Customer Reviews


560 Reviews
5 star:
 (429)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best In a While
"Point of Impact" is the best book that I've read in quite a while. I purchased Stephen Hunter's book on a whim, and hope that it would be entertaining. It was more than just entertaining, it was good. The book is about an ex-Marine sniper, named Bob Lee Swagger, who spent three tours in Viet Nam. For the last twenty years, he's been holed up in the Ouachitians mountains...
Published on January 2, 2003 by Russell Diederich

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast pace. with poor ending.
It is definitely a fast pace story. If you are a gun freak, you would love it, if you like lots of bodies being shred to pieces, you would really love it. Don't worry about the somewhat slow pace at the 1st 100 pages. It gets better right there. If you are not into guns, you may skip all the detailed technical description, the book is full off. You may just stick to the...
Published 10 months ago by Jacob peled


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best In a While, January 2, 2003
By 
Russell Diederich (Littleton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
"Point of Impact" is the best book that I've read in quite a while. I purchased Stephen Hunter's book on a whim, and hope that it would be entertaining. It was more than just entertaining, it was good. The book is about an ex-Marine sniper, named Bob Lee Swagger, who spent three tours in Viet Nam. For the last twenty years, he's been holed up in the Ouachitians mountains living with his dog Mike and his rifles. The soft-spoken marksman is approached to help out a government branch in tracking down an assassin. Nick Memphis, a down on his luck FBI agent, is investigating a gruesome murder of an informant that was trying to reach him. As the informant dies, he writes the words, ROM DO on the floor with his own blood. The two stories quickly become entwined in a turbulent plot full of double cross, ballistic charts, and 1,400 yard shots.
Hunter does a great job of telling just enough of the story to let you think you know where he is going. Then he turns the story on you leaving you surprised. He does this throughout the book. Only once was I able to guess where he was going. All the times that I thought I had him, Hunter was laughing at me from in front of his typewriter. He does it from the very beginning as we open up on Swagger in a deer blind waiting for Ole Tim, the largest buck in the forest. Swagger's character grows on you, even though he appears tough and rough around the edges.
Hunter is a master of the false-direction. He sets everything up so perfectly that once he changes the tables on you, you can see how he set you up. It all makes sense. It's the literary version of magic. Some authors are good at it, for others you can see the wires. Hunter is very good at it. If you like action/adventure, good writing, and an author that's good a deception, check this one out. I'll definitely read more of Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, July 21, 2000
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow, this book is amazing! Well written and technically pretty good. Bob "the Nailer" is not one of those annoyingly perfect good guys that don't really exist. He has his share of problems, which are explained in the book but not dwelled on for long.
There are some pretty good reviews here that sum up the story pretty well, so I'm going to skip that. I will say that I normally read only sci-fi/fantasy and had long ago grown weary of these type of books. But the way Hunter combines the convoluted plot twists that Ludlum loves so much with the attention to detail that Clancy is so known for and then adds his own ability to tell a story in an interesting way really hooked me.
You just may find yourself shopping for a Winchester mdl 70 or a Remington 700 (in .308, of course) before the end of this one!
"One shot, one kill"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Souls Leave .308 Holes!, January 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
I am an Ex-Special Operations veteran and an avid shooter. Mr. Hunter has done his homework! I highly recommend this great book to all service members, rifle shooters, snipers, and members of the law enforcement community. The following "Bob Lee Swagger Series", books are equally exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lone gunman--except now, you're rooting for him!, June 26, 2004
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
Bob Lee Swagger is not a man to mess around with. He was a military sniper, with the second highest number of kills in Vietnam. Then he came home to a country that shunned sniping, and he went into seclusion in the Arkansas mountains.
Now he's been called out. A shady government conspiracy wants to use him in an assassination--as the fallguy. And when Swagger does indeed fall for it, lured into a trap, he promises his tormentors will pay...with their blood...
Helping him is FBI agent Nick Memphis, who's just recieved his third strike. An odd pair, but together, they must unravel a far-reaching conspiracy...and bring vengence upon those who deserve it.
"Point of Impact" was the first Stephen Hunter novel I read. It got me hooked on his writing, though few other novels lived up to it ("Dirty White Boys" was pretty good, if I recall correctly). This novel is a thriller of the highest caliber (no pun intended). It's about a proud Southern gunman pushed to the limits...the one spot where you DON'T want him to be! This is a terrific, suspenseful book, and if you are a fan of thrillers and haven't read it yet, then you absolutely must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ranks on my top 10 books of all time, January 30, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
Stephen Hunter must have been a gun in a previous life. He knows shooting. I was hooked after the first couple of pages, and couldn't put this one down. I have since read the book 3 times. If you like guns in any small way, or just plain like a good thriller, it doesn't get any better than this. Hunter builds the main character in a way that you can see every hard line of his face, the way he walks, and the sound of his voice. If I were casting a movie of this book, I'd put Ed Harris in the role. The story is full of interesting and unpredictable plot twists, gun lore, action and revenge. It won't let you down. Hunter's sequels to this book don't hold up as well; Dirty White Boys is a bit too harsh, and Black Light moves too slowly. But Point of Impact is a stroke of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, August 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was my intro to the world of Stephen Hunter, and made me an instant fan. I purchased "Point of Impact" and read it in 2 days while on vacation. Couldn't wait to get the other three novels in the Bob Lee Swagger "universe". Hunter's characters read like real people. His heroes suffer from alcoholism, adultry, and other real life problems that only the "bad guys" in writers like Tom Clancy's works have to deal with. They all have a sense of "duty" that doesn't necessarily run through their whole lives. They usually are dedicated to their their jobs, but have problems fulfilling their duties at home, though they love their families dearly. This is very realistic in my experience. I recommend this novel and its companions to anyone who likes a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why hasn't this been made into a movie?, June 1, 2005
By 
Eric Bozinny (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with most of the reviewers. This is my third Hunter novel (Havana, Hot Springs, Point of Impact), and each is better than the last!

The pacing on this book is incredible! Most books that follow the style of cutting between storylines take too long, or don't provide enough of a payoff before switching...Hunter finds the ideal balance. I found that I rarely wanted to skip over one storyline to get back to another.

The Swagger character is made for movies. He's the classic Stoic man, with enough depth to make him interesting, but not too much that adapting it to film would prove difficult.

As long as someone doesn't pull a "Sahara", it would translate well. Hmm...who would play the leads?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well inside a minute of angle, August 31, 2004
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
Gunnery Sergeant Bob Lee Swagger was a Marine Corps sniper in Vietnam, who had killed eighty-seven of the enemy (confirmed). Almost as many as the real-life Sergeant Carlos Hathcock, who had 93 confirmed kills. Both men used a Remington model 700 bolt-action rifle.

Sergeant Swagger was severely wounded, and his spotter killed, by an enemy sniper. His wounds resulted in his disability retirement, and eventual permanent retirement from the Marine Corps. The bad guys in this book, working on contract for a central American regime, seek to assassinate an influential cleric whose politics are antithetical to their own, when the President of the United States is due to honor him with a decoration in New Orleans.

Swagger is not aware of the actual plot, and when they tell him that the president is the subject of an assassination attempt, and want him to tell them where the assassin is most likely to strike, pretending to be CIA, he goes along. Little does he know that he is being set up to be the "fall guy," and that the president is not the real target.

This is a well-plotted thriller, and it will keep you reading until you've finished the book. The suspense is maintained, and there is enough accurate detail about firearms, ballistics, and technical details to make it all highly believable. I have ordered another of Stephen Hunter's titles. If he does as well with the next as he did with this one, I'm hooked.

To make the story even more interesting, for me, Swagger, in the story, has a pre-'64 Winchester model 70 ("the rifleman's rifle") in .300 Holland & Holland (H&H) magnum caliber. I have one of the same rifles, in the same caliber, and it, too, will shoot sub-minute-of-angle.

This is a good book, written by one who has researched his subject.

Joseph (Joe) Pierre

author of Handguns and Freedom...their care and maintenance

and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, February 18, 2003
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
Stephen Hunter wrote 3 Bob Lee Swagger novels. Point of Impact is the first of the series and the first of Hunter's books I read on a long flight to the west coast. I sat up until I finished the story, all 560+ pages. There is no higher praise than lost sleep.
Bob 'the nailer' is a former Viet Nam sniper who gets set-up by a shadowy quasi govenment/milatary group to take the fall for an assassination. Instead, the supposedly dead Bob 'the nailer' goes after the puppet masters. Hunter's attention to detail and remarkably adept weaving of mutiple story lines are impressive. Perhaps the best part is Hunter's endings. Just when you think it's done, another one comes along. To quote a character "..I've never met anyone who could outsly a sly old country boy." And Bob Lee Swagger is one sly country boy. Absolutely wonderful.
Do read all three books and consider the prequels featuring Bob Lee's father, Earl Swagger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, May 23, 2004
This review is from: Point of Impact (Mass Market Paperback)
There simply are not enough superlatives to describe Point of Impact. This was a phenomenal book, clearly among my personal top-five list. In Point of Impact, Hunter presents Bob Lee Swagger (AKA "Bob the Nailer" due to his reputation as a Marine sniper during the Vietnam War) in a fast-paced conspiracy thriller. Hunter hooks you in the first few pages of the book as Swagger is hunting on his property in Arkansas. As the story unfolds, Swagger demonstrates the physical and mental toughness, decisiveness, patience, perseverance, and survival instincts that made him the best at what he does. Throughout the book, one comes to know and further appreciate the intricacies, both positive and negative, of being "Bob the Nailer." Action sequences and character development are interwoven and provide a complementary blend throughout the book. From start to finish, this book is impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Point of Impact
Point of Impact by Stephen Hunter (Mass Market Paperback - December 1, 1993)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.