Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a complete Pokedex
The guide to the Kanto Region is useful, following in the same pattern as the Johto guide already released and the Sinnoh guide released for Platinum. However, the real use for this book is the complete Pokedex.
The 'Dex has every pokemon in it, with the useful charts we've all been waiting for. Using this guide you can easily see the full set of moves a pokemmon...
Published on April 27, 2010 by veotho

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really serves no purpose
The only thing this helped me figure out was how to evolve certain Pokemon and the location of a few others, information that could've easily been obtained through the internet. It's also kind of a spoiler alert if you haven't played this game before - would highly advise against this book if you like being surprised. Not to mention, the title says it shows you how where...
Published 5 months ago by Jessica Young


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a complete Pokedex, April 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
The guide to the Kanto Region is useful, following in the same pattern as the Johto guide already released and the Sinnoh guide released for Platinum. However, the real use for this book is the complete Pokedex.
The 'Dex has every pokemon in it, with the useful charts we've all been waiting for. Using this guide you can easily see the full set of moves a pokemmon can learn, from levels gained, TMs, egg moves, and moves taught by the Move Maniac or learned through the Battle Frontier. This is all on top of the basics you would expect from a Pokedex, being a list of abilities, egg groups, stats, pokedex entries, and even Pokeathlon perfromance. Also listed are ways to obtain each pokemon in all five of the fourth generation games.
Overall a very useful guide to some of the best games to hit the Nintendo DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complete PokeDex for the DS Generation, May 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Pokemon games have generally been released a few every generation. The original games (Red, Blue, and Yellow) for the GameBoy are considered the 1st Generation games; the sequels built for the GB Color(Silver, Gold, and Crystal) are considered 2nd Gen, etc. That makes the DS gen games the 4th Gen PKMN games, and this PokeDex/Guide is built with that in mind. New and/or revised move-sets, Pokemon types, evolutions, natures, etc. are detailed and described as they are in the newer 4th Gen games, that is Pokemon Diamond, Pearl, PLatinum, and the new SoulSilver and HeartGold. In other words, those looking for a complete PokeDex for any other game should look elsewhere. Those interested in the 4th Gen games are in for a real treat.

The ultra large (500+ pages) book does exactly what its title says; its a full Kanto guide and a full PokeDex, and it does both, for the most part, extremely well.

The Kanto guide contains full and detailed maps (as are seen in-game), tips, and a complete walkthrough. The walkthrough doesn't start just as you enter the Kanto region, however, it assumes you've already beaten the Elite Four and have gained admission to the Hall of Fame. the guide features things like what Pokemon are found in what location, where items are, and dungeon "connections" (doorway "A" leads to this part of the map). The Battle Frontier, tips for the PokeWalker, the Saffari Zone, and a beefy section that details new battle strategies and PKMN teams all help to make this guide stand out from a simple bare-bones walkthropugh. A nice feature i found was a complete list of what event happens at what date, given that SoulSilver/HeartGold rely heavily on a real time clock, this feature is unbelievably important. Another neat feature was a simple recommend route to completing the entirety of your Kanto quest. The Kanto region is much less linear than the Johto region, and this "recommendation" could be very helpful to some.

One noticeable and disappointing omission is lack of any "real" info on regular trainers. Gym Leaders have a list of used PKMN as well as tips on how to defeat them, but regular trainer have just a name. The guide doesn't show what PKMN a trainer uses. Its unfortunate and is the only reason why this product gets **** instead of 5*.

The PokeDex section includes ALL 493 PKMN, and everyone has a half page devoted to it. Within its space things like possible abilities, moves (learned, TM, Move Maniac, Egg, and Battle Frontier moves all covered), evolutions, info (the same as the in-game PKDX info about the PKMN), egg type, and specially useful for completionists is the location in which you can find the PKMN (and in what 4th Gen game).

All pages have an abundance of color and are never boring. Art, images, and tips can be found in EVERY page. The edges of the pages have a mostly solid color (EX, Walkthrough = orange, Dex = Red) that makes quickly opening up the book to a certain section very easy. The same concept is applied to the Dex, where 1st Gen PKMN can be found in the pages with a green hue on the top/bottom. remember that these colors can be seen while the book is closed, so the navigation is the 500+ page book is simple.

The product is just about everything any PokeFan could wish for (the only flaw being the skimpy trainer detail), tips, strategies, PKMN info, maps, etc. Its built with a sturdy frame, is large, and the pages are nice and thick. At the very reasonable price, im very easily recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars April 2010 Pokedex, April 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I'll agree with Veotho on essentially every point, I'd add that the Pokewalker information is also extremely useful, I'm a little disappointed that there isn't information on the Yellow Road special course that you get for going online with the game, because there are secret special Pikachu's to be had if you know the secrets readily available online. Other than that, it's a bargain and at Amazon prices they are way more reasonable than you'll likley find anyplace else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for young readers ... and their dads, May 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
WHY I BOUGHT POKÉMON ::
I got a DS Lite and Pokémon for myself and my kids for the soul purpose of getting something for rainy days and travels that I can do with my kids. It has gone better then I even thought. As silly as it may sound Pokémon has become something fun for my kids and I to talk about and trade and plan together. It creates yet another point of contact for

WHY THIS GUIDE IS BETTER THAN THE INTERNET FOR YOUNG READERS ::
I play a number of video games and have found that the best resources are not strategy books, but the internet. But this book and the other strategy guides are excellent for my kids. They will sit on the couch together and read together and discuss strategies and greet me at the door when I come home to tell me something new that they learned about a particular pokémon.

I highly recommend this strategy guide. It has EVERYTHING a person needs to go deeper into the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, August 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I wanted a full pokedex, and this guide has it, besides having the walkthrough for the Kanto part of the HeartGold/SoulSilver journey. It was much cheaper here than at any store. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have for the poke'nerd, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I love pokemans, and when I first saw this I knew I needed to get it. It's got everything you could possibly know about jhoto and kanto pokeman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Exactly what I needed. It's simple and easy to follow and comes with so much more than what you think you're getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great full color Pokedex and information book, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
An extremely comprehensive Pokedex, guide and manual. Full-color illustrated pages chalk full of art and information, including tips and tricks, a glossary of Pokemon moves, HM's, items etc. a walkthrough to the second part of Soulsilver & Heartgold versions and much, much more. The layout is a bit difficult to understand at first; I wouldn't recommend for children below their teen years for this very reason. Pokedex is extremely comprehensive and vast, providing one with a slew of information on every Pokemon present in the game and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well-made !!, April 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I don't usually buy guides but this one is a pleasure, especially when you did not played to Pokemon for 8 years or so and so many new pokemons have appeared since and you don't know what they are or their evolutions. The guide gathers pokemons from blue and red to Heart gold and soul silver (before black and white).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This game guide was very helpful for me in my game play experience. The product was received in a timely manner with no damage to the merchandise or packaging. I'll definitely consider ordering from this company in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver The Official Pokemon Kanto Guide National Pokedex: Official Strategy Guide
$19.99 $14.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.