Customer Reviews


355 Reviews
5 star:
 (299)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two old books one new cover
In case you didn't take the time to read the item's description, this is essentially the same exact book published in 2008. Pokemon: Ultimate Handbook) The only difference is the inclusion of the fifth generation of Pokémon (included in Pokemon: Black & White Handbook.) A major improvement upon both is the lack of a lot of the flaws that hindered each of the...
Published on August 5, 2012 by ✧ St. Winter ✧

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but I'm a huge sucker for this cover--I think it looks great. I'm really hung up on that alphabetical thing
Couldn't find a more recent publication including X&Y generation, and also why in the world is it in alphabetical order? It would make much more sense to have these in numeric order--like every other pokemon related guide. The paper is cheap, but I'm a huge sucker for this cover--I think it looks great. I'm really hung up on that alphabetical thing, though. It's...
Published 1 month ago by Ivy Margosian


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two old books one new cover, August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
In case you didn't take the time to read the item's description, this is essentially the same exact book published in 2008. Pokemon: Ultimate Handbook) The only difference is the inclusion of the fifth generation of Pokémon (included in Pokemon: Black & White Handbook.) A major improvement upon both is the lack of a lot of the flaws that hindered each of the previous releases. After careful examination, it appears only a couple of typo errors have carried over. Also notable is the lack of evolution info, as it was in the Ultimate Handbook. Event Pokémon are classified as "Mythical", and rare in-game Pokémon are classified as "Legendary". Otherwise, the artwork, information, etc. is all exactly the same as it was for each of the prior publications. For obvious reasons, Keldeo, Meloetta, and Genesect are not included in this handbook.

Regardless, this is worth buying if you're missing Ultimate Handbook or Black & White Handbook, or both. Great if you're a collector and just want to own all of the handbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Wonderful... What Every Pokémon Fan Should Have, October 25, 2012
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
I have to say that this book is very cool and would make a fantastic gift for the young fan.

The pages are bright and colorful and full of facts for over 640 Pokémon. And while some pages feature 2 characters per page, others have only one. All though will show a featured picture, as well as images of the evolutionary path(s).

There isn't a huge amount written about the Pokémon, but there's a pronunciation guide, list of possible moves, type, weight, height, and region in which it can be found.

For example, about Rhydon the book says, "Rhydon can use the horn on it's head to barrel though thick rock. It is slightly smarter than Rhyhorn." The region is Kanto; and the type is 'Ground-rock'.

A fun book that's kid-friendly. The Essential Handbook just might motivate your youngster to read more.

Pam T~
mom to a Poké fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Pokemon Handbook, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
One of my granddaughters and a grandson from the same household had this book on their Christmas list. They wanted separate books so they didn't have to share. My children were skeptical. When the books were opened, they were the hit of everyone under 40. My kids could barely let the kids look at them and the other grandkids want the book now. A big hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Daughter the Pokémon Fanatic, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
My 8 year old daughter loves everything Pokémon. She checked this book out at her school's library and asked Santa for it because she loved it so much. Santa delivered and so did Amazon, the best buying site on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
My son loves it! This is a very detailed book with great illustrations and facts. Pokemon fans will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly essential for Pokémon fans, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
The list in this book is a bit outdated, nonetheless it's a great fan's guide to the many Pokémon characters. Detailed info is given and the artwork is really nice. Print and paper quality is high, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 7-yr old loves this book!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
He is crazy about Pokemon now and we recently ordered this book for him. He loves it! He doesn't play the game yet but is lovin' it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon lovers, this book is for you, April 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
I originally bought this for my Pokemon obsessed sons. However, my now Pokemon obsessed 3 year old DAUGHTER hoards this book as though it's hers. She loves looking at the characters and pointing out who she knows and the ones she already (ahem, that she stole from her brothers) has. Perfect book for the perfect Pokemon fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birthday preasent, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
Got this for my daughter she loved it! pics bright and the big text easy to read. service was fast and would recmenf it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves it Highly recommend for the Pokemon fan, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon: Essential Handbook (Paperback)
If you have a child that is into Pokemon, look no further than this handbook. It shows every pokemon (does not include x/y generation) and its different evolution stagesif applicable. It is basically a Pokemon encyclopedia. Son loves it and reads it daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pokemon: Essential Handbook
Pokemon: Essential Handbook by Cris Silvestri (Paperback - August 1, 2012)
$9.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.