Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
awasome!!!!!! this is probably the best pokemon dvd thats ever come out.the box contains 3 dvds containing 20 episodes in all they are-

1 get the show on the road

2 a ruin with a view

3 theres no place like hoenn

4 you can never taillow

5 in the knicker of time

6 a poached ego

7 trees a...
Published on July 17, 2006 by Sanket Luharuka

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this set, HATE the price!
I AM VERY DISAPOINTED IN AMAZON. OVER 100 DOLLARS?! ARE YOU PEOPLE CRAZY?! IT'S ONLY GOT 20 SOME EPISODES! I PAYED ONLY 60 DOLLARS AT EBAY FOR AN ANIME SET WITH 70 EPISODES! WOW, DOES THAT SAY ALOT. I KNOW THE ECONEMY IS HARD, BUT OVER 100 DOLLARS IS CRAZY. WHAT A RIP OFF. IT IS NOT WORTH THAT MUCH. IT'S WORTH NO MORE THAN 30 DOLLARS SINCE IT'S ONLY HALF OF THE SEASON. I...
Published on December 27, 2011 by Bambi L. Tuckey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, July 17, 2006
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
awasome!!!!!! this is probably the best pokemon dvd thats ever come out.the box contains 3 dvds containing 20 episodes in all they are-

1 get the show on the road

2 a ruin with a view

3 theres no place like hoenn

4 you can never taillow

5 in the knicker of time

6 a poached ego

7 trees a crowd

8 a tail with a twist

9 taming of the shroomish

10 you said a mouthful

11 a bite to remember

12 the lotad lowdown

13 all things bright and beautifly

14 all in a days wurmple

15 gonna rule the school

16 the winner by a nosepass

17 stairway to devon

18 on a wingull and a prayer

19 sharpedo attack

20 brave the wave

I would definitely suggest this to every pokemon fan.the graphics are much better the episodes are great its pokemon and of course there is always pikachu, what else do you need ,truly worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely good deal for all Pokemon fans willing to put up the cash, May 16, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "geoffc86" (Manhattan Beach, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
This boxed set, while a bit more pricey than any individual DVD, is well worth the money. It contains every episode from Pokemon Advanced DVD volumes 1-4 (with approximately 7 episodes on each of 3 discs, for a total of 20). Purely in economic terms, this is a major bargain; buying all 4 volumes individually would run between $50-$60, or about $15-$25 more. If you are going to get the Pokemon Advanced DVD's, by all means, get them this way and save yourself enough to buy another DVD.

As far as the content: die-hard Pokemon fans would buy these episodes no matter what, so my only advice to them is the economic sense outlined above. If you're one of the many people who are probably a bit undecided on these episodes, I would recommend giving them a chance. If you never watched any of the later Johto League Champions or Master Quest episodes, then you will notice that the animation has improved significantly since the first couple seasons. Misty is gone, replaced by a girl named May (who was modeled after the heroine from the Ruby & Sapphire GameBoy Advance games). Make of that what you will; if you are a Misty fan, you will be disappointed, and vice-versa. Personally, I am of the frame of mind that, while she is in some respects a more interesting character than Misty (she starts out disliking Pokemon and gradually comes to appreciate them), she is not, and never could be, a suitable replacement for the character who captured my heart 8 years ago and had been a permanent cast member for 5 full years. In any case, she and Ash are joined by Max, May's younger brother, and, as the box art implies, Brock ultimately returns to the team in about the 4th episode. Both Ash and Brock sport new, different looks from those with which we are oh-so-familiar from past episodes, and Ash has matured somewhat since he left Pallet in the 1st anime episode from 1998. Team Rocket is omnipresent, as always, and the storyline primarily follows that of the Emerald version (villains from both Team Magma and Team Aqua drop in from time-to-time; we ultimately see both of the Ancient Legendary Pokemon that grace the games' boxes; and Juan is the Sootopolis Gym Leader, not Wallace). They tend to follow the games' storyline more closely than the Johto episodes did. To somewhat disenchanted Pokemon veterans: these storylines are generally better than many of those from the Johto continuity. Most importantly in my mind, they don't waste nearly as much time as they did during the middle and end of the Johto episodes.

Basically, I would highly recommend this release to anyone who really likes Pokemon, and also to those who just-plain like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Anime Buyers Guide:, March 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
If you want to collect some or all of the pokemon anime episodes on dvd, then here is a comprehensive guide that will help explain the progression of the pokemon series and the current availability in box set form.

Season 1: Indigo League (available in 3 dvd box sets, 79 episodes)

Season 2: Adventures in the Orange Islands (1 dvd box set, 35 episodes)

Season 3: The Johto Journeys (*no box set available, 41 episodes)

Season 4: Johto League Champions (*no box set available, 52 episodes)

Season 5: Master Quests (2 dvd box sets, 64 episodes)

Season 6: Advanced (2 dvd box sets, 40 episodes)

Season 7: Advanced Challenge (*no box set available, 52 episodes)

Season 8: Advanced Battle (*no box set available, 54 episodes)

Season 9: Battle Frontier (2 dvd box sets, 47 episodes)

Season 10: Diamond and Pearl (2 dvd box sets, 51 episodes)

Season 11: D/P Battle Dimension (tba)

Season 12 D/P Platinum (tba)

* = can be found on vhs and single disc dvd containing 3-6 episodes ea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Vol. 1 & 2, August 23, 2007
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
I bought them because the description said it was both in English and Japanese. It turns out it only has the English track, not Japanese. The subtitle is in English. I tried the language settings on the DVD players, but no avail. My kids enjoyed the content any way. But I wanted them to watch the Japanese version, since they are studying Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE this set, HATE the price!, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
I AM VERY DISAPOINTED IN AMAZON. OVER 100 DOLLARS?! ARE YOU PEOPLE CRAZY?! IT'S ONLY GOT 20 SOME EPISODES! I PAYED ONLY 60 DOLLARS AT EBAY FOR AN ANIME SET WITH 70 EPISODES! WOW, DOES THAT SAY ALOT. I KNOW THE ECONEMY IS HARD, BUT OVER 100 DOLLARS IS CRAZY. WHAT A RIP OFF. IT IS NOT WORTH THAT MUCH. IT'S WORTH NO MORE THAN 30 DOLLARS SINCE IT'S ONLY HALF OF THE SEASON. I COME TO AMAZON SINCE YOU GUYS HAVE BETTER DEALS THAN PUBLIC STORES, BUT THIS IS INSANE! I love this season, and my sister was about to buy it for me this Christmas, but then you guys jacked it up insanely high to a price where NO ONE will buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved it!, May 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
I ordered this box set for my son's 3rd Birthday. He loved it! The best part is there is a lot of episodes for the money. If your child is a Pokemon fan and you are on a budget, this is the box set to get. I have to admit even I thought some of the episodes were pretty good. I will contiune to purchase these boxed sets if they continue to keep the same standard of bang for the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Advanced, October 22, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
This was such a good season of Pokemon!! The episodes were great, I was thrilled to learn that I could buy all of the awesome episodes that I had enjoyed on TV! I love the episodes with May and contests, I think Drew is an awesome character and rival for May. That's another great thing about Pokemon, the characters are awesome, yet humorous, all while having that unique charm that makes me love them all.

Pokemon is definately one of the best TV shows out there, it's so worth the price when you're enjoying all the episodes this set contains. If you love the show, or are wanting to get to know Pokemon, buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hoenn Adventures Begin!, December 9, 2007
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
Fans of Pokemon will appreciate this Pokemon Advanced boxed set. It features the introduction of May and her little brother Max. Ash catches the memorable Treecko. And Jesse and James have to say goodbye to Arbok and Weezing. I don't think later seasons were able to quite capture the naive magic that the first season had, but this is still a highly entertaining box set for Poke-fans... and with 20 episodes in the set, it's a good bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Advanced Box Set 1, January 6, 2009
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
This fabulous DVD Box Set contains the first 20 episodes of the 6th Pokemon season "Advanced". Any Pokemon fan who likes to follow the adventures of Ash Ketchum MUST add this set to their collection!!!
I am personally very satisfied with this DVD and recommend it to all Pokemon fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars May & Max's debut! "Remarkable!" :), September 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1 (DVD)
What a fantastic collection of episodes for this first volume of "Pokemon Advanced!" I enjoyed each of the episodes very much! There was not one poorly-written episode to be found, so the "Pokemon Audience" is treated to some more exciting adventures!

Here are some of my favorite moments from each episode:

"Get the Show on the Road:" Most hilarious scenes for me: *When May's eyes bug out after seeing Duskull! *May telling Mudkip to use water gun, plus the result! *Jessie's worn out attitude during the Team Rocket Motto!

"A Ruin with a View:" James: "Spaghetti & meatballs with garlic bread sticks on the side!" ~Favorite line in the episode! Funny scene featuring Team Rocket's Pokemon going back into their Pokeballs after they see Team Magma's Pokemon! I also get a kick out of Team Rocket attempting to nearly whisper their motto, till Wobbuffet gave them away!

"There's No Place Like Hoenn:" Awesome background music featured as Pikachu battles Vigoroth! The Ash/Max argument is hilarious as is Max being the victim of Pikachu and Torchic's attacks! Ash's deadpan reaction to his friends falling into Team Rocket's pitfalls is classic, too!

"You Never Can Taillow:" Brock's stew to the rescue! His remark to Ash and May while cooking is priceless: "Guys, you're drooling on me!" Hilarious argument between Brock and Team Rocket over the sandwiches! Remember: "Unbeatability" is not a word! :)

"In the Knicker of Time!:" Some hilarious quotes: May: "I didn't know Zigzagoon could evolve into humans!"/James: "Surrender now with your exposed knees or prepare to fight!" :) Love the "copyright pitfall" scene! Nice showcase episode for Mudkip, too! Wonder where Nicholai stores his costumes? He pulls them out of thin air!

"A Poached Ego!:" Nice to see Team Rocket do something for good, like they do on a few other occasions! Check out a dramatic moment as Rico unleashes Pupitar at the end of Act 1! I think that Rico would be the perfect date for Hunter J from the Diamond and Pearl Season!

"Tree's a Crowd:" "When you want to catch a Pokemon you should weaken them in battle first..." ~Great reminder from May to Ash, as it was originally Ash who gave May the same advice, earlier on! :) Nice scene featuring Ash and Pikachu trying to help Treecko save the dying tree. The scene showing the vision of the tree blooming was moving.

"A Tail with a Twist:" I choose "Jessie!" :) You know, if Jessie kept Arbok all along, I'm sure it would have eventually evolved into a Seviper, so it wasn't a total loss for her! Treecko's training really paid off too!

"Taming of the Shroomish:" Jessie: "Work the chainsaw instead of your mouth! If I have to spend another minute in this jumpsuit I'm gonna scream!" James: "Yes ... They do have a tendency to ride up!" Ha, ha! :) Brock plays "Fraidy Cat" in this episode! Wobbuffet seems more hyper than usual, too!

"You Said a Mouthful:" Team Rocket's remarks about catching a "More Powerful Pokemon" to overpower the "Most Powerful Pokemon" are a hoot! :) Also, it looks like Anthony is wearing a WWE championship belt!

"A Bite to Remember:" A fine episode explaining the facts behind Pokemon evolution. Hilarious dialogue from Jessie about Albert Einstein "inventing the light bulb," and from James when he says to "Pull the lever thingy!"

"The Lotad Lowdown:" Brock's reaction to eating Natalie's pie is hilarious ("Uh, thanks! I'd love to! It looks really good!") and so was the Tomato Berry scene with Team Rocket! Meowth: "We can kiss our butts goodbye!" Ha, ha! :)

"All Things Bright and Beautifly:" Brock's remarks to Janet, as Beautifly lands on his head, had me in stitches: "HELLO! Is your mother a great artist? Cause you're a work of art! Pretty as a pict-yi!" Love the "Atrocious Spectacle" scene ... Seviper makes some pretty wacky sounds during that moment!

"All in a Day's Wurmple:" What gives? Jessie and May get different results by throwing a Pokeball at a Wurmple that isn't weakened! Love how Wobbuffet causes Team Rocket to "blast off." :) Wurmple's appetite is like that of Snorlax!

"Gonna Rule the School!:" Hilarious scene with Brock and Lotad inside the classroom! Great team effort with Max and the students, near the end of the episode. :) Kind of odd to see Team Rocket "Blasting off" with their backs to the camera!

"The Winner By A Nosepass:" Ash and Brock's acceptance of May's decision was nice. James is really psyched throughout this episode: "SHOVEL! SHOVEL!" Team Rocket's "outcome" is hilarious! The battle featuring Geodude was fantastic!

"Stairway to Devon:" The President of Devon Corporation reminds me of Willy Wonka! James' laugh is over the top in Team Rocket's opening scene! Team Rocket's attempt to fool Officer Jenny with their disguises is hilarious! :)

"On a Wingull and a Prayer:" Whoever ran the website featuring the directions which May printed out needs to brush up on their updates! At least Briney knows how to get pasta for the heroes! :) The "S.S. Wingull" is top-of-the-line!

"Sharpedo Attack!:" Check out how small Team Rocket's Margikarp Submarine is in proportion to the villains, in the very first shot, as they emerge from the sea! Funny how we hear Seviper's voice, for a change, instead of Wobbuffet's, while Team Rocket "Blasts off" at the end of Act 1! For their second blast off, Team Rocket shouts their usual phrase BEFORE actually blasting off!

"Brave The Wave:" Team Rocket's motto is hilarious, here: "Prepare for trouble! You want fries with that?" :) Good moral lessons learned about both battling and training near the end of the episode. "Wicked Wavage!" Ha, ha! :)

Before I close, I wanted to mention something unique in regard to the "Advanced" episodes of Pokemon ... When it comes to the musical themes used in the Pokemon series, notice that, in this season of Pokemon, the background music that accompanies the Team Rocket Motto has changed, yet I enjoy both themes equally. Also, notice that the instrumentation to the musical theme that is used whenever the Pokedex provides info is different. :)

Fantastic job to everyone who contributed in making the Pokemon episodes and the DVD sets! :) Thanks for reading! God Bless...

~KevyGuy :)
* * * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pokemon Advanced - Boxed Set Volume 1
Used & New from: $73.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.