Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerry Boyle
Excellent and fun work of police mystery genre. Mr. Boyle describes accurately and colorfully the cities, coast and countryside of Maine. The reader feels as if one is traveling along with the protagonist, meeting the people (who are portrayed fully developed life size) and working away to solve the crime.

Mr. Boyle interweaves personal stories throughout the...
Published on November 5, 2011 by Linda R. Dietrich

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Port City Black And White
An entertaining book, but not totally realistic. The hero would be a supervisor's nightmare; over-enthused about his work, unable to drop cases at the end of shift, ignoring advice and directives from superior officers and on a one-man mission to right all wrongs. He would probably not have made it past his second periodic evaluation. Technically it was pretty...
Published on August 14, 2012 by gregory n. locsin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerry Boyle, November 5, 2011
By 
Linda R. Dietrich (Belmont, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery (Hardcover)
Excellent and fun work of police mystery genre. Mr. Boyle describes accurately and colorfully the cities, coast and countryside of Maine. The reader feels as if one is traveling along with the protagonist, meeting the people (who are portrayed fully developed life size) and working away to solve the crime.

Mr. Boyle interweaves personal stories throughout the main plot which makes the story all that more interesting and explores the main character's history, present and potential future. His dialogue is amusing and carries the story along well.

I highly recommend his "Port City" series and his "Jack McMorrow" series. I have read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandon Blake Rocks The Port City, February 6, 2012
This review is from: Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery (Hardcover)
Having loved the Jack McMorrow series, I wasn't sure how I'd feel about Gerry Boyle's new character Brandon Blake. I had nothing to worry about. In Port City Black and White, Blake is a rookie cop with a past and a boatload of determination. You've GOT to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, February 6, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Waterville, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery (Hardcover)
I picked this up on a whim because I was nearly finished the 7 book series I'd been reading. When I got it home and perused the first few pages, next thing I knew I couldn't put it down! I ended up putting book 7 on the back burner so I could immediately find out what happened in Port City!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you know Portland ME, read this book!, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy read, details accurate to Portland ME! Familiar with a lot of the places mentioned. Nice to see that in a novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Gerry Boyle, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery (Hardcover)
This latest installment of the Brandon Blake series does not disappoint. It is as dark as any of Gerry Boyle's previous mysteries, and every bit as enjoyable.

Derek Thompson
Toronto, Ontario
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Port City Black And White, August 14, 2012
An entertaining book, but not totally realistic. The hero would be a supervisor's nightmare; over-enthused about his work, unable to drop cases at the end of shift, ignoring advice and directives from superior officers and on a one-man mission to right all wrongs. He would probably not have made it past his second periodic evaluation. Technically it was pretty accurate, except the glaring error regarding the safety on a Glock, which has no safety other than a design which essentially negates the need for a conventional lever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific mystery, September 13, 2011
By 
Patrick E. Foster (North Vancouver, B.C., Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery (Hardcover)
Mr Boyle's follow-up to 'Port City Shakedown' continues the series in fine form. Great fun, wonderfully written. A terrific Maine mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When will there be another Brandon Blake book?, July 19, 2013
By 
L. Hench (Freeport, Maine) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery (Hardcover)
I started reading Port City Black and White minutes after finishing the first Brandon Blake mystery, Port City Shakedown, and now I'm hoping Gerry Boyle will follow up with another in the series. It's fast-paced, and will have you on the edge of your seat. If you've ever been to Portland, Maine, you will be visualizing every moment in Brandon's pursuit, as the descriptions of the city and its harbor are detailed and add so much to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery
Port City Black and White: A Brandon Blake Mystery by Gerry Boyle (Hardcover - September 16, 2011)
$24.95 $22.07
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.