Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVIL UNDER THE SUN is another Suchet classic!!!
After collapsing while eating at a posh restuarant, famed detective Hercule Poirot (David Suchet) is sent by his doctor to an island resort, where he is subjected to a painful program of diet and exercise. However, it will be his "little grey cells" that get the exercising when a beautiful actress is found strangled on the beach. EVIL UNDER THE SUN is another film from...
Published on October 11, 2002 by Hazen B Markoe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine at the Shore
Evil Under The Sun, 2001 film

The story begins in an English village where a minister reads a Bible story. A man is killed, someone else gets his property. A warning about Jezebel? Outside the town the police inspect the body of a woman (strangled by the bruises on her throat). It was a murder. Hercule Poirot has problems with his jacket (common to men over...
Published 23 months ago by Ray Stephanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVIL UNDER THE SUN is another Suchet classic!!!, October 11, 2002
By 
Hazen B Markoe (St. Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
After collapsing while eating at a posh restuarant, famed detective Hercule Poirot (David Suchet) is sent by his doctor to an island resort, where he is subjected to a painful program of diet and exercise. However, it will be his "little grey cells" that get the exercising when a beautiful actress is found strangled on the beach. EVIL UNDER THE SUN is another film from the top-notch POIROT series from A&E, with David Suchet once again bringing his definitive portrayal of the Belgian sleuth to life. Hugh Fraser provides solid back-up as the rather dense Capt. Hastings, while Philip Jackson is his droll self as Inspector Japp. As is usual with this series, the locations are wonderful and the 30's atmosphere is wonderfully invoked. This version is not to be confused with the somewhat campy film starring Peter Ustinov. While that one is fun in its own way, it pales in comparison to the Suchet version. As always, this flick is another delightful treat for fans of Agatha Christie's classic detective and one I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, August 13, 2002
By 
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
I have just watched this new DVD (don't ask me how I got it before the release date, because I'm not sure), and am thrilled to report that it lives up to the name of Poirot.
If you are familiar with the series, you will find similarities between this plot and that of "Triangle at Rhodes," but with more players and a different outcome. Perhaps the best feature of this movie is that all four of the major characters take part - which is unusual for the movie-length episodes.
When Poirot and Hastings retire to an island resort for some rest and relaxation (not to mention diet and exercise), imagine our surprise when a guest turns up murdered on the beach. As usual, every person has a motive and every person looks guilty, and although the one major red herring is fairly easy to figure out (or maybe I've just watched too many of these), the plot and the outcome are both confounding and satisfying.
There is wonderful subtle humor, a beautiful setting, and excellent acting across the board - all as we've come to expect from this fine series. I hope this is not the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evil Under The Sun, October 2, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
This certainly is not the Peter Ustinov version. Maybe it's just me, but I hated that adaptation. However, this adaptation is great. It is geared more towards your typical mystery fan that likes a complex puzzle to solve, so some may find it boring, but it is a great mystery.
Poirot is invited to eat at Captain Hasting's new Argentinian restaurant, El Ranchero, on its opening night. While there, Poirot collapses. After medical examination, he is declared as "medically obese." (A great scene is where Poirot demands "at once" a second opinion). He is soon sent to the Sandy Cove hotel, where he is put on a strict diet and exercise regime. Humiliating for him, since Hastings and many of the other guests are enjoying themselves and eating regular cuisine.
However, there is more to this Hotel than meets the eye. Poirot senses a great presence of evil. After unsuccessfully trying to prevent a murder, he tries to sort out all the evil in the Hotel and bring the villain to justice...
The actors are not an all-star cast as with the Ustinov version, but they are all done superbly well. I remember reading the book and getting an idea of what the characters should look and act like. When I saw the movie, I was not disappointed.
The humor is more subtle, but it is still hilarious. However, one should note that while the Ustinov version was more a comedy, the "evil under the sun" is easily felt throughout the movie. It is dark, but there is a sufficient balance of darkness and humor (and the film does end on a lighthearted note).
I was very impressed by this version, overall. The true Poirot fan will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THANK GOD HE'S BACK!!!!!!, March 30, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Whew.......I was beginning to wonder if we'd end up living in a world without any more of Suchet's Poirot!! As much reverence and respect as I have for all the older big screen Poirots, I must say that I just simply adore Suchet's characterization of him. When I read the books, Suchet is whom I picture.
Well, you know the plot already.........watching this almost seems like a completely different story than the earlier Ustinov film...............but I love it all the same! It's truer to the book, more serious, and sure to entertain even the hardest-to-please Poirot fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY ENJOYABLE, November 26, 2002
By 
jstwinkle5 (Saratoga, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
Honestly I haven't found a Poirot movie with David Suchet in it that I don't just love. This is one of the longer movies and I very much enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the Spirit of Agatha Christie, January 30, 2006
By 
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
This is a great episode that casts you under its spell from the get-go. Contrary to what has been said by some earlier reviewers, the Suchet "Poirot" series really catches the character as it exists in the book. I recommend reading the original Poirot novels by Christie, you'll double your pleasure.

A superb supporting cast, rich visual textures and a real whodunnit. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific Suchet film, December 1, 2007
By 
DodgyUSA (Jamaica Plain, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
Another terrific Suchet POIROT. Great acting, direction, costumes, locaton. We are very lucky to have these fantastic Suchet POIROTs to add to the Agatha Christie film collection for fans in the years to come.

Everyone has their favorites, whether it be Rutherford or Hickson's MARPLE, Finney or Ustinov's POIROT or the clever TUPPENCE AND TOMMY from the BBC.
Enjoy them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ready For A Great Murder Mystery?, March 28, 2007
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
The beautiful scenery and movie sets in this story would make Dame Agatha Christie herself proud, I believe. Along with an all-star cast, the plot in this mystery holds the viewer's attention...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars England At Its Best, November 24, 2007
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
I have collected all of these Agatha Christie DVD's (what an investment) within the last year and I am amazed to how timeless these stories are (still best selling stories) & the youth love them also.

I just returned from a winter trip to London and Edinburgh and I swear I saw a man just like David's version of Poirot. What fun! I also made a point to see him in his new London Theatre Play - he is so talented and can portray so many different characters. Who would think I would fall for this silly little man. The sets are so perfect-takes us back to when England ruled most of the earth.......fun, fun and helps us escape this world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine at the Shore, January 16, 2013
This review is from: Poirot - Evil Under the Sun (DVD)
Evil Under The Sun, 2001 film

The story begins in an English village where a minister reads a Bible story. A man is killed, someone else gets his property. A warning about Jezebel? Outside the town the police inspect the body of a woman (strangled by the bruises on her throat). It was a murder. Hercule Poirot has problems with his jacket (common to men over forty). He attends the opening of a restaurant, then collapses during dinner. He needs rest, exercise, and a strict diet. [Note the vehicle and scenery by the seashore.] Poirot and Hastings meet the other guests. One guest says another woman is "trouble, wait and see". [Does this telegraph the plot?] One woman says this is a good place for a murder. Open space and sunshine? Will there be a murder? Poirot uses a steam cabinet. Later he overhears a conversation (the lifestyles of the rich and famous).

People gather for dinner. We see their actions. Poirot offers unasked-for advice. "MYODB". Note the high-rise vehicle used for carrying passengers. The various clocks time the events. Who threw a bottle out of a window? Guests go about their activities. A couple see Arlena on the beach. "She's dead!" [Any footprints around the body? Note Arlena's feet are clean.] Poirot is notified about the body. The police arrive. They can place the time of death so they check the alibis of the other guests. Who had a motive for murder? Marshal is questioned about his wife. Lionel is questioned about his activities. [Note how Poirot gauges the strength of his hand.] Lionel's companion is questioned. Mrs. Marshal withdrew a large sum of money earlier. Others are questioned. That Hidden Cove has a surprise! We learn more about another guest. And an earlier murder. Poirot has an idea. The island is unlocked, people leave and enter again.

Inspector Japp looks into that Hidden Cove and sees two visitors. [Do they look like the outdoor type?] Another guest reveals his identity. The police arrest two men (not part of the murder). The smuggler is caught. But its not related to the murder. Everyone is gathered in the dining room so Poirot can talk to them about the case. [This is an old-fashioned method for solving a crime.] He says many people were interested in the death of Arlena, for one reason or another. So who was it? Was it the man who was trying to swindle her out of the wealth she got from her much older husband? Poirot explains his deductions and recreates the events. What a clever and diabolical plan? Is it too perfect? Or believable? Can a plan that requires perfect timing be guaranteed to work? Only in a novel or movie.

Agatha Christie wrote over fifty mystery novels featuring Hercule Poirot. She worked as a nurse in the Great War. Could she have met a Belgian refugee who was the prototype for "Hercule Poirot"? The characters Poirot and Hastings echo Holmes and Watson. Conan Doyle basically invented the detective story to gain international fame. True Crime books tell that love and money (or lust and greed) are the usual causes of murder. There were cases where wealthy widows (or widowers) were lured into a scheme to defraud and kill them. You can read "The Case of the Amorous Aunt" for another story on this type of crime; it has a happier ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poirot - Evil Under the Sun
Poirot - Evil Under the Sun by Brian Farnham (DVD - 2002)
$19.98 $12.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.