Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on April 29, 2009
Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time excels in both fun and challenge. It certainly is much improved from the previous Mystery Dungeon games, Red and Blue. The storyline is beyond impressive, and Treasure Town has been amplified beautifully and gives the player so much to do. It also adds a really addicting and useful minigame where you identify the footprints of Pokemon. (This gives the player "Poke", the game's currency of money. So it's not only fun and gives you a break from dungeons, but it's useful and you can play it anytime.) The previous games in this series lacked that and more, making the game annoying.
There is almost no downside to this game unless you are too used to the usual Pokemon game that revolves around battling. While there is combat in Mystery Dungeon, it is brought down to a different level and is revamped entirely. The game gives you a much needed break from the stresses on constant battling in games such as Pokemon Diamond. A lot of reviews complain about the reading level and quantity. Albeit, the quantity is rough, but you should really be buying less intense games for your kids anyway. I'd recommend this game for kids ages 8 and up.
There is little difference between Time and Darkness except the availability in Pokemon throughout the game. Time has a huge advantage over Darkness because it gives the player access to the Pokemon Lucario, which is extremely popular because it was featured in a Pokemon movie and it is highly loved by the younger audience of Pokemon (especially boys.) Darkness has access to much weaker and less exciting Pokemon, such as Lopunny and Rotom, which is why Time is favored.
The storyline is very involved and really pulls the player in, while still keeping it kid friendly and thought provoking. The game is challenging, and at times can really work your brain muscles, because no two dungeons are ever the same.
The graphics done in classic sprite style are adorable and innovative, giving this game a look of its own that seperates it from other games.

All being said, this game deserves no less than 5 stars.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2008
I purchased this game for my grandson's 10th birthday. He had already given me a "hint" as to what he wanted. After he opened this gift, he was "locked in" for the rest of the day. Nothing else mattered. The birthday party went on without him as he was off into another world. I have not played this game myself, but I am sure he considers it his best gift. To grab and keep the attention of a 10-year old, it has to be the best.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2008
I am a big Pokemon fan, so I love Pokemon games. When I started playing Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time, I fell in love with it. I can't find one flaw in this game. The music fits every scene, the dungeons are challenging and the guild members are lovely. I never get bored with this game. The story is very interesting and even has a few plot twists. So surprising. I love all the color this game has. It's beautiful. And all of the missions keep the game challenging and fun. The dungeon designs are hard to figure out, but that's what keeps it interesting. This is easy at first, but it soon gets hard, but it wouldn't be very fun if it were easy, would it? The story is actually fast, depending on how much you play the game. I got through the storyline in a week. It was hard, but I loved it. The graphics are bright and beautiful. This game is flawless to me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on September 26, 2009
This game, along with its counterpart game, is actually much better than the Pokemon Mystery Dungeon games of the past (Blue/Red Rescue Team; which were really good in their own right). I'll grade all of the awesomeness, and what they could work on, with a grading system (A+ being the best, F- being the worst):

Storyline (A-): A VERY engaging storyline! Though it shares many of the same premises as previous games (e.g. you're a human who turned into a Pokemon), you realize how much deeper the storyline goes after you play for a while: "Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time/Darkness" really live up to the "Mystery" reputation this time, as you have a lot more mysteries to solve. In the previous games, the only things you tried to find out are: A. Why did you become a Pokemon, and B. Why are nature and Pokemon going out of whack? The same mysteries stand here, but with a LOT more added: you're partner pokemon (picked by how you respond to the questionaire) has a mysterious treasure, and you try to solve the mystery of that, as well. Other mysteries, including why a Grovyle is stealing time gears, and why certain other characters behave the way they do, are also intertwined; but, those are only the MAIN mysteries! Many other smaller mysteries like: is there really a cave behind the waterfall, or does a mysterious lake really exist, also present themselves! The mysteries are endless! The only real gripe I have with the storyline is the fact that they have so much story that they fail to tie some things up. An example is with Grovyle: what happens to him after all is said and done? What happens to his friends? It fails to wrap that up properly. Another somewhat gripe is that this story is of a slightly darker and more serious nature at some points: nothing to really be worried about, but it does get intense. Also, the ending makes you cry; of course, that's not really any different from the last games.

Gameplay (B+): You have basically the same solid gameplay from the last games, but it seems harder in the dungeons. It's pretty easy to get your butt kicked in about the third dungeon you visit (which is not far off from the game's start!). However, few elements besides difficulty have been added to change up what the gameplay is from the previous games, which makes it seem like "same old, same old," at times. If not for the story, and how it affects the times in between the dungeons, this game would hardly be any different from the previous ones. That's not necessarily a bad thing, though: veterans will know what to expect. Though this RPG seems like it's live action at times, it is indeed turn-based in the dungeons (where you will spend most of your time). You wander around the floors trying to find the quickest way out of the dungeon, usually; though there are missions that other Pokemon will give you to ask to do other things (like take down a criminal). Dungeons are roughly designed like the last game: there are items scattered around, which you will try to collect, and stairs lead to the next floor and eventually out of the dungeon. Nothing wrong with all of that: it's fun, just not fresh. The VERY beginning of the game is also old-hat, as your starter and partner is chosen by how you answer questions to a quiz. Now, where gameplay REALLY shines in difference is with the new addition of Wigglytuff's guild, which is also where the story shines. You basically train in the guild, like a student would train at a school; a Loudred is your alarm clock every morning, for the most of the game, your characters eat dinner before the night is through, and there is a lot of fun interaction. There is also a "sentry duty" mini game, that requires your stylus; other than that mini game, however, control with the stylus is optional (which is a good thing). You can also read a couple of diaries from other guild members, getting their thoughts on the situation, and interact a lot with the townsfolk; the most fun comes out of learning how everything works. You can see where creativity went into it, as they left no questions unanswered this time. You can also hatch Pokemon eggs in the game this time, though the process is kind of boring until you get the new Pokemon. Overall, the gameplay is great; it's just not very new in the dungeons, which isn't too bad, but kind of repetitious.

Music (A): The music in the Pokemon Mystery Dungeon series are often a lot better than traditional Pokemon Game music. This game is no exception, as there are some FABULOUS musical scores here! Each melody fits the mood of the dungeon, and is immersive, practically inviting the player to exploring the world to the fullest! There are a couple of tunes that are repetitious (Treasure Town's song comes to mind), but most of the music is pretty solid as far as games go. Veterans will even recognize one song as a creative remix and combination of many songs from the last game (which sounds pretty good)!

Graphics (B): When I played this game, I often felt that most of the graphics screamed, "Been there, done that!" It's kind of hard to top variety in area graphics, considering that the first set of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon games were all over the place (volcanic areas, snowy mountains, etcetera); but most of the graphics screamed, "rehash" from the last games. There's nothing wrong with the graphics, as they are pretty enough (though boring in longer dungeons, at it usually only differs from dungeon to dungeon), but veteran Pokemon Mystery Dungeon gamers might find most of them uninspired. Even the town looks pretty much the same, save for the addition of a few new shops and stuff (some of which, I never even use). This game's saving grace in graphics are that a few fresh ideas were thrown in (the Crystal Cave level, Nightmare levels, and Grim Future levels), which does add a hint of unpredictability; very fun! However, original level designs were far and few between this time. A shame, really.

Characters (A+): Character design was great! A lot more characters were mixed in here, and with greater importance: just about every character had an interesting role! Wigglytuff makes for a humorous guild master, yet he's smarter than he appears; Chatot, Wigglytuff's assistant, usually stands as your real boss, as he's pretty bossy, but he's also funny at times; Sunflora plays one of those "omigosh" girls, who use valley expressions and stuff; Bidoof is like an easily-excited sympathizer, as he was the newest member before you came along; and there many others! Sometimes, other characters will even tag along with your own in the dungeons: a refreshing experience! All of the characters will capture your interest, and make the gameplay FAR more interesting this time around.

Replayability (D): As far as replay values go, this game doesn't have much to offer; one of its biggest mistakes is having you move out of the guild after you "graduate," which immediately saps away most of the charm of the game. Once you truly complete the story, the most you can do is go after legendary Pokemon; a good challenge, I suppose, but just not as exciting. You can also continue to accept missions from the boards, but what's the point once you reach the highest rank? I think the programmers suspected that replay values wouldn't be too good, which is why they made the length of the game so long. Sadly, the best replay value you will find is restarting the game from scratch; and that's not even as fun, since the story becomes predictable at that point.

Overall (A-): Though this Pokemon game isn't a hundred percent ground-breaking, it's still great as games come. You'll be entertained for hours, solving mysteries and finding treasure; 'cause, let's face it, when is hunting for treasure NOT fun? Very creative, with inspired characters! I recommend this game to Pokemon fans and non-Pokemon fans alike, as this is a fun way to spend a boring afternoon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on July 4, 2008
This game was given to me for my birthday, and I had extremely high expectations for it. Fortunately, I was not disappointed. This game had an enchanting storyline to go along with the vivid graphics and characters. Like with Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Red and Blue, it has a sad ending, but with a joyous conclusion. Throughout the game are twists and turns so amazing that you can't be sure what to think, or who to trust.
The only problem I can find is the long cut-scenes, but I can hardly complain, as they are crucial to understanding the the whole story. Along terms of difficulty, the bosses are hard, but not not too hard. All your other opponents seem easy, but they can be deadly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 16, 2008
This game is addictive. It is a dramatic, emotional, and friendship seeking game. Even though when the game is over, there is even more fun stuff to do! Even though it can be beaten in about a week, this game is really fun! You should get this if youy are a fan of pokemon, and liked the first game. I aim to get all 490 Pokemon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on August 18, 2008
pokemon mystery dungeon is a great game if you like mysteries. pokemon mystery dungeon can be sad like when pokemon disapear thier is happy parts of the game too. you might want to be able to read to read to realy like the game alot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on May 10, 2008
Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time Was one of the best games I've played. In fact, as much as I love it, it's better than Super Smash Brothers Brawl in my opinion. It does have a interesting story line, during the main story and the after. I've completed the game, and yet I can't stop even though there's not THAT much to do. I suggest this game to any Pokemon fan that enjoyed the last Pokemon Mystery Dungeon. It would still be good even if they haven't played the previous one that was terrific as well. It is totally worth the money, and will have you want to play it 24/7 as it did for me. It is also challenging but not too hard. Which makes great games. If you're not sure to buy this game or not, keep in mind this review and remember how much I liked it to give it a big 5 out of 5 star. If you have this game, you might know what I'm talking about right now. It has many twists and turns that make the game even more fun during the main story. If you played the last one, you may know that the ending was a little sad. This is one of the sad endings too, but will have you happy at the beginning of the after story. It is also interesting because it is sorted out into chapters like a book. This game isn't too long, but it's not short. This is my review of the terrific game that was made April 20th.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2008
I am definitely not the Pokemon fan in our house, but all the little boys are. We pre-ordered this & received it mid-week last week (thank you, Amazon). Everything else was immediately forgotten, because "my new game is here!"
He has played it quite a bit in the last week, and says it's the best Pokemon game yet. I can't give specifics, but it's definitely a 5-star rating from our household.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2008
Love these rescue-type games! I feel like a hero when I have accomplished rescue jobs! Many graphics in the game are beautiful, and it is simple to learn!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.