Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Classic Looking Pops from One Recipie
I feel compelled to write this after finally seeing the whole book. I had been excited about the book until I read the harsh reviews posted here about the novice ideas and the great disappointment felt by other purchasers.I took them seriously and never ordered the book, but today I saw the book - opened it and bought it because .... well, I 100% disagree with the 2 star...
Published on September 3, 2011 by M. Mckibbon-Bell

versus
145 of 149 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Useful ..
I also pre-ordered this book because I have been making cake balls/pops for a while now and was looking for new ideas. However, when I received this book I was greatly disappointed .. it did not offer me anything I haven't already figured out on my own. I have since ordered two other books that have been extremely helpful. 1. Cake Pops by Bakerella and 2. pops! sweets on...
Published on March 23, 2011 by Baker107


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

145 of 149 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Useful .., March 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
I also pre-ordered this book because I have been making cake balls/pops for a while now and was looking for new ideas. However, when I received this book I was greatly disappointed .. it did not offer me anything I haven't already figured out on my own. I have since ordered two other books that have been extremely helpful. 1. Cake Pops by Bakerella and 2. pops! sweets on a stick! by Wilton. I found these two books to have fun and creative ideas for many occasions, also the skill level ranges from easy to quite challenging so there is something in them for everyone.

So basically, do not waste your money on this book. If you have no knowledge of cake balls/pops or just looking for new ideas I would suggest trying either of the two books I have mentioned above. I hope this was helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, March 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
The cover of the book is beautiful. What I found on the inside of the book is another story. I expected the rest of the book would be filled with just as beautiful cakepops to create but it was not. Maybe I set my expectations too high after purchasing and reading Bakerella's cakepop book and Wilton's cakepop book. What I found were cakepops that looked like the ones I made the first time I attempted. For a book, to me this was not acceptable and not worth the price. If I could return the book, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it doesn't take much to impress me..., March 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
i pre-ordered this book because i LOVE creating cake pops, so i figured this might inspire some new designs. truth be told, the cover is GORGEOUS and that caught my eye first, then i thought, i wanna make mine look like that. well i can, its just fancy pressed sugars, duh. the ONE and only recipe given is good, i would have loved if there were more ideas for flavors: red velvet makes an amazing cake pop, as do pink champagne and plenty of others. overall, i didn't learn any new techniques or even feel inspired to make some.

the author has a shop, i am not sure if all they make and sell is cake pops, but it seems they have an idea for coming up with clever ways to shape cake and dip it in candy coating and embellish. i didn't realize there was truly a market for that, i suppose in london there is...enough notice to get someone a book deal.

my mama told me "if you don't have anything nice to say, then say nothing at all", i do not intend to sound snarky, but i simply was not in the slightest. its cute. its simple. its going to be donated in a gift basket for a bake sale, perhaps a novice would be more interested in the simplicity of this, but for this seasoned at home baker, i wish i would have passed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!, March 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
I have to agree with the first review posted. To add, it's dull! I was truly expecting something MORE than Bakerella or the Wilton cake pop book but really only the cover does it justice.
Sarah, like you I LOVE making cake pops. I do it as a side business...any chance you want to share your pink champagne recipe? Sounds delish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should've waited to read reviews, March 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
I preordered this book and what a waste. I have been making cakeballs/pops for a few years and always looking for new ideas/ ways of doing them. Only 25 ideas that were all pretty similar and no good technique tips. The bakerella book is much more useful...even her website is better than this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book and misleading title, April 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
I am new to making cake pops and was excited that this book promised 25 "recipes" for making cake pops. What I found when I received the book was not at all what I expected... there was ONE recipe to make the actual cake pops, and then 25 different ways to shape and decorate the pops. I can be creative and figure out the ways to dip the cake pops and add sprinkles, etc. What I expected based on the description was a variety of different cake recipes with fun ways to decorate... only half of my expectation was fulfilled. Do not waste your money on this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Classic Looking Pops from One Recipie, September 3, 2011
By 
M. Mckibbon-Bell "M.Bell" (Vancouver, British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
I feel compelled to write this after finally seeing the whole book. I had been excited about the book until I read the harsh reviews posted here about the novice ideas and the great disappointment felt by other purchasers.I took them seriously and never ordered the book, but today I saw the book - opened it and bought it because .... well, I 100% disagree with the 2 star ratings. I own Bakerellas book and it's really enjoyable and cute, but this book to me makes great sense as the sidekick. The beautiful russian doll pops, the super cute owls and penguins all involve real decorating and not just more candy dips. I think the pictures are beautiful and the cake pop ideas are more adult and beautiful than the Bakerella ideas which I find to be super CUTE and cartoon-like. I think cake poppers will enjoy flipping through and being inspired. The book is really 25 ways to take the basic cake pop and make it pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars zero stars, May 2, 2011
By 
Wendy Duggan (Turlock, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
This book is a great example of false advertising. It says there are "25 recipes" for cake pops. There is ONE recipe. One only. The rest is "decorating". I'm returning it today.....

WD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
I, too, pre-ordered this book as it looked promising. It was a HUGE disappointment. It lacked inspiration or unique twists. It was simplistic at best. If you are looking for a more instructional or inspiring resource, try Bakerella's or Wilton. Dont waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money!, March 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks (Hardcover)
This book doesn't provide any new or exciting ideas. The best looking pops are on the cover. This purchase was a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks
Pop Bakery: 25 Recipes for Delicious Little Cakes on Sticks by Clare O'Connell (Hardcover - March 31, 2011)
$15.95 $5.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.