Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poseidon's Spear, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book continues the series with a significant adventure that effectively bridges the 10 year period between the two Peersian invasions of Greece. While being slightly Indian Jones meets Jason and the Argonauts, it remains very entertaining and readable. Of particular note is the transition to an older and more reflective character which adds to the overall readability and enjoyment. The economics of the tin trade and the importance of tin in the period's economy provided addition interest. I would rate this book as the best of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poseidons Spear, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poseidon's Spear (Hardcover)
Well all I can say is read this and everything else Christian Cameron has wrote and will write. The tyrant series was a eye opener for me. The Long War series that Poseidons Spear is a part of is just as good or better. Cameron's books not only have great drama and action but they delve deep into the subjects of human rights, honor and so many other theologies. I consider the first two books of the long war series (Killer of Men & Marathon) to be a little better than this one but make no mistake this is an amazing read that will torture you when you have to put it down. Cameron has really done his homework so you get a good layout of what all played out in this time in history & what it was truly like to live back then and maybe what it was like to talk to the great minds of the time. Read all of Camerons work. You will always be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Seas, November 2, 2012
This review is from: Poseidon's Spear (Hardcover)
Arimnestos' adventures take an unexpected turn when he leads an expedition into the Atlantic, where we run into Kelts, Gauls, Britons, and Iberians. Unlike the great political events of the previous novel, this novel is filled with skirmishes and raids. Cameron knows how to torture his protagonist and we can never be too sure of how things will fare for Arimnestos. Our protagonist's fortunes run the gauntlet from slavery to riches, desperate despair to love, and back again.

Cameron is my favorite historical fiction author, and this series is my favorite of his works. Poseidon's Spear was impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good reading. Interesting historically but also as a living and breathing story.

Much along the lines of Conn Iggulden but where i find Conn very dry this story kept me involved.

I can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greek / Persian War brought to life, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Christian Cameron's story telling; he uses his readers like a group of awestruck descendants and spins a tale of Heroes and men as they haggle and struggle - shield to shield and ship to ship - slipping in wine and blood - beauties and beasts. Sometimes the pace seems slow, but when the chips are down there is no better educated storyteller, and the pace is hotter than hades...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventure Continues...to the West!, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poseidon's Spear (Kindle Edition)
Christian (Myles) Cameron continues the saga of Arimnestos the Plateaen, post Marathon, with a trip to the west, even to Britain. The more he writes of Arimnestos, the more of a real person he becomes as Cameron's writing continues to improve (not that it was 'bad' in the first place!)
A 'filler' to take up to the time it took the Great King of Persia to mount his attack of Greece, it is a wonderful journey to the western Med and north out of the Gates of Hercules in pursuit of tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent narrative of Greece's fight for life, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poseidon's Spear (Kindle Edition)
I've read quite a few novels of the Greco/ Persian wars and this series ranks among the top, if not the best one I have read. The author includes the politics of the times, the divide in the Greek world about whether they should even fight against the Persians and other minutiae that was happening and if ignored could bring Greek civilization down without the Persians doing it. Even though the author included all these different things that were going on, he didn't get mired down in it as some authors do and let events ruin the book to the point, or at least I do, of getting bored and frutrated, putting the book down and not picking it back up.
Looking forward to reading this authors take on Thermopylae and Salamis. Excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gods must be crazy, March 24, 2014
This review is from: Poseidon's Spear (Kindle Edition)
This is a thoroughly enjoyable
tale about our Greek hero Ari. There is a lot of historical action along with the day to day life of a Greek pirate during the time of the Persian empire's attempt to subdue Greece. Thought provoking about love, friendship, death and war. I love this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer, January 23, 2014
By 
Brtcaptain (CHARLOTTE, NC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
story flows and is full of action. this book is part of a set so go ahead and order full set so you don't waste time waiting on next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read the series, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like this author's writing style. He gets me right into the environment and the times. Christian follows a historical time line and fills it with an excellent story. Do start with the first book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poseidon's Spear
Poseidon's Spear by Christian Cameron (Hardcover - September 13, 2012)
Used & New from: $5.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.