Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2002
"Pot O' Gold" is a Jimmy Stewart film I watch repeatedly and I'm glad I'm not the only one who has heard of it. This film has been released so many time on VHS, and by all never-heard-of studios. United Artists released it to theaters at the time. Why didn't MGM buy the rights to the film years after? Great story about a struggling musician trying to save his father's music store. His notrious health-food obsessed uncle tries to pull Jimmy Haskell (Stewart) into the the health-food business. He meets a beautiful lady singer (Paulette Goddard) who with her other sister sing a band which her brother Willie plays in, and her mother runs it. When Molly McCorckle (Goddard) learns that Jimmy's uncle is the notorius C.J. Haskell, she becomes upset about it. She thinks of him as a trickster, and as a result, in a radio program she announces Jimmy will give away $1000 in cash to someone. Jimmy is faced with a tough decision: how to give away the money. If he doesn't, he coul be fined and imprisoned. After many tries, he thinks up a way. He'll give it away by telephone. The winner, when they call them up, is speechless and so is his wife. Mrs. McCorckle, C.J., Jimmy, and Molly all reunite on the radio program in a triumphant-sounding finale.
The sound could be better, but an excellent film to enjoy anytime. Upbeat!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2002
As a big fan of James Stewart, I just had to see him in this classic musical. He is as good as ever, fighting against cruel big business and standing up for the little man, which in this case is a boarding house band. The swing music is fantastic, James Stewart's harmonica playing and occasional singing is excellent, the plot is remarkably coherent, and the whole film is absolutely hilarious. In this film, madcap comedy meets classic musicals.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2007
As a mother trying her best to find decent entertainment fit for children, I depend a lot on the old greats like Jimmy Stewart to deliver a performance that I can be confident will give my children a good example or at least wholesome entertainment. For all those who criticize this movie, I will admit it is not one of Jimmy Stewart's best, but it is decent, charming, and full of pleasant songs. It also gives my kids a glimpse into the World War II/swing music era and gives us a good backdrop for stories about their grandparents.
My children love the songs and have them all memorized. My little girl especially loves singing "Do You Believe in Fairy Tales?" and sings it to our little baby. :-) My older son is all gung-ho to learn to play the harmonica as well. As far as the actual story line is concerned, we don't get into it that much, playing it mostly for the music, but we will get into that as they get older. The moral we have learned and will pass on to the children is that the pursuit of wealth should never become an end in itself, and that a balance is essential to proper mental, emotional and spiritual growth.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 18, 2008
Many classic films which have fallen into the public domain over the years are often unfairly dismissed. Such is the case with this little gem. "Pot O' Gold" is a fun and happy little film starring Jimmy Stewart and Paulette Goddard. Released through Mary Pickford's United Artist company, the two leads are members of two feuding families who fall for each other. The riff is over music and a piece of property Jimmy's music hating Uncle Charly (Charles Winninger) wants so he can expand the lucrative health food business he wants Jimmy to help run.

When Jimmy becomes a hero to the McCorckles, especially Molly (Paulette Goddard), by means of an errantly thrown tomato, he has to hide the fact that he's a Haskel. Horace Heidt, whose band has been practicing at Molly's mom's house, much to Charly's frustration, figures out who Jimmy is and the two cook up a scheme to get Charly out of town and use his radio show as a platform for the band.

Once Molly discovers the truth, however, everything goes south when she announces a hefty cash sum will be given each week to get even for the ruse. Personal and legal chaos results, of course, and when Charly gets wind of what's going on live he hightails it back to the city.

While this wasn't Stewart's favorite, it is bolstered by a charming atmosphere and pleasant tunes. One of those films which has weathered time, it is a fun distraction perfect for a lazy weekend. Proof that even lesser films of yesterday have more charm and entertainment value than most of what we see today.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2010
This review is about, yes, A Big Band-Aid. A struggling Big Band needs help getting noticed and getting its big break. Jimmy Stewart (Jimmy) inherits his father's music store which is a hang-out for young, practicing, musicians. Jimmy plays a mean harmonica himself. His wealthy uncle who hosts a radio program called Harry's Happy Hour looks down his nose at the music store enterprise and offers to help Jimmy make it big if he will leave and join him. Harry hates all music and can't stand to even listen to it. Jimmy is forced to leave the foundering store and move into McCorkles' Boarding house. The beautiful McCorkle daughter (Paulette Goddard) is also the lead vocalist for the Big Band. When Jimmy and Uncle Harry both get thrown into the clinker through strange events, the uncle decides he needs to calm his nerves in Canada for a couple of weeks and leaves Jimmy in charge of his program. The whole group of musicians, Jimmy, and the McCorkles figure out a way to put the band on the air during the radio show and to even offer the listening audience a chance to win big money by spinning a wheel. The Band is a big success and gaining valuable sponsors for their air time, when Uncle Harry comes back from Canada, furious, as he did not want any music on his show. Uncle Harry has provided us with much slapstick comedy throughout the movie. The surprise in this movie (Jimmy S. is ALWAYS good) is the array of wonderful song and dance numbers and that Big Band sound. The song and dance routine in the jail cell, is very good. The "Knife Fork and Spoon" routine at the dining table in McCorkles' Boarding House is a work of genius, and the Rhumba numbers are glamour personified. After many spats between Jimmy and Miss McCorkle, love wins out and everyone is happy. A great movie made better by the song and dance extravaganza.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
It's a B film and a musical, but it's obvious that Stewart is having a blast making the film. The supporting characters are good, and just a great relaxing feel-good film about a guy to remains true to his dreams, resisting the temptations of his materialistic uncle.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
Great family movie! They just don't make movies like this anymore. Acting is great, morals are outstanding and you don't have to worry about language or inappropriate scenes. Wish they still made movies like this!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2012
For some reason, "Pot o' Gold" hadn't come to my attention until now, and enjoyable as it is, it is not what I could have anticipated: a madcap, quasi-musical. I had to remind myself the movie was made just after the conclusion of America's more than three-and-a-half year participation in an arduous and exacting war. A heaping dose of escape and jollity was in order and this olio of almost believable nonsense must have been sweetened medicine to its audiences.
"Pot o' Gold" may be the only full length movie to come out of James Roosevelt's Globe Productions. James, the eldest son of Franklin D., was a Marine Corps hero and something of a co-founder of the O.S.S under "Wild" Bill Donovan; he cut his teeth in films working for Samuel Goldwyn as a vice president of productions. In 1939, and concurrent with his work at Goldwyn, Roosevelt founded Globe and began to produce short films. "Pot o' Gold" had been aired originally on radio before being turned into a full-length movie.
In the late forties, if the American film industry had anything it had a cornucopia of magnificent supporting actors whose stage and screen experiences were solid. The cast of this zany romp runs like a mother's lode of pure silver from the top of the cast to the final billing.
"Pot o' Gold" was not made for the critics or for devotees of the fine arts; it's a nakedly tongue-in-cheek and brilliantly idiotic horsing around. Like mom's chicken soup, it's meant to be enjoyed; and yes, like mom's chicken soup or a sweetened elixir, its medicinal qualities are something we can still stand a bit of.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
I have seen this movie before it was great to see it again.
A wonderful classic with Jimmy Stewart and many great artist.
And the big band area and radio was fantastic no television in those days.
Is missed compared to the trash they put on TV these days.
And the music they have today compared to yesteryear.
I would see it again it was delightful to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
If "Mr. Smith Goes to Washington" is a 5-star, it's hard to see how this could be anywhere near its equal. Horace Heidt is excellent. "Ma" is great. Edward Winninger overplays his role at times, Paulette Goddard is so-so and the dance sequences are sub-par by Hollywood standards. Still, anything with Jimmy Stewart is worth watching and it is an enjoyable 90 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.