Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.95
  • Save: $4.11 (23%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Possum Summer has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Used item in good condition. Ex-library book, with library markings, features, and stamps.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Possum Summer Hardcover – March 15, 2011


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$13.84
$9.84 $0.01
100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 9 and up
  • Grade Level: 4 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 700L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 155 pages
  • Publisher: Holiday House (March 15, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 082342331X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0823423316
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.9 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,149,982 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Back Cover

Possum Summer is a heartwarming, vibrant story [that] mixes themes of honor, resolve, and courage with just the right blend of adventure, excitement, humor, danger, love, compassion, and a small touch of romance. It's a book that middle graders will want to read. --Bill Wallace, author of A Dog Called Kitty --Bill Wallace

About the Author

Jen K. Blom grew up on a farm on the Oklahoma plains similar to the setting of Possum Summer where she, unlike P, had many pets, including several dogs, horses, a raccoon and an opossum. Since then, she has lived in many places, including Texas, California, Canada and Australia, and worked at many jobs ranging from polo player and groom to insurance claims investigator. She now lives in Germany, where she works as a translator and business writer. This is her first book.

Visit her website at jenkblom.com

More About the Author

I love animals. I love to read. I love to write.

POSSUM SUMMER - out now!
BLUE APPALOOSA - Coming Soon!
OUT OF THE WILD - Spring 2013!

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 15 customer reviews
Without reserve, I highly recommend this book for kids of all ages.
Heidi Willis
The feel of summer at a cattle ranch and the wonderful lazy sounds of Oklahoma river bottoms will pull you into Possum Summer.
Marcia Keyser
The plot is well-paced and full of the right kind of tension to keep young readers interested.
Erin M. Halm

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By K. Stoeck on June 4, 2011
Format: Hardcover
P (short for Princess) isn't your typical 11 y.o. girl. Her idea of fun is running barefoot through the river bottoms and rescuing orphaned possums. She doesn't just rescue the critter, but becomes its surrogate mother. Learning to care for a wild animal forces P to make difficult choices and instead of running away, P faces them head-on. The trouble she gets herself into will make you laugh, and her friendship with the possum will make you cry. With a well-developed cast of secondary characters, Possum Summer is sure to be a classic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Maggie Knapp on June 1, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Princess ("ick" she thinks, please call me P) is a nature-loving tomboy, a little perturbed that she isn't maturing as fast as some friends, but mostly concerned with her dad's safety (he is in the military overseas ), the changes in her friendship with her neighbor Mart, caring for the donkey and cows on the farm, and reports of rabid animals in the area. An orphaned possum focuses the story lines in this rural adventure. This would be a good choice for readers who enjoyed RASCAL, THE YEARLING and WHERE THE RED FERN GROWS, and anyone who likes a heroine who prefers to spend her time barefoot and out-of-doors. Note: This review is from an advance reading copy. The book jacket notes that the finished book will have line drawings by Omar Rayyan.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mundie Moms & Mundie Kids Book Reviews on September 24, 2011
Format: Hardcover
This is a heartwarming story with a realistic portrayal of growing up on a rural farm in the heart of the midwest. Eleven year old P's adventure during one heartbreaking summer are relatable to anyone who's grown up in the country and has learned to deal with love, lost, and growing up.

Young P's summer adventures start when she and her family's dog Blackie, take to the creek bottoms to explore. After all, that's the fun part of living out in the country as a kid even if it's a place she shouldn't be going. This exploration will forever change P's summer, making it an unforgettable one as she ends up adopting a baby possum. That wouldn't be so hard if one, she knew how to care for it and two, there wasn't an epidemic of rabies going on. This young girl isn't one to be deterred and she does whatever she can to save this little guy and what ensues is a bond of friendship.

I enjoyed seeing how P and Ike's relationship bloomed. I for one think baby possums are adorable, but I wouldn't have the drive that P does to take care of it and raise him. There relationship is one that reminded me of my childhood pet and the bond I had with her. By creating this realistic bond of trust and friendship, Jen really pulled at my heartstrings when P has to make the tough choice to protect Ike. Young P is a strong, stubborn character whom I enjoyed getting to know. Her adventures reminded me of ones I took when I was younger. Though I didn't grow up in the heart of Oklahoma like she does, she's a character who's easy to relate to. I admired Young P for her bravery and for taking responsibility for chores and other things that happen around her farm. While her father is at war and her mother works long hours at the hospital, this young girl learns to grow up fast.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Stephen Parrish on September 9, 2011
Format: Hardcover
I loved this book. The author has a frank, open style. The reader can connect immediately with the protagonist, P, and with the star of the story, Ike the possum. The first chapter will get your attention. The rest of the book will keep it. Beautifully illustrated. Perfect for its middle grade audience.

If you liked RASCAL by Sterling North, and wanted a racoon of your own when you finished it, you'll want a possum when you finish POSSUM SUMMER.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Moon Shim on August 14, 2011
Format: Hardcover
When I first borrowed this book from the library (two days from now), I mistook the word "summer" in "Possum summer" to "supper". As a result, I ended reading the book with a surprise and with shame -.- The story describes the childhood of a girl named "Princess", recently having to have acquired a possum. She lives on farm ground, and takes care of her farm as her dad told her to do. She has a sister and a friend, but she never had a pet, due to dad's strict order. (Princess may have some farm animals, but the dog and the pony don't listen to her). Thanks to her friend, Mart, she found the information she needed and began her ultimate plan to raise Ike: the possum.
Because orphan possums needs to be treated with care and to be fed well, Princess took her possum to school, using bathroom to excuse feeding Ike. She was busted, but the teacher was the good type and even allowed her to come to his office anytime she needed to. Despite of her work, one by one, the world around started to realize the truth, and to add more pressure, her dad is coming back from the war. Not only she had to let go her possum to the wild, she had to lose her only pet. The day drew near, and whenever she tried to lose her possum, it came back like a bloodhound. In the end, it ran off.
The story is mostly about Princess growing up through her pet. She learns responsibilities, she keep secrets, but most of all, she finally finds a work she loves. Though she had to let Ike go, Princess was so happy to see Ike coming back for her, like the saying: "a hard work is never wasted" To get things straight, the book is telling us the power of love and the friendship.
From what I think till now, "Possum summer" is a great book, and I never regret reading this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews