Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 22, 2006
It is wonderful to have these unabridged short stories on CD. This collection has two readers- sometimes the story is read by Hugh Fraser, sometimes by David Suchet. Suchet is definitely the better reader, as he uses more distinctive voices for each character, enabling the listener to follow the conversations a little better. However, all the stories are clearly presented, and each one is a delight- and better yet, most are solvable.

Another problem I had with this collection is that the stories are sometimes split between two CDs. This makes this particular collection harder to use in the car, when you have change CDs to hear the end of a story.
0Comment42 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2011
I had this audiobook in my shopping cart for months but was reluctant to buy it because I was not able to find the answer to my questions regarding the product. Recently however, I made up my mind and went ahead to buy it. Now, I have the answer to all my questions. There might be others out there who have the same questions, so I will address them.

1. The audiobook consists of 7 CDs housed in two folded black cardboard cases. The box is slim (about 1 inch width) which makes it convenient to carry around.
2. The cardboard cases inside have no design or writings. Very disappointing as I was used to seeing the Harry Potter sleeves with a lot of drawings.
3. The 18 stories are listed at the back of the cd box and are the same stories that appeared in the book. However, the order of play in the CDs does not coincide with the order in this list.
4. There is no list of the particular stories contained in each CD.
5. Upon listening to the entire collection, I found out that the order of the stories is different from the book.

So, these are the contents:

Disc 1
The Adventures of Johnny Waverly
The Double Sin
The Submarine Plans part 1

Disc 2
The Submarine Plans part 2
The Cornish Mystery
The Market Basing Mystery

Disc 3
Problem at Sea
How Does Your Garden Grow

Disc 4
The Lost Mine
The King of Clubs
The Affair of the Victory Ball part 1

Disc 5
The Affair of the Victory Ball part 2
The Wasp's Nest
The Chocolate Box
The Adventure of the Clapham Cook part 1

Disc 6
The Adventure of the Clapham Cook part 2
The Double Clue
The Third-Floor Flat

Disc 7
The Lemesurier Inheritance
The Veiled Lady
The Plymouth Express
22 comments23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2008
Quite a nice collection of short stories from Christie. She calls them early cases, but Poirot is not stumbling around making mistakes. He's still Poirot, just not the famous, arrogant, self-promoting Poirot of later years. Very fun collection. I can't wait to listen again.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2007
I love this product. In fact this is the second time that I have purchased it. My original copy was scratched up from overuse. I play this in my car. The stories are short and sweet, just long enough for my morning commute.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2006
Hercule is undoubtably one of the most endearing characters for those of us who enjoy mystery. He has style, class and (surprisingly) humor. This series provided many, many hours of enjoyment.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2006
If you're a fan of the BBC's Poirot mysteries, you'll love this. Both Poirot and Hastings reading some of the earliest Poirot cases...what's not to love? Really helps makes the commute a little more bearable.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2008
Agatha Christie Audio CD (BOOKS ON TAPE) are absolutely wonderful . I have purchased all of mine from Amazon.com and will be purchasing more in the future from Amazon. Her Mysteries of Miss Marple or Hercule Poirot and other characters are absolutely wonderful . When listning on CD with head-phones on and your eyes closed you start an unbelievable journey every time . If you love Great Mysteries you have to try these , you'll love every exciting minute of these("SITTING ON THE EDGE OF YOUR CHAIR") stories ! If you want the best price , look no furter than Amazon.com as they have the best prices I have ever seen on these wonderful CD series . You can buy with Confidence and Trust from Amazon , there the Best. Sincerely, Pat Simmons
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2008
The voices are from accomplished actors who make it seem like there is a room full of people and make it very easy to visualize the story. Always love Poirot's adventures and these are no exception. Great entertainment while taking long trips.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
Loved the programs and were easy to follow along with. Wish more Poirot stories were made.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2012
This is an audio recording of 18 short stories by Agatha Christie. The cast and narrator are excellent, the voices are distinguishable. The audio quality is good. With several stories in the collection, finding a particular story among the 7 CDs is a bit more of a challenge than I'd like to see. There is no index in the packaging or on the CDs. The CDs are packaged in cardboard folders in a cardboard box. So the indexing problem and the packaging are the reasons I dropped one star...otherwise these make a very nice collection.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse