Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big step up from the original Gold games,
A big step up from the original Gold games, the warm and colorful visuals in HeartGold run on the same engine used by other Pokemon games on the DS. Other aspects of the presentation are still rooted deep in the past, although the soundtrack and environmental audio effects have been nicely improved.

The visual updates and minor additions are all decent...
Published on September 2, 2011 by Judith J. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it doesn't exactly work
at points an times the game freezes trying to figure out why its greatly inconvenience cause i'm saving and it stops working....and i have poke walkers but they don't work with the game no clue why though.
Published 2 months ago by john


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big step up from the original Gold games,, September 2, 2011
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
A big step up from the original Gold games, the warm and colorful visuals in HeartGold run on the same engine used by other Pokemon games on the DS. Other aspects of the presentation are still rooted deep in the past, although the soundtrack and environmental audio effects have been nicely improved.

The visual updates and minor additions are all decent improvements on the original game.

Taking place in the Johto region, the story in HeartGold and SoulSilver is one that has been echoed throughout most of the series. You are a young lad (or girl, if you choose), summoned to the lab of the local Pokemon professor who asks you to help out with his research and lets you pick one of several critters to accompany you on your travels. Then it's off into the world you go, lending a hand for the greater good of all Pokemon while also working to become the top trainer around. Johto's numerous nooks and crannies provide refuge to hundreds of different species of Pokemon. Tracking down and catching all the rarest species, training them so they grow more powerful, and using them in turn-based, RPG-style battles to defeat other rivals you encounter along the way has always been the cornerstone of the Pokemon series. It was an addictive and enjoyable concept back when it first appeared, and it's just as absorbing 12 years later.

Exploration and adventure in the Johto region follow a natural progression. You hunt for new creatures and power them up through repeated battles in the wild. Pokemon fall under different types, and many have unique abilities that are stronger or weaker against other specific types. This plays heavily into the strategy of the game's turn-based battles. Once you're strong enough, you seek out gym trainers in nearby towns to battle in order to test your mettle and progress. Defeating these tougher opponents earns you badges that make it easier to control higher-level Pokemon. It also lets you use special abilities outside of battle to access new areas of the map. Aside from the steady cycle of catch-train-battle-repeat, there are other interesting things to seek out in the small towns, larger cities, and wilds beyond. The local inhabitants, for starters, are quirky. Chatting with them yields chuckle-worthy conversational antics as often as it does experience-boosting battles. There are also numerous side quests to undertake, special items to track down, and minigames to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars game, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
bought this game for my son. he wanted for a while and I happen to find it on amazon. he was surprised to see it when it arrived. a small price to pay in exchange of your child's happiness.:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it doesn't exactly work, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
at points an times the game freezes trying to figure out why its greatly inconvenience cause i'm saving and it stops working....and i have poke walkers but they don't work with the game no clue why though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was what expected, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
The game itself is really entertaining and has a lot of miselaneous that creates the magic of playing it. As it today I have not witnesses any glich or unexpected malfunctions with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
I used to have this game...but it had been lost in a move. I was so excited to get it again. Works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work., December 30, 2013
By 
B. Eubanks (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
I got this for my son's birthday and it didn't work past the 5th gym. Apparently, I was sold a bootlegged copy. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
Rustycar2 was a Great seller guaranteed the authenticity of the games and delivered. Heart gold and Soulsilver Pokémon FAKE games seem to be a common problem but these are REAL Pokémon games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yeah..., May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
Within the first week of receiving the game, it stopped working. Somehow it would just freeze up when I loaded my game. Stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pokemon!, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
I reccommend you guys to buy HeartGold and Pearl and POKEMON Y Verison combined with legendaries. You must have 2 ds and trade pokemon so you dont have to replay all over again. The best thing about this game is full of legendaries and the bad thing is to lvl up faster is battle trainers and elite four. You CANT train pokemon on bushes because its mostly a rat pokemon lvl 4 or 2 and its mostly everywhere! That is the bad thing about heartgold the good thing is searching for islands but pokemon pearl is a lot of fun since you can catch a legendary. DONT WASTE your pokeball on a regular legendary that cant escape because it'll be a waste. use it like on pokemon dogs or birds expect the default legendary on your game/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gave as a bday gift to a 9 yr. old girl, June 2, 2012
By 
J Z (Omaha, NE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
I don't understand what it is about Pokemon, but the kids still love it. She must have a handful of different Pok games now. I don't get it, but she seems to like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DS Pokemon HeartGold Game Only (No Pokewalker)
Used & New from: $53.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.