Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Text for Introductory Course in Positive Psychology
I recently used this textbook in teaching an undergraduate course in positive psychology. The authors are able to cover a range of topics in a manner that is both accessible and understandable. Use of the personal mini-experiments added a reflective component that is often missing in many undergraduate level courses. Feedback from the class on the choice of text was...
Published on December 18, 2006 by Kimberley Monden

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not the pictured book
I received the International Version. The book has the same information but in a different format and graphs are different.
Published 17 months ago by Merdith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Text for Introductory Course in Positive Psychology, December 18, 2006
By 
Kimberley Monden (Lenexa, Kansas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently used this textbook in teaching an undergraduate course in positive psychology. The authors are able to cover a range of topics in a manner that is both accessible and understandable. Use of the personal mini-experiments added a reflective component that is often missing in many undergraduate level courses. Feedback from the class on the choice of text was very positive with many students commenting on how enjoyable it was to read. I will be teaching this course again next year and will definitely use this book again.

Overall, the book is well organized and written in a language that is accessible to students at a range of levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A First Class Text that Shines with Personality and Pizzazz, November 26, 2006
This is a marvelous textbook, much needed both by teachers and by anyone who wants a comprehensive resource to this major new direction in contemporary psychology. As a member of both clubs I recommend this book enthusiastically.

Positive Psychology has been growing so rapidly, this is one of the very first textbooks to be published. Rick Snyder and Shane Lopez clearly know their stuff - they've edited two major recent volumes, one from Oxford Press, the other from the American Psychological Assoc. Nevertheless, these serious academics have avoided the classic pitfalls of textbook writing. Their book shines with personality and pizzazz. It's rare to encounter a text that combines practicality (covering all the bases, answering most, if not all, the questions) with real imagination. The authors write from their personal experience; they avoid the dull and the safe. It feels often as if they're talking directly to you, taking you into their confidence, sharing their insights, their doubts, and most importantly what's mattered most to them as people. This is a rare feat: great teaching delivered on the printed page.

Other aspects of their book that add enormous value are that it's chock-a-block with personal mini-experiments. In each, the authors take the intellectual content and re-shape it into an experience for the student. Their exercises are carefully designed to ensure that an idea doesn't remain just a cognitive pipedream but is transmuted into lived wisdom. The publisher provides you with a CD that's crammed with discussion guides, study guides, and tests. The graphics are fun; there are lots of pictures and good, punchy charts. On top of that, the text is inter-woven with sidebar articles by experts in the field and by others with first hand experience. These are brief and always relevant. The authors' experience as editors of large compilation volumes really shows. One feels as if one's gotten a far richer spectrum than just one book.

All in all, this is must-have for anyone who's interested in the human need for happiness, engagement and meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introductory textbook., August 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology: The Scientific and Practical Explorations of Human Strengths (Paperback)
I am using this book for a class I am teaching on Positive Psychology. It is full of scientific and practical information. There are experiential activities as well that highlight the principles presented in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
This review is from: Positive Psychology: The Scientific and Practical Explorations of Human Strengths (Paperback)
Great Class got an A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BOOK, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology: The Scientific and Practical Explorations of Human Strengths (Paperback)
and class! Fast service! Great read, allot of great information!
I never knew this class existed, it is wonderful..So POSITIVE:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology: The Scientific and Practical Explorations of Human Strengths (Paperback)
Although I was required to purchase this book for a course, I have decided to keep this one. The authors have done a great job of explaining the relatively new field of positive psychology and do an extremely good job of pointing out areas that would benefit from future research efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 20, 2013
By 
Pedro Reyes (SALINAS, CA, US) - See all my reviews
The graphics were good, and there were plenty of good references used in this book. The field of positive psychology is one that I was not aware of before reading this book for a class. I'd definitely suggest this book for anybody looking into going into clinical psychology or even business management.

Easy read as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pos Psy book, September 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Positive Psychology: The Scientific and Practical Explorations of Human Strengths (Paperback)
The book came in within two days, which was nice since I needed the book for school. The book came in the condition as it was described. If anything the book was better than what was described. Thanks for the business! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not the pictured book, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received the International Version. The book has the same information but in a different format and graphs are different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not For The Layman, February 21, 2007
By 
Right Angle "Average Reader" (Cranford, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The authors cannot explain any concept without using endless sentences infused with poly-syllabic words drawn from unfamiliar academic terminology. This book uses a great many words to convey simple ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Positive Psychology: The Scientific and Practical Explorations of Human Strengths
$93.00 $79.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.