Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park 3rd: A Backcountry Guide for Hikers, Backpackers, Campers and Winter Visitors First
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 3, 2011
Although it's the only guide written for Michigan's largest state Park, it gives you everything you need.
DuFresne knows Michigan and thoroughly covers the Porkies. The guide is detailed and informative with topo maps of all the trails as well as access points, difficulty, hiking time and mileage break-downs along every trail. Though geared towards hikers and backpackers, it also covers winter activities and fishing.
I really like how he breaks down all the trails extensively and also gives you plenty of options depending on what length of a trek you're looking for-from a day hike up to a 6-day excursion.
This is the 3rd book of his I've bought and I'd buy anything the guy has to sell- great book.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
It is pretty informative about the park, but sometimes critical details were left out. The State of Michigan does not run this park very well, so get as much information as you can before you go, and get there very early if you have a reservation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2009
I bought this book to help plan a hiking trip into the Porcupine Wilderness State park. It gives an excellent description of the park. Good resource!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Who in there RIGHT mind would pay $280 for any book?!?!?! Also I noticed that, of all the items on Amazon this is the only one you can't ask questions to. So i have to vent here. Someone please tell me this is a typo!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I had been camping in the Porkies a few times and this book helped me plan so many more adventures. Great descriptions of all the shelters and of what to see in different parts of the park.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2012
Great trail descriptions. Even the people at the park office were looking at my copy.
We stayed in the yurts on our first trip so we greatly appreciated these descriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
Some trail directions were not as accurate as they could have been. We used the book along with the trail map supplied by the state park
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
Good descriptions and maps of the Porkies. All essential info is covered. A large scale map would be great & this would be perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
Great reference, though I do recommend printing an additional map. A must have if you are going to see the porkies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
Very handy guide. A elevation guide would be useful as the ups and downs mace a difference on trail selection.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse