Customer Reviews


693 Reviews
5 star:
 (422)
4 star:
 (183)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


612 of 624 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Its Job
These do what they're supposed to do. Before I give a review, I'll quote the box on a few points.
1. For use only when drinking water is suspected or known to be bacteriologically substandard. Not to be used on a continuous basis. (Their website suggests a six-week limit.)
2. Unopened bottles should remain effective for four years. (Look at the bottom of this...
Published on March 12, 2012 by JNieporte

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Potable Aqua - Mfg Date Expired
UPDATE: As soon as I contacted the seller, they apologized and issued an immediate refund.
Comments: Received this product from Mario's Discount Deals. The packages looked really OLD. My product was manufactured April 1999 and it has a shelf life of 4 years which means it has been expired for 9+years now. See this website to determine if your product is EXPIRED...
Published 18 months ago by Cecilia


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

612 of 624 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Its Job, March 12, 2012
By 
JNieporte (Ohio, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
These do what they're supposed to do. Before I give a review, I'll quote the box on a few points.
1. For use only when drinking water is suspected or known to be bacteriologically substandard. Not to be used on a continuous basis. (Their website suggests a six-week limit.)
2. Unopened bottles should remain effective for four years. (Look at the bottom of this review for how to date your tablets.)
3. We recommend that you do not keep an opened bottle for more than one year.
4. 2 tablets make one quart of bacteriologically water suitable to drink.
5. Proven effective against Giarda Lamblia when used as directed.
6. Has not been shown to inactivate Cryptosporidium cysts.

In a nutshell, use according to the directions and you'll be just fine. The bottle contains 50 tablets; you use two per quart of water. In really murky water, I use three. The active ingredient is Tetraglycine Hydroperiodide 16.7% and each tablet contains 6.68% of Titratable Iodine. This is the same stuff that I used in the military, but just to be sure, I opened a bottle and got three quarts of water from the Ohio River. Murky stuff. The first quart was treated with just the Potable Aqua (2-1/2 tablets). The second quart was boiled for ten minutes. The third quart was boiled for ten minutes, then given two tablets of Potable Aqua. All water was filtered through an untreated handkerchief first to remove debris and sediment. I'll note that my measurements were three quarts before boiling, so I'm sure some of the water was lost in the last two quarts due to the boiling process. The results?

While none of the water was as good as tap water, I'm still alive. The first batch (just Potable Aqua) was okay. I remember Potable Aqua having a bad taste; so bad that they included a separate bottle of pills to add that made the taste more bearable. That other bottle is unnecessary here. The water definitely had a chemical taste, but I could drink the minimum of a gallon a day if I needed to.
The second batch (just boiling, no pills) tasted better, but smelled bad. I would be hesitant to drink any more than necessary.
The third batch (boiled, then treated with Potable Aqua) was obviously the best. Considering that boiling only took ten minutes and a metal water bottle, this is the best option. Remember that all of the water was filtered through a handkerchief first to get rid of any sediment, debris, bugs, etc.
I'll guess that if you filter the water, then boil, then use the tablets, you can use only one tablet. I'm not a doctor, dietician, or representative of the company, but I do have extensive training in SERE operations and I've been using these tablets for over fifteen years.

How can you find out when your pills were made? Each bottle has a series of numbers imprinted. For example: 403127. The first number is the month; in this case, the fourth month is April. The second and third numbers are the last two of the year; in this case, 2003. These pills were made in April of 2003. The last three numbers (127) indicate that this was the 127th batch made in that time frame. The code can be five or six numbers long; the first three numbers always denote the month and year; the last two or three always denote the batch number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


465 of 477 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All good backpackers have these, but as the label states they are for "emergency use", January 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
The 5 most common ways backpackers/campers purify water are
1. Boil it. Obviously slow and cumbersome. If doing strenuous backpacking/canoeing each person will need to boil a big pot of water every night.
2. Natural sunlight - letting water sit in the sun for 6 hours works (need cloudless day, correct kind of clear plastic container). The World Health Organization published a study on this, but Amazon won't let me link to it.
3. Water pump - I have used MSR HyperFlow Microfilter, though there are cheaper options if you can accept it being slightly larger. In my opinion this is the best method.
4. Household chlorine bleach - the EPA and WHO give instructions on doing this. The EPA says this may not kill Cryptosporidium. I've never tried.
5. Iodine tablets (or other chemical treatments)-

Positives:
-Tablets are small/light for backpackers
-Only takes 30 minutes to have water ready
-No work required

Negatives:
-EPA says it is not 100% affective against Giardia and Cryptosporidium, especially if the water is cold while being treated.
-The taste is slightly bad ('metallic' is my best description).

I think a good attitude towards these tablets is "emergency use" (which is labeled on the side of the bottle, not visible in the Amazon image). No good backpacker doesn't have these, but I suggest a water pump as the planned primary method. Note: there are also iodine "neutralizer" tablets that are supposed to remove the bad taste (you drop them in after the 30 minutes is up and wait another 30 minutes). In my opinion they barely change the taste and are not worth it.

I'm only giving 4 stars since the EPA says it is not 100% effective against Giardia and Cryptosporidium. I'd give 5 stars if the product was named something like "EMERGENCY AQUA" instead of "POTABLE AQUA".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for emergency use only, October 14, 2009
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
These are great to have when camping and traveling, but it's important to have a basic plan for water beyond the iodine tablets. You're really only supposed to use them in emergencies. If you're backpacking and need to drink the local water, you should take a filtration system with you or boil the water. This is a good backup to boiling and filtration if you're short on time, or you have equipment problems. Drinking water purified with iodine also tastes foul which is a big issue in rehydrating foods.

Also note that once opened, the Portable Aqua has a limited shelf life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Potable Aqua - Mfg Date Expired, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
UPDATE: As soon as I contacted the seller, they apologized and issued an immediate refund.
Comments: Received this product from Mario's Discount Deals. The packages looked really OLD. My product was manufactured April 1999 and it has a shelf life of 4 years which means it has been expired for 9+years now. See this website to determine if your product is EXPIRED. [...] This is what the website says.... What is the shelf life of Potable Aqua® Tablets?
Unopened bottles of Potable Aqua tablets, when maintained under controlled temperatures between 60 and 86 °F (15 to 30 °C), should remain effective up to four years. Exposure to heat, humidity, moisture, and air will reduce the effectiveness of the tablets. We recommend that an opened bottle not be kept for more than one year. Keep the cap tightly sealed.

Although this product is not required to have an expiration date, an explanation of the lot numbering system is provided for your convenience. This lot number is imprinted on the label of the bottle. Example:
4 03 27
The lot number is a five or six digit number. The first digit(s) represent the month of manufacture. The next two digits represent a two-digit year and the last digits represent a batch number for that month and year. Using the example above, the product was manufactured the 4th month of the year 2003 and was the 27th batch of product made. Under normal storage conditions, this product would be effective for at least four years for an unopened bottle and one year for an opened bottle.

If in the field, check the tablets appearance to determine if they are still effective. If the tablets are gray or dark brown in color, they are still likely to be effective. If they are light green or yellow, it means they are probably no longer effective. The tablets are very sensitive to moisture. Take care that moisture does not get inside the Potable Aqua bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


212 of 246 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too Pricy, March 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
Save your money. You can find these exact tablets in Wal-Mart cheaper and there's no shipping. Amazon should figure a way to combine shipping costs better to sell the small things like this. Unless you live a hundred miles off the beaten path, go to a major retailer and get these. On the plus side, these are excellent in an emergency kit as anticeptic for cuts. Just take a couple of tablets and dilute them in a little water and you can sterilize minor wounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great time saver, August 6, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I hike in the wilderness I always carry an aluminium canteen & mug because then I can scoop up water and boil it to kill any micro-organisms that otherwise would create a party in my intestines. But when you're on the move you don't always have time to make a fire and boil water for 10 minutes, then wait for it to cool before drinking. These tablets can be dropped into any water container and voila, ten minutes later you have cool safe water to drink. A must-have anywhere in North America and they weigh practically nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Probably no good!, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
Got two bottles in the mail and was very disappointed. Although they were packed in the vacuum plastic display card, both bottles had rust on the inside of the metal caps. My suspicion is that they've passed the expiration date for it's usefullness, although I'll never know 'cause there wasn't one on the bottle. For an item that's to be ingested I wasn't taking any chances and dumped them. I'd suggest not buying such items online for the safety of you and your loved ones, until they start using and observing expiration date labeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rusted cap, October 12, 2013
By 
K. Chipman "kc" (Pflugerville, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
The cap on the bottle was rusted. It looks like water was inside the bottle. The tablets look yellow-green which another poster says is bad.
It had orange cotton in the bottle. I wonder if it was white at one time. In any case it wasn't produced correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Hiking And Camping, September 6, 2009
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
Having a water purification system along while you're in the wilderness is one of the two most important things I recommend when hiking or camping. (The other is a permanent fire starter which I have enclosed a link too). Whether you're just short of water or in the midst of a genuine survival situation, clean fresh water is the number one essential you will be required to find and sustain. Drinking dirty water can at the very least make you violently ill, and the very worst put you 6 feet under in the very wilderness you presently inhabit. Potable Aqua water tablets will purify dozens of gallons of water and make it safe for your consumption. It is generally tasteless and undetectable when mixed. However I did notice at certain times that the purified water had a slight taste similar to Flintstone vitamins, depending on the original source and condition of the water. An aftertaste is both very rare and not at all unpleasant. I have used Potable Aqua for years, and have purified both lake and stream water with it, and have never even been left with a slight tummy ache. Although I have used some of the other purification tablets here and available in other places, I recommend Potable Aqua simply because they are cheaper. And, they have the very same active ingredients that the more colorful, and more expensive variety carry. I highly recommend the Aqua tablets for anyone that ventures into the wilderness for fun and adventure. Or, for a must take along for anyone that travels to other countries where the water quality can be considered questionable.. Brunton Striker Fire Starter (Silver/Black)).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets (Kitchen)
i ordered two of these and both the seals were broken even though the package was not tampered with. the items were ruined and seemed to have gone bad seeing as they were green
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Potable Aqua Water Treatment Tablets
$5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.