Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big hit with a seven year old, May 29, 2008
By 
documentboy (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
A little boy who doesn't like to read much is entranced by these Jack Sparrow books. They're well written for kids with a sense of adventure. Like the Hardy Boys or a dozen other series before them, they deliver a consistent and familiar character in cleverly worked plots. The one thing I'd like to change would be to add few more illustrations. All you get here is the illustration on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read Series, December 9, 2013
By 
S. Heath (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
My son absolutely loves these series! This series has brought out his passion for reading and he is even able to take reading tests on them at his school. So not only has this book encouraged awesome reading habits, but his grades are sky-rocketing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Penultimate Peril, March 26, 2010
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
One thing that Disney is expert at is creating franchises. And they have definitely accomplished that with the ever popular PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN, from amusement park rides to three feature films, a slew of merchandise, and this real gem: the JACK SPARROW book series by Rob Kidd. Each volume is short and quick, always coming in under 150 pages. These are definitely geared towards the children's market, but there is something really magical about each entry that shines to both kids and adults alike. And the same can be said about book eleven, POSEIDON'S PEAK.

A teenage Jack Sparrow rows out into the middle of the ocean. He's been abandoned by all the friends he had, and now he's heard whispers of an ancient treasure hidden somewhere on a mountain peak. He sets off to look for it, and soon finds himself running from islanders, swimming into underground caverns, and trying to figure out just who is this mysterious dying man who knows Jack's name, but nothing about himself. And all of this leads up to the final startling shocks: someone has gained control of a power that will allow them to rule the Seven Seas... and kill Jack Sparrow for good.

The writing is always crisp with Kidd, and the pacing is insanely fast, with just a touch of development for Jack's character as he struggles to decide whether to become a pirate or not. The book builds on events in the previous ten volumes, and to really get the full story, new readers should head back to book one, THE COMING STORM, and start there. But Kidd has set this one up so that anyone could really jump in and not be too lost.

The nice thing about these books is that the plots are actually pretty good. Kidd doesn't just offer up a quick and easy storyline. Usually things get complicated for Jack Sparrow, and often there is a bit of mystery that isn't revealed until the very end. And it's always fun to see how he will tie in a cameo appearance from a character in the films - anyone from Davy Jones to Mr. Gibbs to the Kraken.

Kids who enjoyed the PIRATES movies will love this quick read, and even adults will enjoy the adventures of young Jack Sparrow and his crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book and the others in the series!, December 1, 2008
By 
Debra Estes "Yo Ho Pirate" (Indianapolis, in United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
The series of books are great. I am a 42 yr old Mom and loved them. I can't wait for more to come. They are fun and exciting to read. I like being able to read how Jack became Captain Jack Sparrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Constance, July 21, 2008
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
I give the Jack Sparrow series a big thumbs up,( exept for the 9th because it was it was a little cheesy.)I just really want Robb Kidd to make Constance change into a girl again! Jean is one of my favorite charactors in the series, so it would be so awsome to learn more about his sister.And then Jack would have a lass( I think it's so unfair that Arabella has a boyfriend but Jack doen't have a girlfreind.They could have been the perfect match!) READ THE JACK SPARROW: POSEIDON"S PEAK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar faces return..., June 17, 2008
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
Jack Sparrow is floating in a small boat, not even worthy of being called a dingy, as he begins his next strange, unusual and always exciting adventure. Once he lands upon a very small island, he meets a very bloody, very broken man who has no idea who he is or how he got there. The only thing he knows is...Jack.

Jack, of course, is full of sarcasm, but helps the beaten and bloody man all while trying to help him figure out how the man knows him. During this, the two encounter the natives of the island who worship a cat...a very familiar cat. Jack and the man, finally known as 'Bloody Billy,' along with 'the familiar cat' are whisked into a new adventure. In so doing, Jack comes face to face with even more familiar faces who are after the very thing Jack intend to capture.

Poseidon's Peak is a great adventure, one that my 10 year old and I loved to dive into. We've read the other young Jack Sparrow books and very much enjoyed them together. Jack once again had us on the edge of our seats (or the edge of the bed) and laughing loudly along the way.

Loved every word...as usual!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Sparrow's first year at sea, part 11, June 10, 2008
This review is from: Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) (Paperback)
As always Rob Kidd provides a well written and entertaining read for young and old. Jack makes a new friend, finds some old ones again, and gets in even more trouble. The return of Constance the cat was a pleasant and hilarious surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11)
Poseidon's Peak (Pirates of the Caribbean: Jack Sparrow #11) by Rob Kidd (Paperback - April 29, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.