Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Professional and to the point
The writer starts out with "Swimming pools have come a long way from the turquoise water holes surrounded by stark paving. Increasingly pools are being integrated into the design of the house and garden..."
I'm happy to see a book on this topic, especially one written by an accomplished writer and photographer. Many garden swimming pools stand out like a sore thumb -...
Published on October 14, 2003 by Valerie Fletcher Adolph

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great source for landscaping ideas
Based on the description, I believed this book would be full of design ideas and photos of well-landscaped pools. It isn't. If you are looking (as I was) for examples to show a landscaper (or to do it yourself), you should look elsewhere.
Published on August 9, 2005 by Millionth Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Professional and to the point, October 14, 2003
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
The writer starts out with "Swimming pools have come a long way from the turquoise water holes surrounded by stark paving. Increasingly pools are being integrated into the design of the house and garden..."
I'm happy to see a book on this topic, especially one written by an accomplished writer and photographer. Many garden swimming pools stand out like a sore thumb - a harsh rectangle of Hollywood blue water with cold tile edges. They're lovely and cool in hot weather, but UGLY. Anything that helps to change or disguise this is all good.
The writer has many suggestions for doing just this. She addresses in depth topics such as decking, enclosures, structures, furniture and plantings. She has researched and offers suggestions for problems such as awkward rocky sites and the need to have an enclosure around the pool that doesn't block the view or make the place look like a prison.
It was good to see a generous number of pages given to plants and plantings - everything from container planting to landscaping the entire site. The writer also focuses on planning ahead when installing a pool or landscaping around it, and on matters relating to the budget. Both are very important and often overlooked..
The writer obviously has an encyclopedic knowledge of her topic and her writing is crisp and to-the-point. She understands the issues facing people who want to integrate their pool into their garden and addresses them directly. Her photographs illustrate her points with relevance and clarity. I'd recommend this book to anyone trying to add some style and class to a garden with a swimming pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pool Scaping, May 22, 2003
By 
Jamie R. Manning (Avondale, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
This book is a must have! It is beautifully illustrated and very informative. If you own a pool or are thinking about getting one this book is a great investment. It covers everything from choosing a design for your pool to plants and lighting. The pictures are spectacular! I Preordered this book and I'm glad I did. It was worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the Content!, October 13, 2003
By 
S. Caldwell (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
I was a little disapointed when I first got this book as the photos weren't all eye-popping fancy layouts - BUT - - I have found the book surprisingly good to read!! I've been up late every night pouring over it's content. It's written very, very well and you will learn some great hints, regardless of budget. I am so pleased I decided to write a review (which I've never done). I hope the authors continue to write on this suject! It's a GREAT BOOK! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Professional and to the point, October 14, 2003
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
The writer starts out with "Swimming pools have come a long way from the turquoise water holes surrounded by stark paving. Increasingly pools are being integrated into the design of the house and garden..."
I'm happy to see a book on this topic, especially one written by an accomplished writer and photographer. Many garden swimming pools stand out like a sore thumb - a harsh rectangle of Hollywood blue water with cold tile edges. They're lovely and cool in hot weather, but UGLY. Anything that helps to change or disguise this is all good.
The writer has many suggestions for doing just this. She addresses in depth topics such as decking, enclosures, structures, furniture and plantings. She has researched and offers suggestions for problems such as awkward rocky sites and the need to have an enclosure around the pool that doesn't block the view or make the place look like a prison.
It was good to see a generous number of pages given to plants and plantings - everything from container planting to landscaping the entire site. The writer also focuses on planning ahead when installing a pool or landscaping around it, and on matters relating to the budget. Both are very important and often overlooked.
The writer obviously has an encyclopedic knowledge of her topic and her writing is crisp and to-the-point. She understands the issues facing people who want to integrate their pool into their garden and addresses them directly. Her photographs illustrate her points with relevance and clarity. I'd recommend this book to anyone trying to add some style and class to a garden with a swimming pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, July 8, 2003
By 
M. Behlmann (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
This book contains some nice ideas, although most or very very expensive. I pulled a lot of good ideas from this book and would definitely recommend it to someone who is considering building a pool, but doesn't know how they want it landscaped. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for ideas, August 29, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
I loved the book for design ideas. Although the book contains pools that must cost over 50K, you can get some great ideas from it. We have a palper's budget, but there were a lot of beautiful photo's to get you started and give you ideas to break the standard ho hum swimming pool look. Designers in our area had no imagination and some told us that we do not have room on our property for a pool,,, bah humbug! We're not going with the 'sale pool package' most companies wanted to sell us, but we still will have a pool worthy of their next book (cross my fingers!!) for a few dollars more. We just had to find the right company with a little creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great source for landscaping ideas, August 9, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
Based on the description, I believed this book would be full of design ideas and photos of well-landscaped pools. It isn't. If you are looking (as I was) for examples to show a landscaper (or to do it yourself), you should look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers swimming pool decor and appropriate landscaping, March 4, 2004
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
Transform the swimming pool of a backyard into a Tuscan paradise with tiles and flowering plants, or create a pool with a beach-like presence filled with beach plants: that's the idea of Pool Scaping, a title which covers both swimming pool decor and appropriate landscaping around it. Pool Scaping is a lovely guide which covers the specifics of plants in a water surrounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a book for plants!, March 8, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa (Paperback)
I had high hopes due to high reviews, but I was very unhappy to find that only a small section of the book is actually about plants! You would think with a name like "Poolscaping" that the book would have had more to do about plants and landscaping around the pool. The book is instead divided in chapters about how to build a pool and many pictures on waterfalls and spa's. Very generic as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what I needed to know, August 21, 2007
This book was an excellent resource for the designer looking to work with swimming pools. The ilustrated examples and artistic tips were an invauable inspiration for sparking the imagination when designing pools. Before reading this I did think of pools as slabs of concrete filled with water, but I believe this book has put far down the path of being able to design elegant swimming pools. I consider this a must read for any architectural designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa
Poolscaping: Gardening and Landscaping Around Your Swimming Pool and Spa by Catriona Tudor Erler (Paperback - April 15, 2003)
$19.95 $15.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.