Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Full of photographs of beautifully designed pools and spas set in various architectural environments, "Pools & Spas" is literally full of creative ideas if you are planning on adding a pool or spa to your home. However, the book does not stop with designs but also includes information on maintenance, various types of pool equipment, and even the process of installing an in ground pool. While the coverage of in ground pool installation is not detailed enough to do it yourself it does give you an idea of what is going on at the various stages so you know what to expect from your contractor.
If you are even thinking of installing a pool or spa, whether in ground, above ground, or portable, you should pick up a copy of "Pools & Spas". It includes a lot of factors that you might overlook when planning your pool and everything you need to know to take care of it correctly when it is finished.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 17, 2005
I borrowed this book from the library (too many pool books are not worth buying), and spent the rest of the night looking at it. Great photo examples of various types of pools that are described in detail, along with chapters on Safety, Design, Landscaping, Materials, etc... One of the best! (Same review as Pool & Spa Planner by Better Homes & Gardens, because they are both great books!)
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2004
There are a lot of pretty home design books out there that have very little information tucked between the pictures. This book is full of information but also has a number of handsome photos of pools, spas, and water gardens which will give you ideas if you are planning a custom designed pool or tub. It's a great resource for someone thinking of installing these features in their backyard, and it also touches on landscaping, lighting, and even sauans.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2004
Co-written by home improvement expert Fran Donegan and residential/commercial pools and spa expert David Short, Pools & Spas: Ideas For Planning, Designing, And Landscaping is a straightforward, user friendly, comprehensive guide which is written in a clear, highly accessible text which is enhanced throughout with full-color photography. Emphasizing safety, practical concerns, step-by-step precautions, installation, and maintenance, aboveground and in-ground installations, decking and landscaping, and so much more, Pools & Spas is an exceptional manual and very highly recommended for anyone who is considering adding a pool or a spa to their commercial or residential property.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2005
We also borrowed this from the library, but found we didn't want to return it. We spent hours showing each other what pictures we really liked, got great tips on thhe issues the pool owner faces and have a real idea of what we need to consider. So, since we want to use this during the planning process, we bought it!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a good book to set you on the path to your perfect pool. The author highlights many standard and some very unique designs and describe what additional equipment (such as pumps or filters) is needed. Pool maintenance and chemistry are covered in detail since pools require regular upkeep. Other topics include safety, landscaping, and somewhat related subjects like ponds and saunas. While this won't help you find a local builder, thats a whole other story, it will allow you to show them what you have in mind.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2008
We needed to rennovate a pool that we inherited with the purchase of our house last year. This book provided many insights into design, landscaping, decking and general useful information on owning a pool.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
Loved this book from cover to cover! This book helped me create my dream backyard! Not only did it give me great ideas, it explained step by step the building of my inground pool which enabled me to work closely with all the various contractors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2007
There are some good ideas and landscape ideas in this book for designing spas and pools. In the end I probably only spent 20 minutes in this book and didn't get a whole lot out of it. We spent a considerable amount of money on our pool but we live in Arizona and the landscape ideas didn't apply to this climate. Overall, lots of pretty pictures. 2 out of 5 stars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse