern California surfers tear up the waves, while enjoying the sun, sand and the sea. But in their spare time they also double up as Bank robbers and commit their crimes masked as American presidents. The gang led by Bodhi (Patrick Swayze)have been making some serious hits.

Finally the law in the form of FBI agent Johnny Utah (Keanu Reeves) and his partner, Pappas (Gary Busey)suspect the sand lovers and decide to infiltrate them by going undercover.

Throw in skydiving, some pretty boy male bonding action and a little bit of love into this cocktail, this turns out to be a pretty decent film. The acting is saved with good pacing and a commendable script; which is not as predictable as 1 might think.

It's worth a watch, definetly!!!

The Dvd

The film itself will be presented in 2.35:1 anamorphic widescreen, along with both English Dolby Digital 5.1 and 4.0 Dolby Surround tracks.

Extras will include deleted scenes (Holistic Fitness With Agent Pappas, Agent Johnny Utah Thinks He Can Surf, Tyler Saves Johny From The Waves, Penetration Of The Social Infrastructure, Tyler & Johnny Spend Time Alone In The Water, A Basic Hit & Run, Tyler Accuses Johnny Of Using Her, and Johnny & Bodhi Talk About Robbing Banks), an It's Make or Break featurette, a Ride the Wave featurette, an Adrenaline Junkies featurette, an On Location: Malibu featurette, a still gallery, and three theatrical trailers

++ Though the inital dvd loses the DTS track.. the DTS track was horrendous in the 1st place...So for me personally, i'd rather not have it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Entertaining!, February 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Break [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Let's see here. We have Patrick Swayze as the Zen-Buddhist, bank robbing, surfer guru Bodhi. We have Keanu Reeves as Johnny "I AM A FBI AGENT!" Utah. We have Gary "I was once nominated for a Best Actor Oscar" Busey as Utah's over-the-hill partner. We have an absurd plot about surfers, bank robberies, and FBI agents. It looks like we have all the ingredients for a bad movie: bad actors, hammy acting, and a really stupid plot.
Yet "Point Break" is a very entertaining film. It is fast paced and fun. It's the kind of movie that you just slip your brain into neutral and sit back and enjoy. Of course, it's a hoot to watch Keanu as Johnny Utah. (Gotta love that name!) Keanu is at his wooden best here and he delivers some real knee-slappers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cropped, vhs-scan ..., May 30, 2001
By 
William Furlow (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Point Break (DVD)
I'm a Point Break fan. It's one of the best "bad" movies out there, so I was pumped when it finally came out on DVD. Unfortunately, it is a total ..... Everyone loves to watch their favorite movies in letterbox, because it gives you the opportunity to view the full movie as opposed to the scan made to fit the VHS format. In the case of Point Break however the letterbox format was achieved by cropping the top and bottom off of the vhs scan. So, not only do you not get the full feature film, you don't even get the VHS view of the film. It's claustrophobic. There are scenes in this DVD that don't even makes sense, parts of people's faces are cut off. DO NOT BUY THIS [junk]!!! The picture is sharp, but it's like watching the movie through a keyhole!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100% Pure Adrenaline, July 17, 2000
By 
This review is from: Point Break [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First I have to say, that as a surfer, I am biased. However I LOVED this movie. It is definitely in my top 10 action films of all time. Keanu is, well, Keanu, no better, no worse. Busey is probably better than average here, Swayze doesn't fit the role, but does a decent job with it nonetheless. Lori Petty was beautiful, sexy, and believable as Tyler, and the everpresent B-movie staple, John C. McGinley was great as Harp. Chili Pepper Anthony Kiedis makes a cameo, too.
The action sequences were superb, especially the breathtaking skydiving scenes. This movie also has arguably the best two man chase scene in movie history. The plot is fairly original and engaging, and Keanu has a few good one-liners that elicit a chuckle every time. My only real complaint is that this movie is not available on DVD in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Action. A DVD Must-Have., October 10, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Break [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you like action movies, this one will send chills up your spine. Point Break is a two hour thrill-ride with action sequences that make you tingle all over. When the movie is over, you will want to throw caution to the wind and LIVE. Some breath-taking shots give you goosebunps as you watch with wide eyes glued to the screen. It wasn't the actors or the acting that won me over, it was purely the action, and there's plenty of it. I have seen many action movies, but I would rank this one as one of the best ever. It will be added to my DVD collection immediately upon it's release. Hopefully that will be VERY SOON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray is decent, February 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm reviewing the Blu-Ray, not the movie.

It's a decent transfer. Looks about as good as you would expect from an early 90s film. Maybe a little better. Sounds good too. Recommended if you like this movie.

One thing to note is that this is 2.35:1 widescreen, which is what was shown in theaters. However, since it was shot on non-anamorphic Super 35, it's vertically cropped from the 4:3 TV/VHS version, so although you are seeing what you would have seen in theaters (and I'm guessing what was on the DVD release), and you are seeing a little bit more on the sides, you might notice that the frame is cropped from your VHS copy. But that's not a big deal, and is typical for films shot on Super 35.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was swept into the excitement of the world of surfing., November 6, 2003
This review is from: Point Break (DVD)
This 1991 film stars Keanu Reeves as Johnny Utah, an FBI agent trying to solve a series of bank robberies in the Los Angeles area. His partner has a theory that these robberies were committed by surfers. And so our hero goes undercover in the surfing world.
First, of course, he has to learn how to surf. And there just happens to be an attractive female surfer, played by Lori Petty, to teach him. Naturally a romance develops but what is surprising is the remarkably short time it takes him to learn to surf. There's conflict with the other surfers too, but as he was once a football hero, he plays football on the beach with them and wins the respect of Bodhi, played by Patrick Swayzee. Bodhi's into the spiritual side of surfing. And he's also into free fall sky diving, night surfing and the ultimate thrills riding the waves. The two men learn to respect each other. It's too bad that Bodhi is also a bank robber. And that he just happens to be Lori Petty's ex-boyfriend.
What follows is an action packed ride including chases on foot and with cars. There's several false leads and a bit of violence. The story follows a formula, which is to be expected, but yet it is done very well. The best part of the film though is the surfing. It was able to make me feel the thrill of it all while I was sitting comfortably in front of my TV. I'm sure they used a lot of stunt doubles and special effects. But I didn't care. I just let myself be swept into the excitement of it all.
Recommended -- especially for action film buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Life sure has a sick sense of humor, doesn't it?",, January 10, 2008
Well if that means producing one of the great action flicks of all time starring Keanu Reaves, Gary Busey, and Patrick Swayze then yes, ironic and sick.

This is one of those impossible to rationalize, but impossible to look away movies. (Suspend all belief here.) Swayze as Bodhi, is the mastermind of the Ex-Presidents, a bank robbing, curl shooting, skydiving crew of funsters devoted to getting their Zen on and chillin between heists while contemplating the ultimate wave because as Patrick says "surfing is the source man." Reaves plays an ex-jock rookie Johnny Utah FBI dude that is paired with the dinosauric out of shape Pappas played frenetically by one the all time goofballs Gary Busey.

Almost instantaneously, Utah develops a theory that the ex-Presidents are surfers, so he springs into action, buys a surfboard, meets a chick who tries to teach him to surf, gets his butt kicked by the singer from the Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Cyborg "War Child", gets rescued by Bodhi, is invited to join the crew then is swept into a modern day Beach Blanket Bingo with machine guns. Along the way, Bodhi undergoes this sort of existential man love for Utah, then all hell breaks loose. If you haven't seen it yet I wont ruin the ending for you but its a pulse pounder.

This edition features much improved 5.1 audio over the original release, but honestly I cant tell any difference in the picture at 720p, but the extras are interesting for fans which include a number of throw away deleted scenes, interviews with our 3 stars, and some more snippets about surfing, spirituality, and an insiders tour of surfing Malibu plus 3 trailers. Strap it on. 4 Masks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Point Break
Point Break by Kathryn Bigelow
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.