Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry You Didn't Understand The Movie
I don't understand the low reviews! I loved this movie, and people seemed to have completely missed the point of the movie. The movie wasn't about life after college, it was about life in general and how there is no certain plan for life, you just have to go with the flow, i loved the crazy family, it would really be boring if the family was just like alexis character...
Published on November 26, 2010 by Stella Loves Amazon

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 STARS
I'm not sure why this movie didn't turn out better - it had a great cast and a good storyline. Dealing with what happens after you graduate from college and before your adult life begins is a tricky time period. This movie half heartedly addressed this along with other issues, the other half went for cute romance. The end result? It was too all over the place and...
Published on April 26, 2010 by Margaux Paschke


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 STARS, April 26, 2010
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
I'm not sure why this movie didn't turn out better - it had a great cast and a good storyline. Dealing with what happens after you graduate from college and before your adult life begins is a tricky time period. This movie half heartedly addressed this along with other issues, the other half went for cute romance. The end result? It was too all over the place and ended up a slightly less then average movie.

I liked all of the characters except for the cheesy south american soccer player across the street but hey, his type exists. The female lead (Ryden) is part of a goofy but lovable family of self titled losers: Michale Keaton was the father full of losing money propositions, the mother was low key and the younger oddball brother was cute but the family star was Carol Burnett as the wacky grandmother. Enter the love interest who has been Ryden's best buddy all through college but would like to be more. I'll sum up the movie for you: guy follows girl around like a puppy even after he is kicked a few times, gets mad and goes away, girl realizes what she had and runs after him - the end.

Given all the talent you would think that the movie would work but it falls apart despite some good scenes (anything with Carol Burnett or the derby race). Perhaps different editing would have made all the difference? I cannot recommend this movie unless you are die hard fans of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry You Didn't Understand The Movie, November 26, 2010
This review is from: Post Grad [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't understand the low reviews! I loved this movie, and people seemed to have completely missed the point of the movie. The movie wasn't about life after college, it was about life in general and how there is no certain plan for life, you just have to go with the flow, i loved the crazy family, it would really be boring if the family was just like alexis character wouldn't it! I thought this film was so endearing and held me to the end! I agree it was all over the place but it wasn't hard to follow unless you're stupid. I thought this movie was funny but i felt they weren't trying to be funny, it just was. I really liked the message of this movie, people are so busy trying to make life fit into their little plan that they are missing the fact that this is life, it's happening while you're busy trying to make things happen that just aren't meant to be. Give this movie a try if you liked whip it, martian child, new york minute, uptown girls. I guess people just have different tastes in movies but i really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Literally, just EH..., April 9, 2013
By 
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
****** WARNING: This Review Contains SPOILERS ******

I had high hopes for this movie because I love Alexis Bledel. I agree with many of the other reviewers that said this movie was all over the place. It just seemed underdeveloped. The actors aren't the problem, the script/story is. Because of that, it's near impossible to grow to love any of the characters, which is unfortunate.

The story is a typical, recycled high school/young adult type: the girl is incredibly ambitious, beautiful, sweet, and perfect yet still quirky enough for the audience to relate to. She has a best friend, a guy, who is incredibly handsome, kind, sensitive, and talented--not to mention he is CRAZY about her, but of course she doesn't realize it. She is also highly competitive with another girl who has been her enemy "since the third grade" who subsequently beats her out of everything (valedictorian, dream job, etc) even though she is a jerk.

She loses big on the job of her dreams (to her nemesis, naturally) and has to move back home with her parents. Her family is the typical "crazy but lovable" family. Many stories involving her family are half-developed and seem displaced; her much younger brother begging for her dad's attention, her "dying" grandmother (what happened to her oxygen tank after the graduation? And what exactly is she "dying" from?), her dad's crazy get-money schemes, to name a few. These side stories sound like they should be from a completely different movie, as they hardly involved the main character (if at all). This is also true for the "hot best friend" side story with his father; they clearly have some big problems, which are made incredibly apparent in just the very first scene of the movie, but they are never expanded on OR solved. Why hire an actor (and a good one at that) to play his father if his character is just going to be a prop in 2 short scenes? The only problem that we know (somewhat) about is that his dad wants him to go to law school, where he had been accepted, but he doesn't; he wants to be a musician.

Then she meets her older, foreign, successful, sexy yet quirky neighbor. After her dad runs over her cat, he invites her to stay for a meal after they hold an impromptu funeral for the cat. They eat, and then talk a bit, then start making out. Then he offers her a good job, then makes her quit (with him) her first day, and they spend a romantic day at the beach but upon returning home she seems to randomly no longer be attracted to or interested in him. (And then he moves back to Brazil.) Because she spent the day with him, she forgets and misses her hot best friend's first music gig, where he was supposed to take her for a fancy dinner afterwards and presumably express his love for her. Because she didn't come, he tells her she will no longer be a part of his life. (That seems a bit harsh...)

After this, the executive of the company at which she originally applied offers her the dream job because they fired her nemesis. She takes it, and is really good at it, and well-liked in the company. However, she learns her hot BFF is moving away for law school--they make up, and she realizes she loves him after he leaves. So, of course, she quits her dream job and travels out to NY (from CA) on a whim to surprise him, confess her love, and move to be with him, all with her father's blessing. They meet, kiss, and live happily ever after.

I get that this is supposed to express that you should "follow your heart" and that life shouldn't follow a checklist, but it was incredibly cheesy and unrealistic and, well, just dumb. As a young professional, it would look incredibly bad on your resume that your FIRST job after college was a great, coveted job but you quit without notice after just a couple weeks. Furthermore, she WANTED THAT JOB. It's not like she was forced into a profession she wasn't passionate about, the company was bad, or that she hated it. Just the opposite: it was what she longed for, what she worked really hard for, and she gave it up for a guy who she wasn't even dating and had never dated, but was HOPING that they MIGHT be able to make it work. She literally just moved out to New York with a snap of her fingers, no house, no job, no nothing.

It was dumb, because the story was supposed to be about her life after college and the trials and tribulations and stress and strength and growth that come along with that, which just never happened. The story was supposed to be about following your dreams, but she leaves her dreams to chase a guy across the country. The guy, also, doesn't follow his dreams but just goes to law school which he doesn't even want to do. Basically, the message is: if you work hard your entire life for your dreams, leave them once you get them if you have a crush on somebody, and if you have a dream after college, don't pursue it--just go to law school and be miserable instead.

This review might sound like I'm leaving key details out; I'm not. This is literally the movie. The transitions take place immediately, in a hurried and confusing way. The character development is seriously lacking, the storyline has ADHD, and the ending is awful. And it had so much potential :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Movie, January 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
Ryden Malby had it all figured out. Make good grades in high school, get a great college scholarship, keep the scholarship, graduate, and then work at the best publishing company in LA. Only things don't go quite as she planned. Instead of getting the job, she ends up unemployed and living with her crazy family once again.

Crazy is NOT an understatement.

Add on to that, a hot Brazillian neighbor and Adam, a guy who's been her best friend since freshman year, yet wants to be more. That's the plot.

The plot, while all over the place, works well for this movie. You're not sure what scheme one of the Malbys will come up with next. Will it be her father's plan to make a fortune online selling belt buckles or perhaps her grandmother (played by the ever amazing Carol Burnett) wanting to take a look at caskets? There's always something going on, with Ryden and her love life, or lack thereof, at the center of it all.

This movie defintely takes you for a ride. One that I really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Post Grad falls far short of 'hitting the mark'., August 19, 2010
By 
Jerry Frech (Bluefieid, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
Having been to college and experienced the post grad feeling I expected a movie that would hit home and be a successful film that all college grads could relate too. I was truly disappointed.

The previews and trailers told a different than what the real movie conveyed. In fact the trailers are far better and in fact had they just made the movie a short and to the point film it would've been a greaat success with 5 stars.

I felt that the relationship between the main character Ryden and her platonic best friend Adam (I think it was) was not seriously developed. The family was just weird which didn't seem to make any sense with the thesis of the movie. In fact during the "featurette" the screenwriter had no prior experience of writing scripts and even admitted to not know a thesis until later in the process.

Instead of trying to tell several different stories and relationships they should've just kept it simple to the point and to a central theme about life after graduating. It was a real downer and I could not recommend this movie unless you borrow it from a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Post Grad (Amazon Instant Video)
Post Grad was a look and what a college graduate goes through after learning that her dreams are not turning out quite as she expected. She would never believe that she was going to find herself in her parents house again doing jobs that weren't even close to her major. In the end, she learns that having the dream job isn't everything she thought it would be and that her relationships with people are more important.

I was disappointed in the ending as I felt it was very illogical and that it overturned everything that the first part had been promoting. I won't spoil it for anyone how hasn't seen it.
Also, I felt that some of the scenes were unnecessary for the overall plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel Good Movie That Gives Some Life Guidance, January 31, 2010
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
Post Grad is about a girl who is just like many others at this time. She graduated after trying really hard in college and unfortunately finds herself boomeranged back to her parents house, jobless. She is a doer and an achiever and tries to find a place to start her life, even if it means working in jobs that may or may not require a college degree. She, perhaps like a lot of graduates, was so sure of where she was going with her life. She was thrown off course when things didn't work out and along the way she made some right decisions and some wrong ones, but she lived and learned about what is important to her. It is about finding out whats important in life and going after it; whether it be in the work life or the love life. I think that it is a beautiful and uplifting story. Alexis Bledel was the perfect young actress to pick for the part and she did a superb job. I admit that there was some ridiculousness and silliness with her family, but I think it help make the movie uplifting and a lot of fun. I think the movie leaves the viewer with a smile in remembrance.

In response to a previous review, Feminists are people who want equal opportunity for women and men alike. Feminists want women to strive for the best that they can be and live out their lives to the fullest of potentials. The modern Feminist has a much more political tie-in and in point of fact has really nothing to do with the movie. But in terms of traditional feminism there isn't much to complain about. What her father meant was that its okay to take some risks and she has shown herself to be in control of her life even as a child (eating her vegetables without being told) and she was able to achieve her dreams while realizing other dreams, but doesn't that sometimes happen. Okay, so she left, but she remained the same person as she was at home, even when she went away to college, and now in a different city, she will be different? How does that logic make sense? Geography has nothing to do with success. You can fulfill your dreams no matter where you go as long as you have the determination to do so. She has already shown that she is a go getter. She'll be great in NY too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pass.., November 16, 2012
By 
This review is from: Post Grad (Amazon Instant Video)
I really enjoyed Alexis Bledel in The Gillmore Girls and in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, so I thought I would enjoy this one. Nope. Not at all! This movie left a very bad taste in my mouth and simply made me feel yucky about the generation graduating college today. I'd definitely recommend passing on this movie--there are much better ones to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars. Exceeded my expectations, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
I didn't have high hopes for this movie but I was bored one night and decided to check it out. It actually turned out quite enjoyable. Although a bit cheesy, it had a pretty cute story and several parts I laughed out loud at the humor. "What'd I tell you about licking people's heads" "To not to" I'm sure it wouldn't be everyones cup a tea but I, as well as other people, found it quite entertaining. The supporting cast (her family) were crazy, funny and lovable. The only negative thing I have to say is everyone else in the movie was a better actor than Alexis Bledel. She's a cute girl but has no dimension outside of her character off gilmore girls. But still the same, I enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Like Alexis Bledel, I Tried to Like This Film, But...., September 12, 2010
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Post Grad (DVD)
Alexis Bledel is Ryden Malby, a post grad student hoping to get a job at a major publishing company. She is willing and ready to work, but unfortunately things didn't turn out as she planned, and Ryden is forced to go home and live with her eccentric family members. Certainly the premise of "Post Grad" sounds great on paper (with the recent financial crisis in mind); however, "Post Grad" is only remarkable for its ineptitude for comedy or whatever else it wants to be.

In short, the drama is bland. The characters are given no motivation. We don't know who this heroine Ryden Malby is. We don't know why she is so interested in working at a publishing company, so why should we be interested in her "hardships," which as it turns out, not really hardships, but just an ordinary plot device? Heroines like Elle ("Legally Blonde") and Andy ("The Devil Wears Prada") knew what they were doing. Ryden just doesn't. Alexis Bledel looks sweet, it is certain, but her character remains one-dimensional throughout.

We are told that her family members are "weird." Unlike the family of "Little Miss Sunshine," their weirdness is not very charming. The idea of "dysfunctional family," so overused recently, looks like an excuse for the filmmakers to cover up the lack of ideas or imagination. So many sketchy episodes are strung together including Ryden's friend Adam (Zach Gilford) and his tired father (J. K. Simmons), Ryden's handsome next-door neighbor David (Rodrigo Santoro), her wacky father Walter (Michael Keaton) and wackier grandmother (Carol Burnett), plus box car racing and a dead cat. Not much is funny despite the efforts from the decent cast.

Poorly-written and directed "Post Grad" is just another Hollywood-made romantic comedy we don't need, unless you are an avid fan of Alexis Bledel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Post Grad
Post Grad by Vicky Jenson (DVD - 2010)
$19.98 $6.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.