Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (99)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the artist in you
Let's be honest... this film isn't great. Reviewers who are praising its "GREAT COLOR!" and clarity may be confused with Polacolor peel-apart film, which yields extremely high quality. This stuff, on the other hand, is consumer-grade and is worse than 35mm film in these respects.
That's why I love it. While it isn't accurate, this film's color...
Published on July 1, 2002 by Orphelius Q. Witherspoon

versus
52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars expired
this film arrived quickly and fit the camera just fine. however, even though the expiration date said 2009, the film had clearly been tainted in some other way, left out in heat or cold, or something, because the color was very poor and the pictures never really fully developed, maintaining a fuzzy, orange-ish color. Hopefully it was only this batch, but as the film has...
Published on July 25, 2008 by Mary Christine Holland


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the artist in you, July 1, 2002
Let's be honest... this film isn't great. Reviewers who are praising its "GREAT COLOR!" and clarity may be confused with Polacolor peel-apart film, which yields extremely high quality. This stuff, on the other hand, is consumer-grade and is worse than 35mm film in these respects.
That's why I love it. While it isn't accurate, this film's color reproduction says "Polaroid" all over it. That really adds a certain dimension to your photos. Especially if you are photographing more "serious" subjects (i.e., not just family/friends), the polaroid has a way of lightening it up and making your photography look more nonchalant. It also "ages" your film for you, giving the photographs an old, faded feel right from the start.
If you've got an old polaroid camera lying around the house, take it out, by a pack of this stuff, and experiment. It's a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Film Manufactured, April 1, 2009
By 
S. Eason (McKinney, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Polaroid 600 Instant Color Film - 3 Pack (Accessory)
A group of investors has leased the Polaroid process, building and equipment for 10 years to develop a new film for old Polaroids. They call it the "Impossible Project" group. I saw the article today dated 03/23/09. Good news for those of us who have held onto them. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars expired, July 25, 2008
This review is from: Polaroid 600 Instant Color Film - 3 Pack (Accessory)
this film arrived quickly and fit the camera just fine. however, even though the expiration date said 2009, the film had clearly been tainted in some other way, left out in heat or cold, or something, because the color was very poor and the pictures never really fully developed, maintaining a fuzzy, orange-ish color. Hopefully it was only this batch, but as the film has gotten so expensive and difficult to find, I won't be able to afford risking it again with this provider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Buying: Do Your Research On Expired Film, August 30, 2012
Guys. Polaroid stopped making this film in 2005/6. Of course the film is expired. I *highly* suggest you read up on expired film & their benefits and potential risks before loading up on expired film.

Expired film is a gamble. It's prone to shifts in color, saturation, and grain. Fans of expired film love it because of its unpredictable results. Some dislike it for that exact reason. Obviously others who don't know the potential risks of expired film will not be pleased with their purchase. Head to the Impossible Project if you want Polaroid films that are fresh.

The way film is stored has a huge impact on the picture quality you'll get out of expired film. Cold storage = Good. Attic storage = Bad. Film needs to be stored in the refrigerator. It's highly doubtful that the film you bought for $1 at an estate sale has been stored properly. So, Expired Film = Unpredictable. Buying Expired Film = Even More Unpredictable.

Me, well I'm one of those people who love expired film, particularly this film because of its color saturation. I have a heads-up when buying expired film, especially Polaroid because of its cost. Do your research, know the rules, and if you decide to take a chance, maybe you'll get sucked in to the appreciation of the unexpected and fun factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got an SX-70? You CAN use 600 film if.., May 29, 2008
By 
Hi.. you might have an old Polaroid SX-70 camera (introduced around 1973 at a retail price of $300.00 to $350.00).. sitting in a drawer or closet that you haven't used for years.. SX-70 film packs, which became Polaroid "Time Zero" film, have not been made for a few years.. and have vanished from stores.. about the only place to find it is at that huge online auction site i won't name but you know who i'm talking about.. and Time Zero film sells for insane prices.. so you're asking yourself, can i use Polaroid 600 film packs in my SX-70 camera?.. well the answer is yes and no.. first the no part..

600 film has an ASA speed of 600.. Time Zero film was two stops slower.. the SX-70 has NO film speed adjustment.. PLUS, 600 film packs, although they look identical to Time Zero film packs, also have some little metal tabs on them that Time Zero film packs don't have.. which means you have to go through a song and dance just to get one to fit into an SX-70.. and then if you shoot pictures, they'll come out totally washed-out and over-exposed because the SX-70 can't handle the much faster 600 speed film.. so what to do?..

well, the SX-70 CAN be modified in a number of ways to let it use 600 film and expose it correctly for excellent results.. AND to get around those nasty little tabs on the 600 film pack cartridges so it slides right in just like Time Zero film..

so it's both a physical modification to the camera, PLUS an electronic modification to its internal circuit board to fool its light sensor into using 600 film packs..

you can buy a Neutral Density (ND) filter that snaps on over the little light sensor window on the front of the camera next to the shooting lens, but that's a "band-aid" solution, as the filter sticks out, preventing you from folding the camera back down unless you take the filter off..

you can hack the built-in light sensor window and install a round piece of plastic to change the light sensor's behavior, if you have the nerve and the skills and the tools to do the physical mod yourself.. then you also have to do a physical mod to the film pack slot so a 600 pack will slide in, getting around those little metal tabs problem..

the ultimate solution is to have a pro make both an internal electronic modification to adjust the camera's light sensor circuitry to be happy with 600 film, AND make the physical mod to the film-loading slot so the 600 packs slide right in just like good old Time Zero packs did.. this is what i had done to my Vintage 1973 SX-70.. it cost me $100.00 for these modifications, but i dealt with a local pro who has done it to hundreds of SX-70 cameras.. as Amazon probably doesn't like reviewers linking to external Web sites, i'm not going to link to the site that belongs to the guy who modded my SX-70 for me.. you'll have to do some searching around yourself, and you'll find Web sites that explain how to do these mods yourself, as well as the site that belongs to the guy who did the mod for me.. since he was local to me, he picked up my camera, did the mods, and brought it back the next day..

then i went to a local store and bought a few fresh packs of 600 film, and this 35 year old camera now has a new lease on life.. it accepts the 600 film packs without any hassle, correctly exposes it, and i get excellent results, and at about $12.00 to $13.00 a pack, Polaroid 600 film is basically the same price as Time Zero film was years ago when it was in stores.. so you pay about $1.30 per shot..

if you visit polaroid.com and read their news area, you'll learn that they are phasing out ALL their instant films (many like Time Zero are already long-gone).. and come the end of 2009, there won't be ANY new 600 film produced any more.. so if you have one of Polaroid's later, cheaper cameras like the One-Step, and you want to keep using it, stock up on 600 film while it's still out there.. if you store it SEALED in its box in your refrigerator, it'll extend its expiration from months to up to a year.. just don't freeze it!.. and if you do store it in your refrigerator, before you plan to use it, take it out of cold Storage and let it sit at room temperature for at least two hours.. (this directly from the mouth of a Polaroid rep i just spoke with)..

if you want to use the still-produced 600 film in your old SX-70 (regular or Sonar auto-focus models).. you'll need to modify the camera both physically and electronically, but if done correctly, 600 film WILL work correctly in a modified SX-70.. there's no reason your former $350.00 camera has to spend the rest of its life as a paperweight..

if you want to keep using Time Zero film, you'll pay as much for a couple of packs as a professional modification to the camera costs..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice deal., September 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polaroid 600 Instant Color Film - 3 Pack (Accessory)
I bought this film last month for about five dollars less and I just now noticed that they sent me the wrong film. Rather than sending me 600 film I got three packs of 779. So I got an even better deal.

The color still isn't as true on the 779, it has a darker saturation giving it this vintage feel. As an avid artist, I do lots of photography work along side painting and drawing. For the artist, this film is very nice if they like color distortion. For every day use, the user may be more satisfied with a 35mm film or digital camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polaroid 600 twin pack - excellent product service, July 11, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My film arrived promptly and in excellent condition. I wish the expiration date had been further away (I ordered in May 09, the packs will expire in 8/09), but there's nothing the supplier can do about that as Polaroid has stopped production. I will order from this company again. The service was well above average. I love Polaroid and like many others I wish they weren't ceasing production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A product with timeless quality that is undersetimated, May 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polaroid 600 Instant Color Film - 3 Pack (Accessory)
Polaroid 600 Instant Color Film (3 Pack)This product is now very hard to find at local stores that seem to only sell digital and disposable cameras.Yet, the Polaroid instamatic film truly is most convenient when traveling or when you just dont have time to go to a drug store and get digital film or disposable camera film developed.Polaroid 600 film along with the Polaroid 600 camera is the least time consuming way to preserve with fine quality those pictures that mean a lot to you.I wouldnt be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Old Polaroid Film, November 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The film I received was old and the quality of the prints was not good. The seller tried to make good on my order even though he had a "no refund" policy, he sent me a replacement pack. Much to my dismay, the newer film still had a brown hue to it. I'm telling you, Polaroid film now, is so expensive and to not get good prints, well I'm pretty much done paying all that money and the pictures don't come even come out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well pleased, July 10, 2009
I ordered a twin pack of Polaroid 600 film. You can not find this in the stores anymore. The ordering was easy, and the film arrived in just a few days. It was brand new, had never been opened. I was very pleased with my order. I will order from this place again.

Thanks, Judy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Polaroid 600 Instant Color Film - 3 Pack
$159.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.