Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Adventure
My daughter is 10, and she adored this video game for the Wii system. She thought the graphics were terrific and liked being able to play as Pikachu. She couldn't pull herself away from the game and finished the main story in about 10 hours, but as the show says, you gotta catch 'em all, and who knows how long it will take her to collect all 190-plus Pokemon in the...
Published on November 7, 2010 by Ralph Brown

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for younger gamers, but too easy for kids who like Mario Galaxy
The kids got this for Christmas. My 7 year old daughter loves it. The 8 and 10 year old Pokemon fanatic boys think it's boring. Apparently it's not challenging enough for them. My daughter enjoys Littlest Petshop games and it seems more along that speed rather than the Mario Galaxy type challenges that the boys enjoy.
Published on December 28, 2010 by Mom of Three


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Adventure, November 7, 2010
By 
Ralph Brown (Suffern, New York) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
My daughter is 10, and she adored this video game for the Wii system. She thought the graphics were terrific and liked being able to play as Pikachu. She couldn't pull herself away from the game and finished the main story in about 10 hours, but as the show says, you gotta catch 'em all, and who knows how long it will take her to collect all 190-plus Pokemon in the game.

As for the game, the player primarily plays as Pikachu who seeks to collect a bunch of crystals to keep an island from breaking apart. The island is broken up into various areas (e.g., a beach section, an ice mountain, a not-very-frightening haunted house, caverns) where one collects friends by defeating other Pokemon in games like tag or simplified battle and competes in various mini-games. A player also collects berries to power up their speed, health, or battle skills. Yes, the action gets repetitive but less so than any of the DS battle games.

Also, as one reviewer writes, there is a lot of text. The Pokemon "speak" in their usual cartoon voices, but the meaning is written in full text. If the player is not a good reader, there may be problems. Also, this isn't for novices. Often, a player is instructed to see this or that specific Pokemon to complete a task, and if you don't know you Pokemon well, good luck. However, if your child is a Pokemon fan and anything like my daughter, this is a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hits the 6 to 12 age group nicely, November 17, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
This is a good choice for a child in 2nd to sixth grade. I think it's actually a bit more suited to girls that game because there is a lot of focus on social interaction that boys might become impatient with. The game is text based and a bit old school in it's layout - this is a hunt and find type of game where Pikachu will be running from one end of PokePark to another looking for pokemon to befriend or battle. The skill level depends on what the player wants from the game. My younger daughter is happy to run through the storyline, my older one wants to collect every single pokemon methodically. Price is a bit high, I think. I wish Nintendo had brought this out at their second price point instead of their established one for longer playing games. That aside, it's been a huge hit in our house since release day. This won't challenge the adult player long, but a child with a bit of patience and a passion for pokemon will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot Of Fun, November 30, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
The game got here very quickly! It a cute game. Not really hard, which is good for me because I'm not that good at games. Kids would have a ball with this. All though I'm 18 and I am haveing fun with it. Don't expect a lot from it like something deep. Because it's not. But fun for passing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon minigame fun, December 13, 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
If you are buying this game for a younger child who is a Pokemon fan, then this is a good game. The gameplay mechanics are simple, being limited to a couple buttons and shaking the wiimote. The mini-games and challenges are limited to only a few types, but there are enough to keep things interesting. There is also some variety added to the games in the form of rotating characters and backgrounds. We bought this game for my 5 year-old's birthday, and he has had a great time with it. He can complete almost every challenge with little to no help, and the interfaces are graphical enough that he can get by with limited reading skills. Very recommended for this age set.

If you are outside the specific audience I named above, then I would probably avoid the game. The Wii isn't really known for graphics, but these are closer to N64-quality than most things you see today. Furthermore, if you don't care about running around and meeting all of your favorite Pokemon characters, then the game will not be much fun. There isn't anything interesting to do outside of the mini-games, and the games are pretty well spaced out across the PokePark area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, limited age range, January 1, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
This is a fun game for young Pokemon fans. My son is 8 years old and really enjoyed this game. PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure can be played by children as young as 5 or 6, as long as parents are willing to play along and read the text, and possibly participate in some of the more difficult mini-games. I think Pokemon fans older than 10 might find this game a little too basic, and possibly "babyish".

In this game, you are Pikachu and you must find all 14 Prism pieces so you can access the Sky Pavillion and reunite all of PokePark. You can befriend each Pokemon you meet, usually through short games such as Chase, Hide and Seek, Quizes, or Battles. There are also a few minigames called Attractions that you must find and clear in order to receive Prism pieces and move on in the game. This game can be completed in about 20 hours of gameplay, with possibly a few more hours devoted to finding and befriending all 193 Pokemon available in the game. As a parent, I enjoyed this game because it shows you the personalities of each Pokemon, which not all Pokemon games do.

I especially would recommend this game for kids ages 7-9, or younger if they can read or parents are willing to read to them. Even if they aren't Pokemon fans yet, they might be after playing PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hecka Fun!, January 16, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
I bought it for my kids, ages 7 and 10. I was disappointed that there is NO multi-player mode, but the kids love it anyway and say it is "hecka fun", thus the 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Preschool Children, March 6, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
My 4-year-old loves to play video games, but it has been difficult to find any that she could easily control on her own . . . until now. Once she learned the Wii controls for the game, she was able to easily maneuver through Pokepark and play many of the mini-games on her own. If you're an older child or adult, it doesn't take long to complete the quest for all the prism pieces and could seem rather boring. However it is the perfect game for preschool and younger grade school children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for younger gamers, but too easy for kids who like Mario Galaxy, December 28, 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
The kids got this for Christmas. My 7 year old daughter loves it. The 8 and 10 year old Pokemon fanatic boys think it's boring. Apparently it's not challenging enough for them. My daughter enjoys Littlest Petshop games and it seems more along that speed rather than the Mario Galaxy type challenges that the boys enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy, repetative, lots of reading, November 21, 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
My 7 year old son just had a b-day and thought I should get this out before the holidays. My sis bought from Amazon. PokePark is an adventure-action game, Zelda-like. If Zelda is a 10 on difficulty, this is a 1 or 2. There is no problem solving, just simple tasks to do. You must collect the prism pieces and challenge/win each Pokemon for them to become your friend. Thus far when battling, my son dodges L/R, runs behind or to the side, and rams into the Pokemon a few times to defeat them. Uses the thunderbolt sometimes, no surprises during battles. Has yet to lose other than not having 1 power for 1 Pokemon thus far. He has yet to fail on any of the challenges, passes 1st time. The game will tell you "don't go that way" when playing hide and seek, so no challenge. The Pokemon is hiding and the game pretty much guides you on where to go. When a Pokemon asks for an item, you turn around and it's usually right there. My 9 year old daughter has played some and thinks it is easy. Ditto for my 7 yr old. At least they get good reading practice. I have them read out loud and my 7 yr old needs some help. A few words my daughter needs help on. My kids don't play a lot of video games, and consider their gaming-skill average at best for their age. I question other reviewers on the age recommendation. They seem to have fun as of now, but it's getting repeatative. I recommend go to a game-stop and trial it, also read reviews. I would also recommend to wait for the price to drop if this is not holiday-urgent. It's a long journey, so the game consumes a lot of time. It's only been a few days and can follow up, but the difficulty of the game has not changed. I thought a rating of 3 was too high and more like a 2.5 versus the 2 I gave it.

UPDATE: My kids cleared the game in 3 playing days. Admittedly, a couple of those days were 5 hr sessions. The feedback from the kids, pretty fun, but easy. They have some interest to go back in. I'd trade this for DK Backcountry if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a game for kids, January 19, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure (Video Game)
This game is exactly what I've been searching for in regards to my five year old son. He absolutely loves it! The first few days he needed help understanding the game premise and what he was suppose to do but once he got it down he was unstoppable. Playing the main game as pikacu going around the poke park battling, playing tag, and clearing attractions to make new friends and open up different parts of the game for him to explore.

There are times when he still needs help reading prompts or getting remote action help when new attractions open up, or even when he runs across a pokeman who will quiz him about the park...but as long as there is someone around who can read, these are minor problems.

I'm really thankful that this game was designed for a younger audience, ( most games that catches his eye are 10 and up) I can see why it's gotten some bad reviews from older consumers because its certainly not your typical past pokemon game. Its a more laid back- just for fun game that encourages making friends by playing with others and helping your fellow pokemon solve problems. Perfect for anyone who loves pokemon and too young to play the pokemon DS games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure
PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
$84.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.