Customer Reviews


1,003 Reviews
5 star:
 (708)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly like traditional potato chips, but a great substitute
One of my biggest frustrations with doing Weight Watchers was always the problem of finding good chips. I will eat the baked ones, but they are undeniably very different from regular fried chips. In addition to this, I've never been able to find a baked chip that came in salt and vinegar flavor, which is my favorite type of chip. This meant that, whenever I had the...
Published on February 10, 2010 by Bookphile

versus
77 of 94 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Holy SALT, Batman!
We are chip fanatics in our house and we decided to try these because of their claim of being a "healthier" alternative to regular chips. I will admit that they have a great crunch - something between a ricecake and a kettle chip. The texture is also very nice, again - similar to a ricecake, but with a great potato flavor. The big issue with these is the sodium level...
Published on January 26, 2011 by P. Brand


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly like traditional potato chips, but a great substitute, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Popchips Potato Chips (Grocery)
One of my biggest frustrations with doing Weight Watchers was always the problem of finding good chips. I will eat the baked ones, but they are undeniably very different from regular fried chips. In addition to this, I've never been able to find a baked chip that came in salt and vinegar flavor, which is my favorite type of chip. This meant that, whenever I had the craving for this particular flavor, I'd have to eat the regular fried kind.

I picked up an oversize bag of the barbecue flavor Pop Chips on a whim at Costco. I'd heard about them and was curious about what they're like, but I'd never before been able to find them in the area. Much to my surprise, my very thin husband who is totally addicted to barbecue chips loved them and pretty much ate the whole bag before I'd had any. I had tasted a couple of them and thought the barbecue flavor was good, so I decided to go ahead and order the individual bags from Amazon in barbecue for him and sea salt and vinegar for me.

They are definitely worth the money. I want to emphasize, however, that you will not be fooled into believing these are the regular old fried chips. The taste and texture is something like a cross between rice cakes and chips. I say rice cakes because they have something of that puffed look that rice cakes do. Still, they are very good and the salt and vinegar is nice and strong, which is just the way I like them.

As for the portion size, it's pretty generous. For my fellow Weight Watchers, they are 2 points per bag, and they definitely make for a satisfying, filling snack or a side for your sandwich.

I would definitely recommend these to anyone who is sick of the limited flavors of baked chips and would like something that comes in a wider variety of more exotic flavors. I'm planning on trying the parmesan and garlic next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Only 2 Points!, October 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These potato chips taste much better than the baked chips and they're only 2 points if you're on Weight Watchers. They're a good snack for the afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic chips!!!, May 22, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I want to start out by saying that i thought at first that a bag with only 120 calories and 4 grams of fat (no saturated or trans) for every 20 chips was going to taste like crap. I must say that not only was i wrong, that this is my favorite BBQ chip on the market today. They are light and you cannot taste any fat or grease after eating them. That's because they aren't baked or fried, just popped as their name suggests. These chips are very easy to dip as well. FANTASTIC PRODUCT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Potato Popchip Goodness!, January 26, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
As a kid, I scarfed bags of the Calbee Sweet Potato chips that my mom would pick up at the local Asian market. As my tastes refined in adulthood, I was less inclined to buy bags of those chips that resembled styrofoam even if I still craved their sugary sweet and salty flavor.

These Popchips Sweet Potato chips are the adult version of the snack I grew up with. There's a delicious sweet and salty mix in every bite. The chip is light and airy, without resembling a foamy rice cake and the deep orange hue is the color of a perfectly roasted sweet potato.

I've purchased a number of sweet potato chips from Amazon in the past (Both the "Terra" & "Food Should Taste Good" chips) which have all been good, but they didn't play up the sweet and salty combo quite as much as I'd like. The Terra chips are more like simple sliced sweet potatoes, oven dried and turned into chips; the Food Should Taste Good chips are like yummy, sweet potato flavored, salty tortilla chips; and these Pop Chips sweet potato chips are, well... sweet potato pop chips. If you've never had a pop chip before, the weight of an individual chip probably most resembles Baked Lays - but with a puckered, air-puffed texture.

There are 100 calories per bag. 24 bags come nicely packed in a box that you can tear open for a neat display in your pantry. I've purchased bagged chips online a number of times and have received packages where the chips were thrown into a box which was thrown into an Amazon box for shipping so by the time they got to me, all the chips were broken. Not so with this packaging, they're tightly packed so the the bags don't shift around much in shipping and the few bags we've already eaten have had no more broken chips than what we'd get from picking up a bag in the store.

Happy snacking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 94 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Holy SALT, Batman!, January 26, 2011
By 
P. Brand (Hartford, CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We are chip fanatics in our house and we decided to try these because of their claim of being a "healthier" alternative to regular chips. I will admit that they have a great crunch - something between a ricecake and a kettle chip. The texture is also very nice, again - similar to a ricecake, but with a great potato flavor. The big issue with these is the sodium level. After about four or five chips they're almost unbearable because of the salt and you really stop tasting anything but the salt. A review of the nutritional facts showed that the sodium per serving was almost double that of a standard potato chip serving and that was for their "original" flavor...I can't imagine what the "Salt & Pepper" style must be like.

I would buy these regularly if they cut the salt by about 75%. Because of the salt factor, I don't think you can call these a "healthy" alternative to chips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Chips!, July 9, 2008
These chips are really, really good. I don't bother buying any other kind of potato chips. These have a great taste and no messy greasy fingers. I was shocked and disappointed to find out my local grocery suddenly stopped carrying the chips. Thank goodness for Amazon. Now I can get the chips right to my door--cheaper than I was paying at the grocer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A healthy alternative, but with overpowering and inconsistent flavor, January 27, 2012
By 
Jonathan (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Popchips, Chili Lime, 0.8-Ounce Single Serve Bags (Pack of 24) (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
These are definitely a healthier alternative than your standard potato chip - each bag (roughly 20 silver dollar-sized chips) has only three grams of fat and 100 calories. They are also kosher, gluten-free and vegan.

Instead of baking the flavor into the chip, Popchips add seasoning once the chips are "popped" (as opposed to fried or baked). This, however, is also the cause of my problem with the chips. I found the flavor to be wildly inconsisent from bag to bag, and sometimes from chip to chip within the same bag. One bag's lime flavor was so overpowering I almost gagged, while the next was a nice, uneventful snack. The lime flavor is also much, much more noticeable than the chili flavor.

As a healthy alternative to potato chips, these are a viable option, but keep a glass of water handy - with the almost-randomized flavor intensity, you're not going to know how intense the lime flavor is going to be until you open the bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheddar POPCHIPS are totally Yummy!, September 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am addicted to Popchips - I love the cheddar flavored ones. I don't crave cheetos anymore which I was addicted to. I know eat a bag of these and my craving is gone. They are actually healthy and for only 100 calories a bag and around 3 grams of fat - it is a much better choice than cheetos. They are very crunchy and full of flavor. I am ordering these again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent, June 24, 2009
These have a great crunch and it's great that it's low fat. However, it's way too salty. 280mg per serving is more than twice the amount of regular flavor chips like Lays. The cheddar and sour cream and onion flavor is delicious but also way too salty and too much sodium for my taste buds or health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We'll never go back to "baked"!, May 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These beat baked chips hands down! I love the crunch almost as much as I love the calorie content and the single serve bags! Because they are not fried you are saving fat and calories but they are not flat and tasteless like the baked chips either. You know the ones that if you bite off a piece the wrong way you can pierce your tongue with it? Never again! The BBQ is a tad strong IMHO but they are still keepers! The original flavor is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.