Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To Crazy Cracker Town!...
Singing sensation, Liz Wetherly (Leslie Uggams) takes a solo roadtrip in order to get away from it all. Unfortunately, her Rolls Royce breaks down in the middle of the redneck section of hell! Liz is forced to stay at a rustic lodge while her car is being fixed. Well, said lodge is run by alcoholic has-been Bertha (Shelley Winters from Whoever Slew Auntie Roo?, Whatever's...
Published on January 4, 2008 by Bindy Sue Frønkünschtein

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Edition
Wow. A snotty diva takes off on vacation alone in her Rolls looking for a quiet place to wind down after a grueling...singing of the national anthem at a sporting event? Naturally, she breaks down and ends up at a rundown hunters lodge run by an ex-burlesque star and her much younger Elvis wanna-be boyfriend. About the time you're getting bored with it, they throw in a...
Published on April 27, 2011 by tesg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To Crazy Cracker Town!..., January 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie (DVD)
Singing sensation, Liz Wetherly (Leslie Uggams) takes a solo roadtrip in order to get away from it all. Unfortunately, her Rolls Royce breaks down in the middle of the redneck section of hell! Liz is forced to stay at a rustic lodge while her car is being fixed. Well, said lodge is run by alcoholic has-been Bertha (Shelley Winters from Whoever Slew Auntie Roo?, Whatever's The Matter With Helen?, etc.) and her leering, Elvis-like, young lover, Eddie (Michael Christian), who are both totally nuts! If they're not bad enough, we get Slim Pickens (Dr. Strangelove, The Howling) as the perverted sheriff, Dub Taylor as the twisted justice of the peace, and Ted "Lurch" Cassidy as the manic mechanic! Liz finds herself at the mercy of people who are not just racist hicks, but dangerously deranged as well! Her nightmare takes the form of rape, humiliation, and a mock wedding! Ted Cassidy's character seems to be the only one w/ an ounce of brains or heart! The rest are slobbering lunatics w/ Liz's degradation as their latest group project. I kept hoping Liz would start wacking these horrid hillbillies! I mean, she suffers so many indignities for such a long time, the movie is mostly Liz's frustrating torture session. Although this agony goes on for quite a while, trust me, the finalé is worth the wait...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Edition, April 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
Wow. A snotty diva takes off on vacation alone in her Rolls looking for a quiet place to wind down after a grueling...singing of the national anthem at a sporting event? Naturally, she breaks down and ends up at a rundown hunters lodge run by an ex-burlesque star and her much younger Elvis wanna-be boyfriend. About the time you're getting bored with it, they throw in a rape scene intertwined with footage of two dogs going at it. It's the production style that hooks you from that point forward, and it just keeps getting more bizarre for our poor starlet. And if you think the cast is impressive for this genre, just wait till you read what the budget was in the production essay.

The Blu-ray edition was released by "HD Cinema Classics" and they DNR'd the crap out of it, though there's a sequence several minutes long with streaking that inexplicably survives. The image as a whole is REALLY soft, as in if you have a good DVD copy (WAS there ever a good DVD release?), there's almost no point in getting this. The compressed Dolby Digital soundtrack sounds probably like it did through the in-car drive-in speakers...distorted shrieking and all.

Still, the movie itself a must have for drive-in exploitation fans, and perhaps a mildly amusing distraction for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Without Being Explicit, May 15, 2011
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
This film is a bit of a contradiction. On one hand it is one of the most over the top offensive films I've ever seen, yet the sex and violence is relatively tame, even by 1975 standards. It's also one of the cheapest of the cheap, yet it has a name cast and boasts some pretty impressive filmmaking. It isn't a "good" movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it isn't a bad one either.

The acting isn't too shabby. Uggams does a good job of balancing toughness and vulnerability; and Winters is actually quite sympathetic as the over the hill burlesque queen. Slim Pickens and Dub Taylor are a hillbilly Mutt and Jeff comedy team that come off as threatening as well. The Sam Peckinpaugh slow motion scenes are actually quite brilliant, as is the jarring editing.

This is a movie that is difficult to describe and hard to believe. If you enjoy exploitation fare, this is just about as far as it goes in that direction.

The transfer is OK, with dense, opaque shadows and a hefty dose of scratch removal. But it looks fine for what it is. The sound sucks, but that was due to the way it was recorded. Well.worth the money if you want a film to shock and horrify your friends and make them think poorly of your taste in movies. I thought it was a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Exploitation Horror Film at it's finest :-), February 19, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie (DVD)
"Poor Pretty Eddie" AKA "Black Vengeance".If you are easily offended By "Black Exploitation Horror Films" and stereotypical films I recommend you not to watch this film. If you are a lover of horror exploitation films, like me :-) this is a gem for you! I consider this a cult classic. Excellent star cast: Lesle Uggams as "liz", Michael Christian as"Eddie"(Terror On The Beach),Shelley Winters (A Place In The Sun), Ted Cassidy (The Addam's Family),Dub Taylor(Them!),Slim Pickens(Beyond The Poseidon Adventure). "Liz" played by Leslie Uggams is on vacation and her car breaks down in a southern town and she takes a room at a motel where the motel clerk "Eddie" played by Micheal Christian falls in love with liz and will stop at nothing to keep her from leaving the motel. The end has a nice little twist to it. The Dvd picture and sound is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Pretty Eddie DVD, May 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie (DVD)
The problem with this DVD film is that it is not remastered. It is simply a VHS-quality film that is transferred to the DVD format.
This really annoyed me, as I wasted my money. I should have bought this from an official seller such as Virgin or other movie store.
Not only that, but something suffered in the transfer, and as a result, when you pause a scene it is even blurrier than it was originally on VHS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as It Sounds, February 19, 2012
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie (DVD)
As a '70s exploitation flick, this is just ok--I've seen much better and I've seen worse. Noted singer (Leslie Uggams) becomes stranded in hicksville after a gig and becomes the object of desire for the slightly off-balance wanna-be entertainer of the film's title. Problem is, Eddie is the "kept man" of Big Bertha (Shelley Winters) and she ain't about to give up her prize stud!

On paper it sounds like a dream: Ted Cassidy (Lurch from "The Addams Family"), Shelley Winters and Leslie Uggams in a tale of backwoods rape and depravity, but somehow it doesn't live up to its potential. Winters gets off a few great one-liners ("I don't care if she farts Chanel No. 5", "Eddie knows alot about poontang but don't know nothing about women") and calls Uggams a "vicious black little b**ch", and Eddie (Michael Christian) looks great in a wifebeater, but somehow it just isn't enough to save the movie. **NOTE** See the screen grabs I posted in the Images section of this product.

The screenplay was written by B.W. Sandefur, who must have loved writing these backwoods stories; he's the guy responsible for the worst episode of "Charlie's Angels"--the dreadful "Moonshinin' Angels" from the show's final season.

Okay to see once; but IMO it doesn't have much replay value.

Three Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only could've been made in the Seventies, May 22, 2011
By 
orvuus (Birmingham, AL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
Wow. This ranks right up there with Deliverance and Texas Chainsaw Massacre in depicting the South as the home of redneck degenerates. It morphs from sort of Southern gothic to blaxploitation to horror. For the price I think this blu ray does a fine job -- IMDB says the technical process was 35 mm, but in those days people tended to shoot film a bit funny. I'm no expert on filming, but you'll find a fair number of seventies titles that look rather dark and gritty. DNR'ed to death? Well, I guess it didn't matter to me, because everything was completely clear but the whole film still looked gritty and gruesome. It was far from unwatchable -- maybe some folks need to check their TV settings, as it looked pretty great on mine. Plus you get some extras, chief amongst which is a making of featurette that is different from the usual dreck. Needless to say this film had one heck of a shady history! Ignore the DNR purists and enjoy this wacky movie for what it is, and it sure ain't The Godfather or The Deer Hunter, in terms of picture quality or budget. It is Ted Cassidy (his finest role, I think), Leslie Uggams, Shelly Winters, Dub Taylor, Slim Pickens, and Michael Christian in a story with no dull moments, if you can stomach it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poor pretty Eddie, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie (DVD)
I am glad to get the movie. Everything is fine. The movie was blurry, but that is the nature of having an old, cult movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thanks Cultra/Film Chest for releasing this obscure drive-in film on home video!, December 13, 2012
By 
Jason P. Pumphrey "the movie & music man" (Falls Church, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
This one is similar in tone to 1972's Deliverance.
This is a strange film indeed, I would say this has the late Ted Cassidy's best performance in a feature film, although his very small role in Butch Cassidy was great as well.
the late Shelly Winters is good as always.
They did a great job on the restoration of the film, considering how obscure the film is.
This combo pack includes BOTH a blu-ray and a DVD
Great job Cultra/Film Chest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking?, October 12, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Sputrock" (Camanche, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
Wow. Someone sure had it in for Shelly Winters. She makes a total fool of herself. Anyway, I owned a DVD copy and I think this is much improved. Although not really up to blu-ray standards, you can at least see what is going on. My only problem was, there wasn't an opinion on the menu to access the special features, unless they are hidden somewhere. Anyone else have this problem? Oh, yes, if you want to feel sleazy, buy this. Just watch it before you shower, not after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack
Poor Pretty Eddie Blu-Ray + DVD Combo Pack by Richard Robinson (Blu-ray - 2011)
$19.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.