Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Double Threat
The Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer is a wonderful tool for the indoor and outdoor cook. It is accurate, study, and easy to read. The price cannot be beat, and it is highly rated by many cooking sources, including America's Test Kitchen. I do quite a lot of grilling and barbequing and have found this to be a great tool to measure both the grill and...
Published on August 23, 2007 by Christopher M. West

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good product
First the bottom half of the thermometer was defective. Amazon replaced it. Then the top half of the replacement went defective. Amazon refunded the purchase price of the item, as I didn't want anymore replacements on this item. I should add that I used both items only 2-3 times. Amazon was very helpful in this matter. P.S. Obviously I wouldn't recommend this product to...
Published on October 19, 2007 by Paul Marcus


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Double Threat, August 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
The Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer is a wonderful tool for the indoor and outdoor cook. It is accurate, study, and easy to read. The price cannot be beat, and it is highly rated by many cooking sources, including America's Test Kitchen. I do quite a lot of grilling and barbequing and have found this to be a great tool to measure both the grill and smoker temperature, and to gauge when the meat is done. My wife, who does much of the indoor cooking, has found this to be an effective and efficient tool. We recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exc easy to read thermometer, June 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
Just love how easy this is to read and esp like monitoring both the oven temp and item being cooked temp with one thermometer. What a great idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good product, October 19, 2007
By 
Paul Marcus "Cooking wanabe" (Centereach, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
First the bottom half of the thermometer was defective. Amazon replaced it. Then the top half of the replacement went defective. Amazon refunded the purchase price of the item, as I didn't want anymore replacements on this item. I should add that I used both items only 2-3 times. Amazon was very helpful in this matter. P.S. Obviously I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone. (Polder 12453 dual?? oven thermometer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective Product, November 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
I purchased this thermometer in late September but first used it on Thanksgiving; the bottom half, which is supposed to read the oven temp, doesn't work. Just as Mr. Marcus, an earlier reviewer indicated. I am currently attempting to reach Amazon to discuss how to proceed, as I am out of the return window for this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware, November 21, 2007
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
Worked once and then no more ... another item to add to the overcrowding landfill. Save the earth, your money, and your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It has potential, May 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
Pros: Good for slow-roasting meat in the oven or on the grill. Good for keeping tabs on grill temp. It seems accurate when temping meat.

Cons: Unless cooking a roast, you can't use both thermometers at the same time. The oven temp section doesn't work if you want to stick the thermometer in the grill vent. You can't temp meat if you've been using it to keep track of grill/oven temp. Doesn't work well as a general purpose thermometer e.g. when warming egg whites to pasteurize them, I couldn't get an accurate reading from it.

While it had good potential for use in my kitchen and works for the most part, I wouldn't get it again and would instead go with a dedicated food thermometer and a dedicated grill thermometer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Polder glass cracked w/first use, September 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
This thermometer's glass cracked with my first use. I am not happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good product, September 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This product came highly recommended to me so I purchased two; one for grilling and one for inside use. Anyway, one did not work at all and the other only worked once. Also, the recommended internal temps are too high so one would overcook everything if you followed the product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, August 30, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
The addition of the oven temp is a nice touch works well and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total waste of money, November 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer (Kitchen)
Two days old and the lens cracks in half after washing with hot water and Dawn. Doesn't anyone know how to make a decent thermometer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Polder 12453 Stainless Steel Dual Oven Thermometer
$19.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.