Customer Reviews


613 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


276 of 292 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a BLAST !!!
Okay, I've read the other reviews that call this publication shallow, lacking in depth, geared toward young teenagers, etc. I guess if you are looking for twenty page, in-depth technical articles that delve into every minute neutron of a particular subject, then yes, this publication might not be what you're looking for.

But, if you're a regular, average,...
Published on March 16, 2005 by Casey Crookston

versus
397 of 450 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content, but unsuitable advertising for your children
I have read PopSci for decades, and so quickly started a subscription for my son at age 10 when he showed interest. The articles are very good, but the advertisments are riddled with sexual peformace boosting products of all sorts.
I think that PopSci has a responsibility to consider that it is read by and marketed to children as well as adults, and should take a...
Published on September 10, 2003 by J. Mason


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

276 of 292 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a BLAST !!!, March 16, 2005
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
Okay, I've read the other reviews that call this publication shallow, lacking in depth, geared toward young teenagers, etc. I guess if you are looking for twenty page, in-depth technical articles that delve into every minute neutron of a particular subject, then yes, this publication might not be what you're looking for.

But, if you're a regular, average, ordinary guy like me (who would not understand those deep, brainy articles anyway) and you are looking for an entertaining, informative view onto what's new and what's cool, I think you'll be pleased. Very pleased!

Take, for example, a couple of recent issues (see the date of when this review was written). Last month was focused on the future of personal aviation and the people behind the effort to make personal flight more available and affordable, and about the aircrafts they are inventing. Fascinating! Now, can I run out and build myself a prototype after reading the articles? Ummm, no. Do I know a whole lot more about an incredibly fun subject then I did before? Yes!

This month's issue focuses on similar theme: The future of personal space travel and the idea of a space-hotel. When you're done reading it will you be able to build a rocket and fly to the moon? Of course not. But it's informative and educational to the exact level I would want it to be... just enough to make me aware, enlightened, and entertained.

So to all the non-nerds, non-rocket scientists, and non-brainiacs who want a scientific publication by the people, for the people, I think your yearly subscription money will be well spent.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


397 of 450 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content, but unsuitable advertising for your children, September 10, 2003
By 
J. Mason (Guilderland, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
I have read PopSci for decades, and so quickly started a subscription for my son at age 10 when he showed interest. The articles are very good, but the advertisments are riddled with sexual peformace boosting products of all sorts.
I think that PopSci has a responsibility to consider that it is read by and marketed to children as well as adults, and should take a closer look at its sponsors. I couldn't let him bring it to school without ripping out pages first. I haven't noticed this problem with other periodicals of the same standing. By the way, when I contacted PopSci about my concerns about this, I received no response. Do advertisers come before the reading public?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 153 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, but Not Complex, March 16, 2002
By 
Gus Ramage (Charleston, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
This is a great magazine for those who want to find out about current scientific topics but do no want to delve into the complexity of scientific matter like Scientific American.
This is a great magazine to buy for those that are high school ages. Those who have strong technical backgrounds may find the articles a bit lacking in substance and length. The average article length is only about 2 or 3 pages and often you feel as though they could have added more.
One particular enjoyment I find in the magazine is the What's New feature. This highlights the best new inventions and innovations every moth culminating in their annual Best of What's New issue in December.
I would reccommend this magazine to anyone with a amateur interest in science and technology and wants to be kept up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 167 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the billing agencies!, May 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
Popular Science is among many of the magazines currently engaging in the practice of contracting out billing...which then gets subcontracted and sometimes sub-subcontracted out. This means you may have to contact three or four different companies via half a dozen (or more) phone numbers with subscription-related issues.

In fact, one subagency, Magazine Billing Services, has closed down their call center, so cancelation requests must be sent by snail mail only. (We've also seen notices from and numbers for Publishers Billing Agency and Publishers Unlimited, in addition to Popular Science's direct numbers.)

Additionally, renewal notices are sent out regardless of the actual expiration date. If subscribers aren't vigilant, they'll find themselves paying for 20 year's worth of subscriptions. And then, due to the entanglement of companies described above, it will take days of calling, holding and letter writing to get the problem of the deceptive renewal notices straightened out.

If that particular agency wasn't involved in that particular renewal notice that was responded to (and we've received "renewal" notices from all of them simultaneously), then the subscriber gets continually redirected. Get used to hearing the phrase, "I can't help you with that." Also get used to requests taking months or more to be processed (if they get processed at all) and get used to getting no responses from emailed queries, requests or complaints.

This is becoming an increasingly common practice, but that doesn't mean consumers have to put up with it. If Popular Science believes it's good customer service to subcontract out billing and relentlessly pepper subscribers with intentionally deceptive "renewal" notices, they can keep their rag of a magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Candy for the Curious Person, April 2, 2002
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
"Popular Science" is one of the few magazines that I have a subscription to. This magazine is mind candy for the curious perosn. It informs the reader on new inventions, newsfronts, automobiles, aviation, medicine, and almost every other aspect of science. One of my favorite sections of this informative and fun magazine is the "Newsfronts" section. Here you are informed of current things that are happening in the scientific world whether it be medicine or physics.
"Popular Science" would make a great gift for a friend, family member, or yourself. This magazine will feed the craving that many people get when they are craving information. Order a subscription to this magazine and discover why everybody is raving about this being the best scientific magazine in- print. I recommend this magazine to somebody that is interested in science and would like to get a broad scope of scientific information in a great magazine.
Happy Reading!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tired of all the raunchy sex ads degrading great magazines!, February 19, 2013
This review is from: Popular Science (1-year automatic renewal) (Magazine)
I just cancelled my popular mechanics magazine because of all the sex ads in the last 10 or so pages! I was reading the reviews for this magazine hoping they might have some quality advertising! Thank you for the heads up reviewers! I will not be wasting any money on this. Popular Mechanics (apparently this magazine too)assumes that all men are having a hard time with sexual disfunction and are looking to cheat on their wives. I would expect solicting for sex ads to be in Hustler or Playboy. My mistake thinking these were quality magazines. Apparently, that is the only thing on the publisher's mind at Popular Mechanics and Popular Science Magazines. I am so disappointed because i really wanted to share these 2 wonderful magazines with my 9 year old son & 8 year old daughter, but i am tired of trying to beat them to it to rip out all the nasty ads. I missed one the other day and was humiliated trying to show my mother-in-law a diagram of her hot water heater. I felt so ashamed to have her thinking i am reading such trash.
News Flash---NOT ALL MEN ARE PIGS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars General "Golly Gee Whiz" Science, October 20, 2005
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
I guess we live in the "sound bite" generation. It seems like we expect every form of media to present everything in three to five minute sound predigested form. That is exactly what you get with "Popular Science." Perhaps in our busy world we can only take things in such short bites. If so, this magazine is perfect for the person who only has fifteen minutes to catch up on the state of science.

I looked through various issues of "Popular Science" and began with the table of contents. I see an article about weapons in space, and the table of contents shows that the article is eight pages long. That sounds interesting. I flip over to the article and find that the total amount of print fills just about two pages, and the rest is pictures. I think I have read longer articles about space weapons in the non-science magazine "Time." Perhaps this article was a fluke, so I flip to "The Worst Jobs in Science."

This seven page article has more print. This article has nearly four pages of actual writing. Wow. I am impressed. Of course, this in depth article contains tidbits about what it is like to be an orangutan pee collector. I will admit that this article did use some scientific words like "ketone" and "reproductive-hormone levels." I was feeling more scientific at this point. I decide to see what else the magazine has to offer.

I start flipping pages and see all sorts of product advertisements. There must be more articles. Wait. Those are not advertisements; they are descriptions of high tech toys. I only thought they were advertisements because they looked like advertisements.

In fairness to "Popular Science," I am guessing that their target audience wants stuff munched into digestible little articles so that they can grasp just a teeny bit about a subject in about two minutes. Obviously you are not going to become an expert in a few minutes. The article above did not explain what "ketone" was (this is where you go hit the internet and find out what ketone is, assuming you really want to know), and what ketone tells scientists. However, if you want to be informed about something, but you only want to know it exists without knowing the how or why, then this magazine is probably perfect for you. Perhaps you can even impress your guests by leaving this magazine on the coffee table. Unless they are scientists or engineers, of course, then you may want to move your copy to another place until they are gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Playboy & National Enquirer wrapped in a Candy Science shell!, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
I had no idea that Popular Science would in fact not include any actual science per se! You should rename it the National Enquirer of Science. You might also consider the name Playboy Science, considering the advertising content in the back.

Needless to say, shallow is not deep enough a word to describe the content. I'm unsure who this is geared toward. I can only guess the target audience is NOT teenagers and geeks (they have scads of resources for both tech news, which is what this is, though always a few months behind, and soft porn, which is what the ads are). The audience then must be the scores of middle aged nerds who long for Pop Sci of yesteryear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, May 13, 2010
By 
R. Raghavan (Edison, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
I think the magazine title is mileading. There's not much science in this magazine. I got two issues so far and there isn't a single article that I found worth reading. The culture is quite evident in the advertisments that are featured which if I my add are quite age inappropriate. They feature advertisments for male organ enlargements, stimulants, aphrodisiacs and include lots of testimonials. I am very uncomfortable letting this sit around as I have an 8 year old. I have to throw this mag away the same day I get it. Stay away if you are really interested in science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible ads, November 18, 2010
By 
This review is from: Popular Science (Magazine)
I subscribed this magazine, hope my kids can enjoy it. Then I found out it has Viagra and enlargement ads. Come on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Popular Science (1-year automatic renewal)
$47.00 $12.00
Usually ships in 6 to 10 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.