Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive work on Joran Van der Sloot
For those like me who developed a strong case of Natalee fatigue, a new book will cure you. After years of wall-to-wall press coverage of a case obviously going nowhere, I became immune to the story. Anytime a "new lead" came up, I turned off the TV, knowing the clue was phony. While I sympathized with the Twittys and Holloways, I just got to the point that I no longer...
Published on July 10, 2011 by Robert A. Waters

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ugly all over
A crazy, loose cannon, roaming the streets of the world, with absolutely no moral restraints, commits yet one more murder of an unsuspecting victim, that calmly walks into the killer hotel room. Surely part of the blame rests with the parents, for it is abundantly clear they knew what their violent son was capable of, long before he brought tragedy and tears to the...
Published 13 months ago by Eddie Wannabee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written summary of a murderer, May 17, 2014
This is a good rundown of the shocking story of Joran van der Sloot, who was implicated but not charged in the death of Natalee Holloway, and then convicted for the violent murder of Stephany Ramirez. The story alternates between Peru, where van der Sloot meets, robs and murders Ramirez and Aruba, where the investigation into his involvement in the disappearance of Natalee Holloway takes place.

The good parts of the book:

1. How van der Sloot's father may have participated in a cover-up or at least given legal advice to his son to avoid an indictment.

2. Van der Sloot's flight from Peru to Chile and how he left the country.

3. The investigation of his friends the Kalpoe brothers and several other people who were falsely implicated in Holloway's disappearance.

What wasn't so good:

1. The story of van der Sloot's violent adolescence and family interactions was handled well--but I wanted more. There is more here. This kid was a mess. Was the move to Aruba a way to escape Joran's reputation in The Netherlands? And his mother doesn't get a lot of coverage. I did want more back story.

2. The follow-up on the investigation into what happened to Natalee after van der Sloot was imprisoned in the Castro Castro in Peru. Is more going on?

Other than that, this book is an excellent write-up of a notorious murder and assumed murder and covers the details well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man is a monster, February 10, 2013
We all know the story of Natalee Holloway, the beautiful teen who went to Aruba with her class for high-school graduation. And we know that she has never been found. We don't know what happened to her. But we do know that Joran Van Der Sloot was the last person to see her alive and that years later, he brutally murdered a young woman in his hotel room in Peru. This book covers the story in a fast paced, easy to read, hard to put down fashion.

I normally don't buy books like this, but a friend bought it for me. I didn't want to read it but once I got started, I couldn't put it down.

Geez, it's hard to imagine someone being like this - that's about all I can say. I'm not so sure I would want to read this book again. But I recommend it to true crime readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars insight into Jordan, April 16, 2012
By 
Doris J. Holt (The villages, Fl.USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted to understand what makes Jordan the person he is, and gain some insight into what happened to Natalie and why.
After reading this book, I think he is sociapathic, as anyone whose actions cause the death of another would have strong feelings of remorse, and he has none, except for himself, and He had plenty of opportunity to express any. I don't think he set out to deliberatly kill her, and I think he gave her some drug that did kill her, but his temper killed the next one. That may have been the culmination of pressure and survival mode he was in. Plus he had no compulsion to hold himself back from what he wanted---in for a penny in for a pound, so to speak. He should of gotton some psychiatric help when he was growing up, but sometimes parents think that children will grow out of things, and don't want to admit there is anything wrong with their perfect child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monster, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Portrait of a Monster: Joran van der Sloot, a Murder in Peru, and the Natalee Holloway Mystery (Hardcover)
the book is well writen and easy to get into. If nothing else the book shows you the justice system, and how each country is different. The shame is how people can committ murder , get away with it and kill again. I dont know if anyone ever thought of this. Can you imagine how many people you walk next to in the street every day that is wanted for a crime. We treat criminals so good that I guess grime pays. Instead of cable t.v. and kosher food I would like to see it replaced with hard labor. Treat these criminals like criminals. They gave up there rights when they commited these brutal crimes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster, December 14, 2013
By 
Jody Higinbotham (MARYSVILLE, OHIO, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a true portrait of a true monster. A young man with all of lifes advantages and absolutely no moral compass. The world s attention was drawn to Joran in the disappearance of Natalee Holloway. He successfully evaded justice in that case, but was not able to change his basic character and killed another young girl.
One wonders what kind of mind thinks he can get away with the same crime twice. There is no question that he is mentally ill, but no feelings of sympathy as is sometimes the case,
Joran is a true cold blooded killer with absolutely no redeeming qualities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a rat-bag, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What an amazing story. I was totally over the Aruba saga..... But Joran is such a conundrum of nasty,mean and fascinating ,clever ,seductive and much , much more.L. Pulitzer did a fantastic job in her research and giving us a thorough picture of all the people intimately involved in this tragic loss of innocent life . The families ,including the pathetic parents of Joran must endure such pain.
A few smacks in time , lots of discipline & less pocket money could possible have saved two lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad commentary on a spoiled brat!, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Portrait of a Monster: Joran van der Sloot, a Murder in Peru, and the Natalee Holloway Mystery (Hardcover)
A very moving story about the same spoiled brat that was involved in that infamous incident in Aruba regarding Nathalee Holloway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joran, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Portrait of a Monster: Joran van der Sloot, a Murder in Peru, and the Natalee Holloway Mystery (Hardcover)
Another book that I could not put down. So well written and how the two murders were so linked to one-another, though five years apart. Joran is a very scary and calculating guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, October 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book! Very well written. I couldn't put it down! If you enjoy true crime, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Read all the Natalee Hollaway books. This one was from a different perspective. Great interviews great insight into Joran's mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Portrait of a Monster: Joran van der Sloot, a Murder in Peru, and the Natalee Holloway Mystery
$25.99 $18.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.