Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate and Easy to Read
I bought two and they read to within a fraction of a degree of each other. Swivel head makes reading MUCH easier. Easy to clean. easy to store.
Published 19 months ago by Greg Lefevre

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very slow
This thermometer takes 20+ seconds to come up with a stable reading, much longer for higher temperatures. My old thermometer (discontinued) would read in less than 5 seconds, so there IS something better out there.
Published on July 16, 2009 by NDurrant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very slow, July 16, 2009
By 
NDurrant (Carol Stream, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
This thermometer takes 20+ seconds to come up with a stable reading, much longer for higher temperatures. My old thermometer (discontinued) would read in less than 5 seconds, so there IS something better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed after first use; warranty service nonexistent., September 2, 2008
By 
Sue B. (Woodside CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
This thermometer's numerical display failed after its first use when I hand-washed it. The package stated "dishwasher safe" so I have no idea what happened. Mailed it to the Polder address printed on the package with a letter of explanation and the original receipt but received no response. Waited about 8 weeks to give them time to respond then emailed an inquiry. Again no response. Polder clearly couldn't care less about customer service or the quality of their products. I'm out the price of the thermometer plus time and cost to return it. You have nothing to lose by buying another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not so instant or reliable, November 23, 2011
By 
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
Was getting into grilling and so wanted to get an instant read thermometer, the price seemed right so got this one. problems from the get go. Hard to turn on and off, VERY slow to get to full INSTANT temp, cheap platisc that is too vulnerable to heat and moisture. Died much too soon due to the insides getting rusted out, turns out this device is not even moisture resistant. Big disappointment, so it's back to the drawing board
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Instant? No. Accurate? Yes., February 10, 2013
By 
AndyCR (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
I tested this against boiling water, and accounting for elevation, it was only 0.3ºF off. However, it does not live up to the "instant read" part of its name. It takes a minimum of 32 seconds to stabilize at the correct temperature. Due to that, and the lack of automatic shutoff, it gets two stars. Accurate marketing to match the accurate readings would have gotten it a higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate and Easy to Read, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
I bought two and they read to within a fraction of a degree of each other. Swivel head makes reading MUCH easier. Easy to clean. easy to store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems in 5 years, May 28, 2012
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
Aside from the swivel head seeming a tad fragile, the thermometer has worked flawlessly for five years and counting. The non-stick probe (except for the tip) makes cleaning easy. Just stuck it in a fried turkey today and the reading jumped to 180 deg. F. in less than a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing, October 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
At first I loved it, as it switched from C to F degrees, but by mistake, I dropped it in the jam, and it no longer would switch to Farenheit, so I ordered a new one, and that wouldn't turn off....it was on when it arrived, and I suspect the battery will run down soon...so I'm not as happy as I should be with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Worked great for about 1 year, then "HHh" and dead, June 27, 2011
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
IT worked great for about 15 months. Large clear display, and the swivel design head is very very very functional in real life situations. I used it maybe 6 times, residential, limited instant read for meats. It then displayed "HHh" in the display. It would power up, display no temp for about 1 second, then the HHh. Web has many reports of the same, saying "temp probe failure" usually, sometimes battery. I tried a spare battery and same result. Replacement temp probe costs more than unit, Polder is HARD to contact. Conclusion is good if you base decision on 1yr life. Otherwise, best to chose another and read a few reviews. PS battery is small button, NOT (2 A) as listed in the specs. In my mind no real excuse for limited residential instant read 6 times and then failure of simple circuit. Sadly many things are just not built to last. I wish Polder backed product better, and I would give them the benefit of the doubt. The design is great, and strangely others have not duplicated it. Mine was kept in drawer, safely, not banged around, exposed to extremes or abused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working Perfectly, April 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
I am very pleased with this item, which is working flawlessly. The display is fairly small but is very clearly legible. All buttons are working exactly as intended.

Unlike many reviews here, there is nothing negative to report. If this changes I SHALL revisit this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars thermometer died within 4 uses, March 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: Polder Swivel Head Digital Instant Read Thermometer, White (Kitchen)
I am so disappointed in this thermometer. I have only had it for a few months and used it 4 times and the battery has died already. Very disappointed in Polder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.