Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 5, 2000
Yes, La Femme Nikita is the real classic. But after repeated viewings on cable, this movie sneaks up on you. For all of its commercial hype and fake glamour, there are guilty pleasures throughout, not the least of which is the emotional core of the relationship between Bridget Fonda and Gabriel Byrne. Dermot Mulroney is also winning in his underwritten role. The wild premise survives the remake, because it is just so compelling and dramatic, and Anne Bancroft steals every scene she appears in. Give it a try, on its own terms.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 20, 2007
Bridget Fonda is outstanding in this role. Good mix of tense action and romance. I have recommended it to several friends and they all love it too. It's even better the 2nd time you watch it. It doesn't get stale.
I also "love Nina".
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2000
Although lacking in some respects compared to the French original (you end up hoping that Bridget as assassin will pulverize her whimpering boyfriend with one of those big, big machine guns), Bridget Fonda as the star and Nina Simone with the soulful soundtrack give this movie the edge over La femme Nikita in at least two important departments. Bridget's performance here amazes me every time I see it--simultaneously believable as a feverishly trained assassin and a tragic hero so cute you just want to reach out and pinch her cheeks. But the highest marks go to the soundtrack. The writers of the adaptation wove in Nina Simone as a motif throughout the movie, well-complemented by 5 Nina songs, including "Feeling Good" and a cover of "Here Comes the Sun" tracked to the "relationship" scenes that /ALMOST/ make you forget how much you'd like Bridget to terminate her relationship with extreme prejudice..... Provides soulful reflection absent from the French original, and worth watching more than a few times for that reason alone. Pretentious naysayers say this remake has gone through the Hollywood ringer, but it's an A+ action-flick-plus-morality-tale spun before Quentin Tarantino made it socially acceptable for PBS-watchers to admit they like 'em. Give it a chance.
44 comments|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2001
Well, some of the reviewers of this picture have said the original was better, but I disagree. This is just a fun, fast, exciting picture, with a terrific perfor- mance by Bridget Fonda and an even better script than the original.
Also, the use of Nina Simone's music puts this picture miles ahead of the first one--it makes the music an equivalent of Fonda's soul--the suffering and passion we hear in Nina Simone's music is what's going on in Bridget Fonda's heart. It's a dynamite movie. You will be damned happy you watched it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2015
Point of No Return (1993) an action film directed by John Badham. Stars: Bridget Fonda, Gabriel Byme, Anne Bancroft, Harvey Keitel, Dermot Mulroney, Lorraine Touissant, and others. A remake of Luc Besson’s 1980 film Nikita. The storyline revolves around Maggie who has a violent and unstable life, group of friends, and is a drug addict. After botching a job with friends, she is found guilty of murdering a police officer, and is sentenced to death by lethal injection. Her death is faked, and a secret government agent recruits her, she is trained, and transformed into a lethal beautiful assassin. Her career as an assassin goes well for a while at first, after a mission goes awry, the agency sends in a cleaner named Victor to handle things.

Many people attempt to compare the two movies; Nikita and Point of No Return, there are no comparisons, except for the storyline. You have different actors/actresses, and they take a different angle and point of view to bring this story to light. I have watched both versions, including the La Femme Nikita TV series and have enjoyed and love the entire storyline surrounding Nikita, watching her transform from a troubled individual to a successful assassin in the government, paid to do her job well. My only thought in the movie, was why she did not have a relationship with all of them. If you like government espionage, drama, action, and the storyline/plot and actors, you would enjoy this movie.

The DVD is offered as one DVD, in multiple formats, color, NTSC, and widescreen view. They have English, French and Spanish available languages on the DVD, region is US and Canada only. It was released in 1998 on DVD, and runs for 109 minutes. The packaging was secure, the sound of the DVD is great, as well as the picture view. If you like action movies, with a twist, then you would enjoy this movie! I would recommend to others, including Amazon Customers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2012
I love this movie!

When I saw this film I did not know it was a remake, and have not seen the original movie.

Bridget Fonda is a filthy ugly drug addict girl on the streets hanging with other drug addicts - they rob a store while she sits there high, and ends up the only one that doesn't get killed in the shootout. She is street tough with good survival instincts and a bad attitude. What many would consider a "garbage" human being - the kind of "trash" you'd prefer not to be part of your world.

After causing considerable trouble during arrest and trial, she is given the death penalty and put to death. However, she awakes to find herself in a type of cell, very much alive and is told that the world thinks she's dead already and they can make that a reality or she can accept this second chance at life and make something of herself - a secret government agent/assin whatever they need her to be. She is their's for life, alive at their whim, to do their bidding.

She is given all manner of education and basically made over into a new person (giving them some rebellion along the way) - off drugs, with some self respect finally. And after a final test (where she is given an assignment to kill someone in public, and then set up to fail escape from the scene alive) she passes the test and makes it back to base alive. She is then told to go off and live on her own and just be ready whenever they decide to assign another job to her.

She gets set up and enough time passes without assignment that she begins to enjoy her freedom and cautiously starts a relationship in the process. Life seems pretty good and then she gets a call - and another assignment and the conflict of who she is and who she want to be is huge. She realizes she has become a better person than the one given the death penalty and she doesn't want to be a killing machine. They won't allow someone to leave the agency alive - but she refuses to be killed, or to keep living an assassins life.

It's great to watch the ugly caterpillar turn into the butterfly that Fonda becomes (with a lot of hard work). Fonda is excellent in this role. You get drawn into her character and begin to care about her, there is action and suspense and good acting - it's interesting and entertaining with excellent supporting performances by Anne Bancroft and Gabrielle Byrne and a young Dermot Mulroney.

I own this movie, I have watched it MANY times and think it's great. It's one of my favorites. I totally recommend it - especially if you haven't seen the original movie this was a remake from. Don't critique it while you watch, just let the movie take you along and decide what you think afterwards. :-)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
If you're looking to get your Bridget Fonda FIX, this movie should do the trick for you. I hate to say it, but this movie might just be the best movie role she'll ever star in. I don't know how she'll top her performance in POINT of NO RETURN.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
The DVD is defective. It skips from chapter 23 to 25 and I cannot view chapter 24. I cleaned the disc several times but that didn't fix problem. Not worth it to return to vendor but will never order from them again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
Damn you Bridget Fonda come back to acting!!! Not too many strong, tough as hell female characters are treated with such serious belivability as they are in this film. Fantastic movie. Yes we all wanted her boyfriend to shut up already but then again look at what actor it was. Whiner!!! Other than that, watch this if you missed it and sink your teeth in, it definitely won't spare you!!!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
I loved this movie the first time I saw it. I think that Bridget did an excellent job. I don't see her much around these days I think she is a really good actress. It's a good watch. Exciting and the part about the cleaner.."I never did really mind about the little things." (smile) creepy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.